We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Castle Villa by the Sea

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Castle Villa by the Sea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

81 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Castle Villa by the Sea
See the most recent reviews
Showing 81: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Overall this is a very comfortable, pleasant hotel with excellent service. The rooms are clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom is large with a shower, spa bath and toilet. There is a small but efficient kitchenette which has a microwave, small fridge and enough space to prepare a light meal. The balcony is private with a large spa...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dramarama53
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and comments - You were right - we have replaced the couch Jenni & Harley

Melbourne
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Having stayed at the Castle for the third time, I can only say it gets better and better. The hosts, Jenni and Harley remembered myself and my partner and had a bottle of chilled bubbles waiting for us. We stayed in a different suite this time (the Garden suite) and we loved the privacy the room offered. It was tucked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaroseMelbourne
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - may you come back in winter when the fire is burning and the champange cold

Hobart
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Our first trip to Phillip Island to see the fairy penguins, we stayed at The Castle – villa by the Sea and loved it – it had a lovely homely feeling and the hosts, Jenny and Harley were really helpful particularly in directing us to a delightful cafe just a short walk up the beach right on the water, made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you Alan G for your nice words as it is lovely to get positive feed back instead of the sometimes negativity and gives us heart to carry on - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Castle Jenni and Harley

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 5 December 2012

La Mer Apartment!! For Sale!! The views (not beach front) are only when standing on the balcony, looking over the dead plants in the planter boxes. A little small for four adults and displaying the tired atmosphere of an aging apartment. The lounge suited for three adults, unless you like sitting on your partner, then suited for four. Close to...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank OBANINI_10
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review

La Mer Apartment as offered exactly as is described and pictured on our website and we believe there is no misrepresentation – there is a sea view of the beach front and it is from the terrace as described in our literature and the “dead plants are actually native sea grass

Reviewed 19 August 2012

Not sure where some of these otheir reviewers stayed..but the establishment we stayed at was professional..spotless...luxurious..and tell north every cent...and our usual choice of accommodation is always 4 star plus..we want to be spoiled when we go away and t he castle certainly did that. We stayed in the terrace suite..it is tastefully decorated...subtlety luxurious ..with a large spa..and plenty...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank likomi
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice words - we look forward to your return Jenni & Harley

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Our first weekend trip to Cowes was a disaster! The description of The Castle provided on both theirs and TakeABreak's websites uses generic advertising language…. no doubt quite deliberately… and therefore tends to be quite misleading. I am in great envy of those who have stayed at The Castle and were delighted… our awful experience, resulting from unfulfilled expectations created...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank GlobalTraveller279
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review

For those who read this review and then that which follows and think it’s odd that 2 people could both have the same experience fret no longer ............ they are partners ............which makes one wonder was their purpose to offer fair criticism or were they merely lodged to reduce the rating of The Castle We are always open to fair...

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The Boyles are the owners - both smug, not at all helpful and living in another world. Their guests are treated as intruders rather than paying for the privaledge of staying in this over stated 'castle'. Promises of a kitchenette- "no cooking allowed" screeched Mrs Boyle when I asked where the cooking implements were stored. A kettle and a toaster...

 Report
Helpful?
12Thank Alexis S
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review

Owing to the many untruths in this review we have requested of TripAdvisor to withdraw this review however they have not done so – This guest was disgruntled that after carting bag loads of food up to their apartment found the kitchenette did not have a full oven facility, when challenged we explained that full cooking by health regulations was...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My husband and I often go away for a night or 2 nights as it's easier to organize than a longer holiday when you're running on a busy schedule - The Castle Villa was our destination for one of these times. We prefer places with character and warmth and we certainly got all this at the Castle - it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette058
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank You for your kind words - Should you return you may not have to change suites as we have just completed a huge refurbishment of the Castle Suite which now has it's own private entry, a huge glass block wall in the spa room to let in the morning sun and a magical new heater in the lounge Jenni...

Melbourne
Reviewed 31 May 2011

This is our 3rd time to stay at The Castle's La Mer, which is an off-site fully contained apartment. The place itself is along Genesta St., almost at the corner of Esplanade, therefore very handy if you'd like a short stroll to the beach, restaurants and the playground. We certainly love this place as our 4 year-old son considers it...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Lillymum
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - we are happy that you and your family had a nice time Jenni & harley

Melbourne, Victoria
Reviewed 2 May 2011

My partner and I stayed here some time ago. I wasn't going to write a review for this property but after reading some of the recent comments made by the owner when they have recieved negative comments, I think I'd better put my 2 cents in. Firstly, just because you have booked online 'last minute' does not mean you are...

 Report
Helpful?
26Thank Endless-Summer-Melb
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review

We are sorry you were disappointed you were unable to occupy your room of choice and contary to your belief "more $ $" does not come into the equation. We are not a large corporate hotel having only 4 apartments and 2 bedroom suites. We are obliged to those who book direct with us to give them 1st choice of...

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cowes hotels
0.1 km away
The Waves Apartments
The Waves Apartments
#4 of 10 in Cowes
208 reviews
0.2 km away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#7 of 10 in Cowes
157 reviews
2.7 km away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
0.2 km away
Seahorse Motel
Seahorse Motel
#3 of 10 in Cowes
192 reviews
3.3 km away
The Island Spa - Wellness Retreat & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Castle Luxury Villa offers you your own island oasis and perfect carefree holiday accommodation, footsteps from the beach-front and hidden away in a magical garden ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Castle Villa by the Sea

Address: 7-9 Steele St | Phillip Island, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Price Range: €121 - €229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Castle Villa by the Sea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Castle Villa by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Cowes
The Castle Villa By The Sea Phillip Island/Cowes, Australia
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cowes
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cowes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Castle Villa by the Sea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Read the fine print when you go for this property”
 of 5 bubbles saadaustralia, 22 Feb 2016 | Read review
“My partner and I stayed in the suite which was very nice and romantic.”
 of 5 bubbles 841gabbyb, 9 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a suite that looks over the beautiful garden”
 of 5 bubbles Indigo_Moon334, 28 Jan 2013 | Read review
“Look at their website first to view all the rooms to select one to suit your needs.”
 of 5 bubbles elisabethf_13, 19 Jan 2013 | Read review
“Make sure the bed is to your liking...”
 of 5 bubbles HK_John, 9 Jan 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay