We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Castle Villa by the Sea

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Castle Villa by the Sea
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Castle Villa by the Sea
See the most recent reviews
Showing 82: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 October 2015 via mobile

Nice place for a weekend. Well appointed rooms and great place to relax. Seats about so you can sit outside and lounge is available for guests. Books and DVDs available. Also run an honesty system for an evening drink, although we did not partake. Off street parking and easy walk to beachfront and cafes. Warm welcome and local advice provided....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank drtgfnz
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review

Hi Tanya - thanks for your nice review - Sorry about not introducing ourselves - it's Jenni and Harley

Bendigo, Australia
Reviewed 8 April 2015

It was a difficult task choosing our accommodation at Cowes with so many lovely places on offer. Having finally selected The Castle Villa was a master stroke. From the moment of checking in, the tone of our short getaway was seriously 'no-fuss'. The room was beautiful, luxurious but not pretentious. The spa was fabulous. Small touches made our large room...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank pixiesaunt
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review

You must have heard that there is a always a free bottle of french champagne to greet you on return visits

Reviewed 8 March 2015 via mobile

We stopped here on the off-chance of a room for the night (and also because we were intrigued by the reviews!). We found it perfectly charming and delightful, as well as good value. The rooms are beautifully decorated (and very well equipped), the lady who booked us in was lovely and the gardens are amazing. We had to park on...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank EdKelsey
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review

Reviewed 9 February 2015

It was my partner's and I 1 year anniversary so we wanted to stay at a very nice relaxing place and we got just that, very quiet and relaxing, spa was wonderful, bed was very comfortable, with the air-condition in the room which was very good especially the warm weather we had. the only down side is the small kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Gabby B
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review

Thanks for the nice review - I think you left some romance in the room .....!

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 24 November 2014

The Castle was perfect for our one night stay in Phillip Island. The location is literally around the corner from the beach and shops as well as a very short drive to other attractions on the island (penguin parade etc). Jenni was very hospitable and made us feel welcome as soon as we arrived. The room we stayed in had...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Julietta T
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review

It is so lovely that you have taken the time to write a review - it really does make us feel nice

Traralgon, Australia
Reviewed 2 November 2014

After visiting the island for years, I had always wanted to know what was behind the façade. My partner and I stayed here and we were delighted. I am sure there are individuals who crave the modern facilities and resort allures... but this villa offers something that the others lack. It offers an old world charm... it makes no apologies...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Crystalline4u
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review

Thanks for your review - Jenni just loves sharing her garden and its nice when people comment on it

Wollongong
Reviewed 18 October 2014

One bedroom townhouse. Location is good, right near centre of town and restaurants, however townhouse needs updating and a good clean. Kitchen cupboards and some dishes dirty. Apartment dated, better value for money elsewhere

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank HammoWollongong
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival there was a small sign in the room we stayed in, it said "if there is anything at all that bothers you or is not right PLEASE TELL US and we will try to fix it for you - if you have had an enjoyable stay with us PLEASE TELL TRIPADVISOR.... Taking the hint, we're telling tripadvisor -...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank mark r
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice response and taking the hint - In the main all our guests have a wonderful stay at The Castle and we believe if those few that complain would only tell us what agrieves them they too would have a lovely stay, alas that is not the case as they generally have there own agenda and...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2013

These called Villa is just an oversized B&B that needs a lot of updating to take it to the 21st century. Not right by the sea, and a slightly musty smell. Family photos everywhere and carpets need changing. There are many other more compelling hotel options in the same area, many with a water view or resort-type amenities. Do not...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank timbo1978_13
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review

Hello Timbo - We are very sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay at The Castle but noting that your previous stays were The Hilton Sydney then The Hilton Melbourne maybe the charm of The Castle was not for you – again sorry for your disappointment

Melbourne
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We had a very nice stay would most definitely stay again a much better choice than the cold modern apartments of today's modern era,received a warm welcome,the Castle Villa has a lot of old world romantic charm with a very feel good vibe,is an easy stroll to the beach shops & restaurants which is all you need.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lynette S
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - we are so glad you enjoyed your

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cowes hotels
0.1 km away
The Waves Apartments
The Waves Apartments
#4 of 10 in Cowes
215 reviews
0.2 km away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#7 of 10 in Cowes
168 reviews
2.7 km away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
0.2 km away
Seahorse Motel
Seahorse Motel
#2 of 10 in Cowes
205 reviews
3.3 km away
The Island Spa - Wellness Retreat & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Castle Luxury Villa offers you your own island oasis and perfect carefree holiday accommodation, footsteps from the beach-front and hidden away in a magical garden ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Castle Villa by the Sea

Address: 7-9 Steele St | Phillip Island, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Price Range: €126 - €242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Castle Villa by the Sea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Castle Villa by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Cowes
The Castle Villa By The Sea Phillip Island/Cowes, Australia
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cowes
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cowes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Castle Villa by the Sea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Read the fine print when you go for this property”
 of 5 bubbles saadaustralia, 22 Feb 2016 | Read review
“My partner and I stayed in the suite which was very nice and romantic.”
 of 5 bubbles 841gabbyb, 9 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a suite that looks over the beautiful garden”
 of 5 bubbles Indigo_Moon334, 28 Jan 2013 | Read review
“Look at their website first to view all the rooms to select one to suit your needs.”
 of 5 bubbles elisabethf_13, 19 Jan 2013 | Read review
“Make sure the bed is to your liking...”
 of 5 bubbles HK_John, 9 Jan 2013 | Read review
5 of 5