We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Charles Robbins

TripAdvisorUS$111*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lowest price we found
US$111*
View Deal
in partnership withHotels.com
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Charles Robbins
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

64 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 64: English reviews
Start your review of The Charles Robbins
 Click to rate
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the Cumberland Suite which had everything you could need and more: - extremely deep and relaxing spa - comfy recliners - magical bed - coffee machine with pods - fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher - free secured parking - across the road from Woolworths, the bay and Pier Hotel Pub who have amazing food With no booking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia1976
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 April 2017

I recently stayed at the Charles Robbins in George Town, and my experience there was wonderful. I was there for 3 nights and felt totally pampered. I was in the Tom Thumb suite and it was immaculate accommodation. It was fully self contained, and everything supplied was of exceptional quality - from the generous amount of towels to the kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heathersholiday
Maureen G, Owner at The Charles Robbins, responded to this review

That's a lovely review! Thank you so much. We are proud of what we offer our guests and so pleased when they enjoy it to the fullest. Maureen

Reviewed 18 March 2017

Beautiful luxurious accommodation quiet everything you need in the apartments secure parking ,cooking facilities very clean would stay again owners are wonderful and friendly people close to everything

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
Maureen G, Owner at The Charles Robbins, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review. It's much appreciated. Maureen

Oakville, Canada
Reviewed 4 March 2017

You should certainly consider this if you want to stay a long time. It was the best equipped room we've stayed in. All kinds of little extras that you just might need for an overnight but need on a longer stay. Very friendly hosts.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Randalljay
M G, Owner at The Charles Robbins, responded to this review

Thanks for your response. We hope our guests will always be surprised with what they find at The Charles Robbins. We aim to exceed expectations! Again, thanks. Maureen

Echuca, Australia
Reviewed 27 February 2017

After struggling to find accommodation in a number of towns around northern Tassie we opted to try George Town and stumbled across The Charles Robbins on a booking site. Looked good but seemed too cheap for what was on offer. Tired of looking at alternatives, I rang to book. Maureen was very easy to talk to, explained some of their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WazzaAndCheryl
Maureen G, Owner at The Charles Robbins, responded to this review

What a great review - thank you so much!! It was an absolute pleasure meeting you both and we are delighted we lived up to first impressions. That's really important. Hope we see you back n Tasmania one day. Maureen

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

Had a lovely stay in the Phoenix room with everything you could want! Great kitchen, soft bed and the private sauna did not go astray on a cold night! A short stroll to the shops or the water. Highly recommend. Thanks to the kind hosts!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kassey77
M G, Owner at The Charles Robbins, responded to this review

And our thanks to you - for looking after Phoenix and for your lovely review. Maureen

Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

I was just looking for a simple place to stay for a night and stumbled upon this little supprise. Raj and Maureen went out of their way to ensure we had a great stay. Will come back again if i ever find my self in George Town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
M G, Owner at The Charles Robbins, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review. We both enjoyed meeting you - but it would be a long way for you to travel back again. Maureen

Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

Thank you Taj and Maureen for opening your rooms to the public. We both really enjoyed our stay. I must say your beds are Devine! Both of us agree they are so comfortable. Lovely clean and well equipped rooms with coffee machine and milk frother too. Loved it! Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah M
Maureen G, Owner at The Charles Robbins, responded to this review

Thank you Rebekah. Reviews are important - especially as we are so small and word of mouth responses are the very best!! Maureen

Berlin
Reviewed 31 January 2017

You probably wouldn't expect such high level of accommodation standard in a small place like George Town. But Maureen and Raj have really equipped their rooms with all modern amenities. The whole complex is right on the waters edge in George Town, opposite Woollies and probably best described as a boutique motel with just a handful of units around a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TouringCyclists
Maureen G, Owner at The Charles Robbins, responded to this review

Sadly we cannot provide our guests with views of the Tamar from their suites. But we try extremely hard to make up for that by offering the very best in quality, service and value for money. Thank you for your review and we hope you have a safe return to Europe. Maureen

Kewdale, Australia
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

This place is brilliant!! Raj and Maureen are so welcoming it was if we had stayed there a dozen times before. We stayed in the Cumberland Suite and it was fit for a king! It had everything we could possibly need and was very quiet and private, perfect for a romantic get away! Highly recommend, I know we will definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richo0506
M G, Owner at The Charles Robbins, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review. It's so good to know you found somewhere you liked so much on your return "home". The privacy, quietness, comfort and security that The Charles Robbins offers are all much valued by our guests. We look forward to your return to George Town. Maureen

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.1 km away
Comfort Inn The Pier
Comfort Inn The Pier
#3 of 4 in George Town
51 reviews
39.6 km away
Quality Hotel Gateway
Quality Hotel Gateway
#1 of 5 in Devonport
512 reviews
0.4 km away
Peppers York Cove
Peppers York Cove
#1 of 4 in George Town
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Low Head Tourist Park
Low Head Tourist Park
#1 of 6 in Low Head
69 reviews
0.4 km away
The Grove
The Grove
#1 of 3 in George Town
19 reviews
6.7 km away
Tamar Cove Motel
Tamar Cove Motel
#1 of 2 in Beauty Point
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Spa
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The Charles Robbins

Address: 3 Charles Robbins Pl, George Town, Tasmania 7253, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > George Town
Price Range: €89 - €197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Charles Robbins 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Charles Robbins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Charles Robbins staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Even though there is not a gym as such exercise equipment is avialable in some rooms The location is right near eateries.”
PortMacquarieKez, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Very big with all amenities”
Pier024, 7 Feb 2016 | Read review
“The Texal Suite facing the Tamar River if it's available.”
HAPPYAUSIE, 23 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Units have different facilities eg one has a large spa bath, another has a sauna in the bathroom . Ask for what options are available”
M462VGjohnk, 9 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Our room, near to the gate, should be avoided.”
400richardu, 25 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$111* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Hotwire.comUS$111
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates