We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Diamond Island Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Diamond Island Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

326 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 312: English reviews
Start your review of Diamond Island Resort
 Click to rate
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Not what you'd expect for the price and penguin tour is non existent. We wish we had known this as our special needs daughter was looking forward to seeing penguins. Pay for the tour elsewhere if you want to see them as you are blocked off from the beach and tour (they lock you out) as it is not run...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Krissy L
Oatlands, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our room was clean and fresh, we had great views and a peaceful stay, nice and close to the township We read the negative reveiws after booking and wasn't sure what to expect but our one night stay was great

 Report
Helpful?
Thank densmith323
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel looks very old and has not been renovated for many years, poor cleanliness, lighting not functioning well and bath tube with no shower curtain (can imagine how wet is the bath room floor after shower!). The staff is a bit unfriendly. The penguin tour is a bit disappointing. It is said that you can see the penguins in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank yanlord2501
JAMIE W, Manager at Diamond Island Resort, responded to this review

This person does not listen, and wanted to just wander anywhere, in so doing scared the penguins and stopped them from arriving for over half an hour, our penguin show is on our deck, we provided for all to sit quietly and wait for the wild birds to arrive, this is wild life, arrive when they feel like it, not...

England
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

You are paying for the location. We actually enjoyed our stay here very much. Purely because we have 2 small children and there is lots of safe space for them to run around. The rooms were fine for us, but they are more like a 3 star motel than a resort. Just something to be aware of. The rooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank aussie11_10
JAMIE W, Manager at Diamond Island Resort, responded to this review

Yes if you read our web site diresort.com our 4.5-star rooms are not what you used, we have family rooms as well and some families have energetic boys that can make a new room have a more used look than it should. ( we do not stop familys from using our resort as previously this has been the case). Our...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Do not stay here,,although i asked specifically about the pool,, upon our arrival with 3 kids we discovered the pool was green and out of use,, the rooms are below even second rate for the amount of money we paid, the same girl who cleaned our room also served us our very cold gluggy mess of a dinner,,of which i...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Karlene R
JAMIE W, Manager at Diamond Island Resort, responded to this review

As March to August, the pool is never used, we were in process of closing down for these months, however as you and others have requested we will keep maintaining as although no one uses, it does look pretty. Our girls are young, pretty, intelligent, energetic and the best hard working girls around. Our Penguin Show is Free for all,...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not originally booked in this resort, when our reservation in Swansea went pear shaped, our Travel Agents booked us here. What a fortunate result to an annoying pre-booking! Modern, clean and spacious villas and units we found here. From the easy to find entrance off the highway into the property to the bottom of the land onto a lovely beach,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denis F
Langwarrin, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The welcome to this "Resort" was a little underwhelming. After check in I reported some maintenance issues to the manager,2 were fixed and 1 remained undone. The rooms were large and clean. There was no information in the room on the resort or the local attractions and when I asked about this I was told to check the web site!!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Blunt-of-Langwarrin
JAMIE W, Manager at Diamond Island Resort, responded to this review

Right beside the front desk there are several hundred brochures advertising the other attractions in the area, and yes the are not in the individual units. Staying in our family rooms with too many people is an issue and does take away from the enjoyment of all. Some people miss our deserted pristine white beaches, Our island, time for a...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

despite reading negative reviews , I can only say the room , bed , shower and facilities were clean tidy and comfortable... This is Bicheno not Las Vegas.... close to town and amazing views ..... Not a complaint at all ... I had an upstairs room 14 and loved every minute of looking out the balcony to the sea... very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Russell M
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Totally unsafe venue for seniors and should be avoided at all costs. The combination of steep staircase between bedrooms and bathroom and no lighting is a recipe for disaster. As seniors we chose to move to safer accommodation and the owner is refusing to refund our money

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tirza C
Wendy W, Owner at Diamond Island Resort, responded to this review

Totally unfair review. This lady was offered single level accom as alternative, was with 3 others and could not be reasonable. A no refund policy applies at the Resort BUT always another date is offered and other room types if the guest is somehow uncomfortable with stairs or other issues. Our Beachshacks are for families and can accommodate up to...

Logan City, Australia
Reviewed 16 February 2017

We don't want to rubbish a place after such a brief stay, but as the title said 'resort' we were a bit disappointed. After a lengthy journey we arrived to be told, due to there not being many people staying there, the restaurant and bar would not be open that night. Great start! Was told to 'go to the platform...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Mike E

195 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (181)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bicheno
2.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Bicheno
37.4 km away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
420 reviews
1.1 km away
Wintersun Gardens Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.1 km away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
379 reviews
31.6 km away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 4 in Coles Bay
982 reviews
2.5 km away
Bicheno by the Bay
Bicheno by the Bay
#3 of 12 in Bicheno
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Free Penguins viewing & Beach Resort, with large Conference area with Ocean beach views, Bar, Dining, Breakfast areas, Private Dining room, Beach Apartments, 6 one bedroom upper level, 6 ground level, Two Luxury beach front Double level one bedroom Apartments and 12 Beach Shacks. Some with spa units. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Diamond Island Resort

Address: 69 Tasman Hwy, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Price Range: €147 - €297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Diamond Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Diamond Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Island Hotel Bicheno
Diamond Island Bicheno
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Diamond Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our beach view room was just as described”
 of 5 bubbles densmith323, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Depending on ones age and mobility, if stairs are difficult to negotiate, specify a ground floor only room as some have rooms on two levels.”
 of 5 bubbles 269denisf, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“enjoy the location and you will never forget the views and try and book an upstairs room”
 of 5 bubbles 852russellm, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms seem to have sea views”
 of 5 bubbles MikeE999, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 255alans, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5