We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Island Motel Kingscote

Save
Traveller (18)
Dining (1)
Room & Suite (1)
Overview
  • Excellent25%
  • Very good28%
  • Average23%
  • Poor17%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Suites
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
16
12
11
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
16
12
11
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe managerscontinental breakfast was includedclose to shopsdenisejettyislandaccommodationdemolished
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

Had paid for continental breakfast with our stay. Breakfast room had sign stating open at 7.30am. No one there to open and other guests were like us also waiting. 20 minutes later doors finally opened and couldn’t even get a hot coffee as urn had...More

Thank graysand2016
Response from IslandMotelKingscote, General Manager at Island Motel KingscoteResponded 6 May 2018

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the time and effort you put into advising TripAdvisor breakfast was late. None of our guests pay additional money for continental breakfast like you imply. It is complimentary. We also have the lowest budget room rates in town,...More

Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

The place is about to be demolished and a new resort built. However the owner still keeps the place clean and tidy despite the obvious age. It is centrally located and within walking distance of sites to see. Was an ideal option as a jump...More

Thank Campbeci
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

Have put this place on my "do not book" list. Maintenance on the room & bathroom was sorely lacking; the carpet was stained, the bathroom tiling missing in places and a lot of mould n the bathroom (the lack of an exhaust fan doesn't help)....More

Thank Non D
Reviewed 27 November 2017

old but clean needs a lot of TLC shower head needs replacing leaks down the wall no fan to remove steam rusty fittings on the wash basin broken legs on bed base one teaspoon one butter knife cheap pillows bed past use by date states...More

Thank goff37
Response from IslandMotelKingscote, General Manager at Island Motel KingscoteResponded 28 November 2017

Thank you for your review goff37. We appreciate whatever feedback our guests take the time to write about. Our redevelopment of the motel will start early-2018. Everything will the then be brand new. We, in fact, have 3 BBQ's. 2 of them are in the...More

Reviewed 31 October 2017

We had a comfortable room with a spa bath - which was wonderful once I worked out that the taps had been swapped around - once I tried cold instead of hot, there was ample hot water and it was bliss. The motel is very...More

Thank Dona S
Response from IslandMotelKingscote, General Manager at Island Motel KingscoteResponded 1 November 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property Dona S. It is always great to hear our motel is appreciated, and that we provided you a comfortable stay. Upon you telling me of the hot water issue with your spa, we...More

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Breakfast Available
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Pool
Indoor pool
Details
Price range
US$53 - US$114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$53 - US$114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (18)
Dining (1)
Room & Suite (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Margaret H
19 August 2015|
Answer
Response from IslandMotelKingscote | Property representative |
Thank you, it's great to hear from previous managers. We've been here for almost 2 years now and have really been made welcome by the locals and we are now getting lots of referrals, functions and general acceptance. The... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"go elseware"
Read review
"Rooms in the central area overlook the garden and as close to the breakfast area and swimming pool."
Read review
"Food is expensive on Kangaroo Island, take as many provisions as possible."
Read review
"We had an adjourning rooms which was fantastic"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing