We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Island Motel Kingscote

Traveller (18)
Dining (1)
Traveller (18)
Dining (1)
Room & Suite (1)
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
About
Property amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Indoor pool
Breakfast Available
Room Service
Public Wifi
Breakfast included
Show more
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Air Conditioning
Accessible rooms
Refrigerator in room
Suites
Family Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Family
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
16
12
13
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
16
12
13
10
7
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

Don't stay there. Run down. Looks like might have been great in early days. Beds contained dead grubs which we removed along with dust. Mattresses bad. Lost its gloss for sure. BUT Italian Nona's food was beautiful. Good location near quaint village.More

Thank Rosemary P
Response from IslandMotelKingscote, Guest Relations Manager at Island Motel KingscoteResponded 2 days ago

Thanks for your review Rose Phillips. Other members of the group of 43 travelling with you gave great comments and reviews. Some also told us that you complained about "dust and a cobweb on the OUTSIDE window sill". Sorry that surprised you in a regional...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

The main building must have been a wonder in it's day, but it's day has long past. Everything needs maintenance, wi-fi didn't work, half the lights didn't work, but at least the plumbing was OK and the showers hot. Staff are uninspiring, not overly helpful....More

Thank Canberrareviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

It's cheap. Ok it's clean and tidy and they throw in free continental breakfast. The place has a lot of potential but needs some maintenance to bring it back to life. Whoever gave it 3 stars was being generous.

Thank BobFk
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Owner should fire manager if manager owner should sell rude and unfriendly .it was like we were interrupting there peace. The motel is old .kangaroo island is very beautiful lot a wildlife and trees. Motel is well situated in the heart of Kingscote .More

1  Thank Justin L
Response from IslandMotelKingscote, Public Relations Manager at Island Motel KingscoteResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review sir. Even though your name is not Justin. We know who you are sir. For trip advisor review readers who read reviews such as this, our office is open from 7am - 7pm. However, we always accommodate our later check...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for just 1 night there - the property is pretty decent. It's nearby the sea, it's unfortunate I didn't try to catch the sunrise. The Foodland/IGA supermarket is nearby. I was lucky to get room 29, right in front of the main road...More

Thank Makubex
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Margaret H
19 August 2015|
Answer
Response from IslandMotelKingscote | Property representative |
Thank you, it's great to hear from previous managers. We've been here for almost 2 years now and have really been made welcome by the locals and we are now getting lots of referrals, functions and general acceptance. The... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Don"t do it!"
rosemaryp314
3 days ago
Read review
"They are all pretty much the same."
BobFk
1 week ago
Read review
"Stay away . . ."
151daveb151
6 Aug 2018
Read review
"go elseware"
goff37
27 Nov 2017
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
US$79 - US$126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Island Resort Motel
LOCATION
AustraliaSouth AustraliaKangaroo IslandKingscote
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing