We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Avoca Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Avoca Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Avoca Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 109: English reviews
United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2015

Horrible dirty hotel, scandalous staff! There is a elderly European receptionist refered as susi with highlighted hair wearing shorts and t shirts with very rude behavior. I believe she was drunk, at least I could smell strong alcohol when she spoke to me with her heavy accent. The room is very smelly with cigarette smoke. There is no wifi. The...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank teresa b
sydney_lodges, Manager at Avoca Lodge, responded to this review

This is a disappointing review from a guest who booked a non-refundable room and tried unsuccessfully to cancel and be refunded prior to arrival. It will alert others to select a suitable cancellation policy when they book accommodation and honor that choice with some dignity.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2015

Perfect location which suited my purpose of staying one night to be close to my family who were residing in Coogee. It was a single room with a shower and cupboards, very basic accommodation but clean and the receptionist most helpful and friendly. She provided me with towels and allowed me to stay on the ground floor because my case...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank THEBONDIGIRL
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Reviewed 4 January 2015

Very disappointing. We would not recommend this dive to anyone. We arrived after a 3 hour drive out of state to discovered there was no parking (the website states there is parking available). The parking options are 3 hour on the road or $25 a day at the hospital. Not convenient for my ill aunty who is going back and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Amanda D
Reviewed 14 December 2014

I went to Prince of Wales hospital for a kidney trans plant my wife booked a room at Avoka lodge for 7 days, but my trans plant was stopped because the kidney was compromised , my wife called to say my opp had been cancelled only 2 hours after she booked the room, and was told too bad they would...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank John N
sydney_lodges, Manager at Avoca Lodge, responded to this review

We offer a selection of rates and cancellation policies to suit a variety of needs. Guests are generally unhappy when they have agreed to the least expensive rate with a no refund policy and then need to cancel for whatever reason. The lodge is near five major hospitals and medical arrangement changes are frequent and do not negate the cancellation...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 7 December 2014

Stayed one night as attended a function at a nearby hotel. Arrived 2:30pm and found reception desk unattended but a pile of envelopes left on the counter with guest names with keys enclosed. Found our key and went to our room. All clean but basic. No tissues, no hair dryer, no iron in room. As room faced road there was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
Reviewed 23 November 2014

Very clean & tidy room, will be staying again, nice walk to eateries, staff very helpful, informative booklet in room, nice showers & overall a very nice area, nice area to have a stroll around and look at the architecture of Randwick

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank hogboy64
Reviewed 17 November 2014

If you are happy with the absolute lowest price and no amenities then this is for you. You can hear your neighbors and smell their cooking in the kitchenette but for the price you should not be expecting the Taj Mahal. This is a budget hotel, plain and simple. If all you do in your room is sleep then this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank imatravelor
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 November 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with two friends for one night, just as a place to stay while we went out and did other things. We all shared a room that had one double bed and two singles. The room was very basic, though spacious and clean. Much less shabby than other budget places I've stayed in. The bathroom was also basic,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AnnikaRose7
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 September 2014

Have never seen a worker no one cleaned our room eg came n got our used towels have to wash your own dishes never topped up tea/coffee. No free wifi like it stated there is. I understand its budget but come on atleast come and make the beds and pick up dirty towels.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sarah32_13
sydney_lodges, Manager at Avoca Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Our reception hrs are from 8am to 4:30 pm daily. If for any reason reception is temporarily closed there is a contact telephone number at reception for assistance. We advertise on our website that our rooms at Avoca Lodge are serviced weekly and I am sorry if you missed this. We would have been happy...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Great Budget find if your requirements are simple, I stayed in a single room on a self funded business trip. Room met my needs and was clean enough with ample clean bathroom space. No reception service out of hours but it was clear how to pick up and drop off keys so no problem. Part of the reason why costs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew N

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Randwick hotels
0.3 km away
Randwick Lodge
Randwick Lodge
#13 of 15 in Randwick
216 reviews
0.1 km away
Royal Hotel at Randwick
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#7 of 15 in Randwick
109 reviews
1.2 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Perouse Lodge
Perouse Lodge
#1 of 19 in Randwick
246 reviews
0.1 km away
High Cross Park Lodge
High Cross Park Lodge
#4 of 8 in Randwick
131 reviews
0.4 km away
The Blenheim Randwick
The Blenheim Randwick
#3 of 8 in Randwick
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience Sydney like a local at Avoca Lodge, a boutique lodge close to Coogee Beach in Sydney, Australia. With public transport close by, it’s just 20 minutes by bus to get to the exciting Sydney CBD and stunning Sydney Harbour. Coogee Beach is a 10 minute walk from the lodge.Avoca Lodge is situated just metres from the Prince of Wales Hospital and UNSW Kensington campus. The lodge also offers comforts such as wireless internet access, televisions and en-suites in every room. Spend the day at the beach, shop in the city or try some of the amazing food in and around the local streets of eastern Sydney. Avoca Lodge is a great place to stay to experience the real Sydney on a budget. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Avoca Lodge

Address: 235 Avoca St, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Price Range: €65 - €137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avoca Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Avoca Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Avoca Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Avoca Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms with attached bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles , 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We were on the bottom floor, closest to the front door, it's an absolute stunner of a room! I think the whole bottom floor is nice.”
 of 5 bubbles tegant2013, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I was in room 101 that was very convenient & easy for me.”
 of 5 bubbles 224rajs, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Please ask a room in 1st Floor”
 of 5 bubbles ananda527, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“None- very depressing. Asked for better room but was none.”
 of 5 bubbles 362christinee, 27 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay