We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Avoca Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Avoca Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 113: English reviews
Start your review of Avoca Lodge
 Click to rate
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place did not feel safe and was very dirty. I didn't sleep much throughout the night as people were slamming doors, pacing up and down the hall way. The rooms were tiny, and were not clean at all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank matt1987abc
Julie C, Manager at Avoca Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am unsure what you mean by 'unsafe'. The building is locked early evening and only other guests can access the building between 6pm and 8am. Room doors lock automatically. Nothing was reported during your stay. Our single rooms are quite compact and may I suggest you consider booking a larger room next time for...

Inverell, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Room was very clean and had the space for two more people,close to university but car parking was a bit of a nightmare..but I think that is always going to be the case in the city .got key no worries,new bathroom which was spacious,close to shops(walking distance )and lots of meal choices close by.Clean,cheap accomodation ,good for what we required.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicole a
Julie C, Manager at Avoca Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you reviewing your stay. This will help others when needing accommodation in Randwick. Avoca Lodge is close to the Prince of Wales Hospital precinct, the University of New South Wales, the Royal Randwick racecourse and beautiful Coogee Beach. A regular public transfer operates to the CBD, Circluar Quay and Central Station. We would love to have you come and...

Ibiza, Spain
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I'm not a very demanding person. I'm used to adapt to every place I visit, but for this time I found it fair to tell you how awful the place was before you take your personal decision. Firstly, you can find either cockrouches in the kitchen while preparing a tea or in the bathroom while a relaxing shower. The place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NMRey
SydneyLodgesRandwick, Manager at Avoca Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. I can only assume by your review there were other issues influencing your assessment. Please contact me personally should you wish to discus this further. I can be contacted on: +61 2 9314 5553

Reviewed 21 December 2016

I stayed in two of the lodges which were very handy to the hospital .Found all the rooms very clean ,I stayed in four.Very happy with all of them.Found the receptionists all very helpful as I had to extend my stay.Would definelty stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda G
SydneyLodgesRandwick, Manager at Avoca Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay as it will assist others when looking for clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation literally across the road from the Prince of Wales Hospital complex in Randwick. We do try our best to assist guests with adjustments to their bookings as hospital stays can be a little unpredictable and thank you for mentioning the staff...

Reviewed 6 December 2016

The location of this property is really great, very close to randwick market and also lot of cafes nearby. I stayed here for 7 days as i had an event in UNSW, overall the stay was great, but the wifi in this location is really bad, i mean i could not even attend calls and basic web browsing was difficult....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pramod v
SydneyLodgesRandwick, Manager at Avoca Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay. Avoca Lodge is very convenient to the University of New South Wales, the Prince of Wales Hospital complex, Royal Randwick racecourse and beautiful Coogee Beach. We do apologise if the wifi was not as efficient as you expected. Had we have know of your experience we could have made a quick call to the...

Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

Super clean and modern, booked the deluxe double room with shared bathroom to find we got our own toilet which was great! Really quiet and comfortable with great air conditioning. Will stay again when in Sydney!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meg S
SydneyLodgesRandwick, Manager at Avoca Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are glad your expectations were exceeded. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

We had a one night there as had to go to see specialist at hospital . Very clean, almost new bathroom. close to hospital , but the floor was very Squeeky. We had a very nice meal around the corner at the hotel. The staff were great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda S
SydneyLodgesRandwick, Manager at Avoca Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, it will help other people looking for clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation very close to the Prince of Wales Hospital precinct. We do apologize that a noisy floor interrupted your stay. We are addressing that issue. There are a variety of lovely places to eat at 'The Spot' restaurant, bar...

Tahmoor, Australia
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

I stayed for one night only in a single room as my husband was having an operation at prince of Wales private hospital. The lodge is in a very convenient location right across the road from the hospital. It was clean,tidy had a tv with tea and coffee supplied. I stayed in room 101 which was on the lower floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lorrainefabri
SydneyLodgesRandwick, Manager at Avoca Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. Avoca Lodge is very popular for Prince of Wales Hospital carers, visitors, staff and patients because it is literally across Avoca Street to the hospital precinct. We are glad you were happy with your clean and tidy room with amenities provided. Occasionally the ground floor rooms can experience some noise from the...

Lithgow, Australia
Reviewed 26 November 2016

My husband and I booked the Randwick Lodge for October, along with our family and friends for our wedding. We were the first to book in and stay in the new rooms, which was quite exciting. I'll start with the parking. It would have been much better if the parking for the lodge was able to be used, but it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tegan T
SydneyLodgesRandwick, Manager at Avoca Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Randwick Lodge. I have forwarded your review to the Manager of Randwick Lodge.

Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

Cannot recommend this hotel. Parking is impossible and the receptionist was rude and patronising. Having driven a long way already having to drive for another 30 minutes around ever increasing blocks to end up in a 3 hour parking zone was too much. Having called the hotel prior I was informed there was plenty of parking. The rooms are very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa P
SydneyLodgesRandwick, Manager at Avoca Lodge, responded to this review

Oh no! There seemed to be some miscommunication regarding parking. Our staff are are happy to assist with locations of unrestricted parking and advise of the paid parking stations nearby. We are sorry to hear that parking your car ruined your stay. Our double rooms are advertised as small doubles so your expectations are met on arrival and we are...

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Randwick
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#7 of 14 in Randwick
121 reviews
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perouse Lodge
#3 of 10 in Randwick
255 reviews
High Cross Park Lodge
#4 of 10 in Randwick
134 reviews
Randwick Lodge
#5 of 10 in Randwick
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience Sydney like a local at Avoca Lodge, a boutique lodge close to Coogee Beach in Sydney, Australia. With public transport close by, it’s just 20 minutes by bus to get to the exciting Sydney CBD and stunning Sydney Harbour. Coogee Beach is a 10 minute walk from the lodge.Avoca Lodge is situated just metres from the Prince of Wales Hospital and UNSW Kensington campus. The lodge also offers comforts such as wireless internet access, televisions and en-suites in every room. Spend the day at the beach, shop in the city or try some of the amazing food in and around the local streets of eastern Sydney. Avoca Lodge is a great place to stay to experience the real Sydney on a budget. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Avoca Lodge

Address: 235 Avoca St, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Price Range: €80 - €123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avoca Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Avoca Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Avoca Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Avoca Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms with attached bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles , 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We were on the bottom floor, closest to the front door, it's an absolute stunner of a room! I think the whole bottom floor is nice.”
 of 5 bubbles tegant2013, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I was in room 101 that was very convenient & easy for me.”
 of 5 bubbles 224rajs, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Please ask a room in 1st Floor”
 of 5 bubbles ananda527, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“None- very depressing. Asked for better room but was none.”
 of 5 bubbles 362christinee, 27 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5