We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Mountain Heritage - Blue Mountains

Save
Share
Cnr Apex & Lovel Streets, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780 Australia
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$166
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$166
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$156
View deal
Booking.comUS$165
eDreamsUS$165
CheapTicketsUS$166
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (301)
Room & Suite (69)
Dining (33)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 26/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Mountain Heritage - Blue Mountains
Updated 26/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 15 hotels in Katoomba
Travellers' Choice
Perched on the edge of a ridge, 300 metrers from the heart of Katoomba’s town centre, this 4.5-star hotel offers panoramic views of the World Heritage Blue Mountains. Capturing the essence of the past, The Mountain Heritage Hotel offers modern facilities and services. Guest rooms feature a flat-screen TV, air-conditioning, en-suite with shower and either a full-sized bath or spa. Many rooms and suites also have their own romantic real flame fireplace. Each of the 41 guestrooms features high ceilings and bespoke collector furniture crafted from imported British Columbia timbers and paired with stylish soft furnishings embracing the traditions of European country houses. Some rooms feature picturesque mountain views. Some rates include a light continental breakfast which includes bread, pastries, cereal, cold meat, cheeses, yoghurt, fresh fruit, tea and coffee. Jamison Views Restaurant and Bar boasts breathtaking escarpment views and offers a seasonal menu of quality cuisine.
Read more

Location

Full view
79Somewhat walkable
Grade: 79 out of 100
0Restaurantswithin 0 km
0Attractionswithin 0 km
Contact
Cnr Apex & Lovel Streets, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780 Australia
Getting there
Sydney Airport84 kmSee all flights
Raglan Airport70 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
711Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 234
  • 275
  • 121
  • 49
  • 32
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
therese s wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We lost $1,000 for 3 rooms during covid. Hotel refused to give us a refund but offered 1 room back. Our party of 6 will never book with them again and even with the ONE room offer we wouldn't stay there.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Value
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Hotel Mountain Heritage, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Mountain Heritage - Blue Mountains
Responded 14 Jul 2021
Hi 909thereses, thank you for leaving us a review. We understand Covid has posed some challenges but your review has left out some critical details that provide valuable context. Firstly, your initial booking was non-refundable, something that is standard for most properties throughout Australia. When the pandemic hit, we have been extremely flexible in allowing guests to reschedule their initial booking while honouring our non-refundable terms and conditions. You were extended the same courtesy and rebooked your 3 rooms at no cost. For this second reservation, you then wanted to cancel even though you were still under the same booking conditions. As a gesture of good faith, we offered to refund you the highest valued room of your booking. Whilst we have done everything fair to try and accommodate your requests, we cannot cancel our own booking conditions at a guests’ whim, when we have done everything to be of help.
Read more
Warren B wrote a review May 2021
Sydney, Australia227 contributions131 helpful votes
Comfortable, old style hotel that reminded me of some of the places I've stayed at in London and other parts of England. Friendly staff, nice outlook from the bar and breakfast room. We only stayed one night, but enjoyed the visit and intend to be back.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Hotel Mountain Heritage, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Mountain Heritage - Blue Mountains
Responded 14 Jul 2021
Hi Warren, thank you for leaving us such a lovely review. It’s always so nice to see guests who can appreciate our unique property that doesn’t have many competitors on the Australian market - and bringing a taste of Europe and the UK to our guests is exactly what we strive for! We are very proud of our Grand Old Lady and her history, and we are also very fond of each team member who works so hard to make each guest feel welcomed. The view from the common areas is indeed gorgeous. We look forward to welcoming you back for a longer relaxing stay!
Read more
NATALIA G wrote a review Mar 2021
Blue Mountains, Australia6 contributions2 helpful votes
Lovely place, excellent costumer service, super friendly and kind, All of them very very helpful. The Bedrooms are so romantic and the fireplace was lush !! Also We forgot a couple of things and they keep it for us till we picked them up few weeks after. Thank ms a lot :) I Highly recommend this place
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Hotel Mountain Heritage, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Mountain Heritage - Blue Mountains
Responded 30 Mar 2021
Hi J2651TLnataliag, thank you so much for leaving us such a lovely review. We are always so lucky to have the team we do who work hard to make each guest feel welcomed and part of the family. We are super proud of our Grand Old Lady and the atmosphere she provides for guests to relax and unwind. The fireplaces really do add an extra element of supreme comfort - very rare to have real flame fireplaces in a hotel nowadays! It’s very easy in the rush of packing to forget a few things - happens to all of us but we’re happy to see those items returned to you safely. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Read more
Patricia D wrote a review Mar 2021
41 contributions25 helpful votes
This hotel seems unable to provide the same level of service during the week as other hotels in the area can. We stayed on a Tuesday and Wednesday night. No room service available after 5pm. We were advised that they didn't want staff staying after 5pm because of Covid. Other hotels were able o offer 24 hour room service so why not this hotel? The coffee machine at breakfast seemed only capable of providing lukewarm coffee. The place was like a ghost town with only one staff member on that we could see. The same person manned reception and was also the waiter. The bar was not open at all. Next time we will stay at the Carrington which is capable of providing 24 hour service, had plenty of staff and were able to provide dinners during the week.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Hotel Mountain Heritage, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Mountain Heritage - Blue Mountains
Responded 30 Mar 2021
Hi Patricia, thank you for leaving us a review. We are a proud mid-week escape for our guests but we are sorry that you don’t feel that our hotel could provide you with desired services during your stay. It is true that our hotel’s restaurant has specific trading days, but we do advertise this online so guests can be well informed before their stay. In fact, very few restaurants in the Blue Mountains operate 7 days a week and to the best of our knowledge, the dining room in The Carrington is only open 4 days a week and doesn’t provide 24-hour room service. While our restaurant doesn’t open every day, we are more than happy to recommend some local restaurants for guests to enjoy during their stay. We are also not sure where the miscommunication has come from but our room service doesn’t finish at 5pm because we want to get our staff home at that time. The room service wasn’t operating during your stay because the restaurant itself was closed. On the days when the restaurant is open, we run room service until 9pm which we find suits the vast majority of guests. We are a little puzzled by your coffee machine comment as we’ve had nothing but positive reviews of it though we do understand that coffee is a personal preference and are happy to recommend plenty of cafes in the local area.
Read more
Bruna D wrote a review Jan 2021
Sydney, Australia88 contributions29 helpful votes
+1
The hotel is an antique house, super classic style and well located close to Katoomba City centre so very handy for those arriving by train. Room has a good size and despite very tired and dated, it’s comfortable. The staff is lovely from both front desk and restaurant and the “mountain view room” really had a super nice view. A few things spoiled my stay though. Listing the 2 main ones: 1) Breakfast: is average and what is expected from a continental breakfast. Could have a different toast option (eg: wholemeal bread) or a no sugar yogurt option, but that was fine. But I have never seen a hotel that starts serving breakfast at 8:30am. All hotels I have ever stayed (big, small, 2, 3, 4, 5 stars) start serving it at 7 am or even earlier. 2) Room cleaning: suuuuper dirty windows! Many dead bugs - including spiders - and many spider webs hanging on them both outside and inside the room too! (see pics) I decided not to pay much attention to the rest of the room cleaning and just let the blinds closed... King of disgusting... For a $350/night, I’d expect a better service, a less dated room but, specially, a clean room. The reception area is full of stickers on the floor for social distancing, hand sanitizer, etc but the same care wasn’t applied in the room.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Hotel Mountain Heritage, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Mountain Heritage - Blue Mountains
Responded 28 Feb 2021
Hi Bruna, thank you for leaving us a review. We are very proud of our heritage style that is unique and charming, but also something that is a rare find on the Australian hotel market. Our location is also something that guests rave about - it is, as you say, very close to the centre of town so it’s perfect for those guests looking to walk or stay close but they are still able to relax and unwind away from busy streets. We appreciate you acknowledging the efforts of our team - they always go above and beyond to make each guest feel welcomed and like a member of the family. The view from the Mountain View rooms and most common areas are quite spectacular, aren’t they? We are sorry to see you had a few concerns throughout your stay. We do encourage all guests to report anything at all a miss in the hotel while they stay with us so that it can be addressed immediately. This is especially true during COVID as our measures, like you’ve noted, are extensive to ensure guest and staff safety. We expect nothing but perfectly cleaned rooms from our housekeeping team and as we have a number of trainees at the moment, we will certainly pass on your feedback for their improvement and apologise for the inconvenience. As for the breakfast, we do start a little late to allow for guests to sleep in and enjoy their rooms but understand it doesn’t suit everyone. Should guests want an early breakfast, we are more than happy to provide a continental breakfast to their room the night before for their convenience. There are many local cafes that we’re more than happy to recommend should you wish to try something a little different on your next visit.
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesBlue MountainsKatoomba
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Mountain Heritage - Blue Mountains
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Mountain Heritage - Blue Mountains?
Nearby attractions include Blue Mountains (0.3 km), Station Bar + Woodfired Pizza (0.4 km), and Mr Pickwick's Fine Old Books (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Mountain Heritage - Blue Mountains?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Mountain Heritage - Blue Mountains?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Mountain Heritage - Blue Mountains?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Mountain Heritage - Blue Mountains?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Mountain Heritage - Blue Mountains?
Conveniently located restaurants include Aunty Ed's Restaurant and Bar, Pomegranate, and Station Bar & Wood Fired Pizza.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Mountain Heritage - Blue Mountains?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Hotel Mountain Heritage - Blue Mountains located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Katoomba.
Does Hotel Mountain Heritage - Blue Mountains offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Mountain Heritage - Blue Mountains?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Chinese, Thai, Polish, and Vietnamese.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Mountain Heritage - Blue Mountains?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Leura Post Office (1.4 km).