We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (59)
Room & Suite (18)
Dining (3)
Overview
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Wheelchair Access
Golf course
3 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveller rating
143
96
20
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
143
96
20
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clean kitchen train station blue mountains bed dorm youth hostel three sisters bathrooms and showers big kitchen excellent facilities common areas echo point shared kitchen reading room close to shops art deco common room katoomba street
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 264 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

Right in town. Close to all major nature attractions. BIG Kitchen, Big lounging, lots of outdoor spaces. Young David in reception very helpful and upbeat. Ladies Toilets have to travel to find soap AND toilet paper. Use ground floor... they're are always in stock. Lots...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank Plenty2C
Response from YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Blue Mountains YHAResponded 6 November 2018

Thanks for the feedback and we'll have a chat with housekeeping about the bathroom stocks! We try and avoid room moves whenever possible, but sometimes they are needed if a big booking is coming in - sorry you were inconvenienced. Hope you enjoyed your time...More

Reviewed 23 September 2018

This is my first time to stay at a hostel so i came with little to no expectation. I chose the YHA due to its location. Situated right smack in the middle of Katoomba town, it is only about a 10-minute downhill walk from the...More

Date of stay: August 2018
1  Thank WanderlustHaywire
Response from YHA_Backpacker, Front Office Manager at Blue Mountains YHAResponded 24 September 2018

Hi there - thanks for choosing our hostel and your review. There are a few things though that are inaccurate. All bedrooms in the hostel have heating which is why we have an all seasons doona on the beds but we will definitely check the...More

Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

This was our first stay at the Blue Mountains YHA and it was great. It is more aged than the YHA hostels in Sydney, however, has more character. The rooms are nice for a hostel, however, there is much more to this place. There is...More

Date of stay: September 2018
1  Thank Andrew M
Response from YHA_Backpacker, Front Office Manager at Blue Mountains YHAResponded 24 September 2018

Hi Andrew - glad you enjoyed this special hostel. It is a heritage building and was formerly a 1930's cabaret club. The reception and communal areas have been decorated to reflect this period with heritage colours etc. which all adds to the atmosphere. Hope to...More

Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Blue Mountains YHA for one night and had a wonderful stay. The hostel was fairly quiet due to the time of year but that made it even better for us. The kitchens were well equipped and having a fire on in...More

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank emilytB3256CE
Reviewed 18 July 2018 via mobile

Stayed here many times and love this place. Big comfortable couches to relax near the fire after a day of hiking, a reading room with many books and armchairs, big, clean kitchen and very helpful and nice staff. Close to shops and cafes, and about...More

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank j4na
View more reviews
About
Description
In the adventure capital of NSW, stay at this award-winning YHA hostel and enjoy the log fire, cosy warm rooms (many with ensuite), great kitchen, fast internet, all in the heart of Katoomba. This is the More best value budget accommodation, located in the heart of Katoomba. Chose from a range of rooms including multi share, double/twin and family rooms. Free Wi-Fi hotspot (Premium Wi-Fi Plus also available). Relax in the large lounge, self cater in the kitchen. Housed in a beautifully restored historic National Trust building, the hostel is close to breathtaking scenic lookouts, and local cafes and pubs. Save with YHA discounts on heaps of activities, tours and attractions from the hostel. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Golf course
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Kitchenette
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Kitchenette
Number of rooms
57
Price range
US$34 - US$96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Blue Mountains YHA Katoomba
Location
Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Kitchenette
Number of rooms
57
Price range
US$34 - US$96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Blue Mountains YHA Katoomba
Location
Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Photos
Traveller (59)
Room & Suite (18)
Dining (3)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 15 nearby hotels
Palais Royale Boutique Hotel
474 reviews
.05 km away
Katoomba Town Centre
305 reviews
.05 km away
Blue Mountains Heritage Motel
187 reviews
.07 km away
The Carrington Hotel
1,133 reviews
.55 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 103 nearby restaurants
Yellow Deli
1,184 reviews
.09 km away
Unique Patisserie
488 reviews
.21 km away
Sanwiye
253 reviews
.19 km away
Cassiopeia
95 reviews
.18 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 77 nearby attractions
High and Wild Mountain Adventures
142 reviews
.01 km away
Blue Mountains Cultural Centre
187 reviews
.42 km away
Street Art Walk - by Street Art Murals Australia
86 reviews
.19 km away
Katoomba Antique Centre
27 reviews
.64 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
mab888
31 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from YHA_Backpacker | Property representative |
Hi Mab - sorry you were disturbed by other guests. We do have a staff member who lives on site, and there is a telephone link at reception for any guests to use to get staff assistance, so we would encourage you to always... More
0
Votes
Rachel H
31 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from LisaeJ94 | Reviewed this property |
yes you can it will cost you 2$ for a four hours (not sure about the hours) and 3$ for the whole day. you can ask at the reception! good luck
1
Vote
Google Translation
Rachel H
31 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from LisaeJ94 | Reviewed this property |
yes but it wil cost you $2 for a couple of hours and 3$ vmfor a whole day. just ask at thw reception
1
Vote
Google Translation
Room Tips
"Get the rooms on the ground floor. There are no lifts so you will have to lug your luggage up if..."
WanderlustHaywire
23 Sep 2018
Read review
"I have a family room but students like the less costly share."
tbsa
8 Nov 2017
Read review
"very affordable, clean, great location"
460elsat
28 Feb 2017
Read review
"Worth a visit if the Blue Mountains are in your plans"
Riverbend88
30 Dec 2016
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing