We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

3 Explorers Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
3 Explorers Motel
3 Explorers Motel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

344 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for 3 Explorers Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 335: English reviews
Sutz
Reviewed 13 November 2014

good location for sifghtseeing Echo point, room is average and overprized to other motels we have been in Australia. The town is only five minutes drive by car and you can find a lot of restaurants.I think next time we would choose another motel

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank uluru65
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, pleased that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains & hope to see you again.

Sydney
Reviewed 9 November 2014

Title says it all really, smallish clean room, friendly management. Close to echo point but a long trek uphill to town for dinner. Go there for the location , recommend seeing three sisters with the floodlights on.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter Y
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, pleased that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again

Reviewed 6 November 2014

This Motel is in a great location for sightseeing at Echo point and Scenic World. We had a very comfortable bed and a nice clean room. The friendly manager at the office was very helpful with local knowledge that was much appreciated.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GregHelen
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again.

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2014

While visiting my daughter and grandaughter in Sydney, my other daughter and I decided to visit the blue mountains for a weekend break. We travelled by train to Katoomba and got a taxi to the motel which cost us au8 dollars, we were warmly welcomed by the manager who gave us all the information of where to go and what...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 2093SandraW
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again

Casino
Reviewed 22 October 2014

Having stayed at 3 Explorers prior, I knew that it was great. The actual location in Katoomba is excellent, allowing us to walk to 3 Sisters with ease. Manager is a very obliging man and maintains a high standard for the motel. Very enjoyable stay with 2 grand daughters that we only see 3 to 4 times a year. Great...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jan D
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again

Newcastle, NSW, Australia
Reviewed 20 October 2014

The staff were extremely helpful; the place was clean and fresh with the room being checked daily. The bed was very comfortable - all in all an excellent place to stay while we did the "tourist" thing :)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bren_home58
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 13 October 2014

This was the second time we stayed at the 3 Explorers Motel. The rooms are comfortable and well furnished and are presented in a clean and tidy manner. The motel is positioned very close to all the Katoomba attractions. The Chinese restaurant named the Canton Palace is located nearby and was enjoyed again on our second visit, would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrew M
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 9 October 2014 via mobile

My kids had a shower the night we stayed and complained the hot water ran out quickly and had to wash their hair in freezing cold water. I thought it might be a once off issue until next morning when I had a shower - the hot water lasted 1 minute and then went freezing. The place is a joke...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank teendad053
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, pleased that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, unfortunately you never raised the problem with reception regarding the problem experienced with the hot water, we have a gas fired system for the hot water & not...

Reviewed 8 October 2014

Great place to stay in Katoomba. Walking distance to Pins on Lurline (Restaurant) and the three sisters. Great advice around places to eat and to get to Scenic World early (which we did to avoid the queues. Will stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank blackdelta
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again

Poindimié, New Caledonia
Reviewed 8 October 2014

For our second visit to the blue mountains we stayed in this Motel a full week with my husband in September. The first opinion on arrival was not too bad considering that the motel is getting old, and the room is not perfectly clean .. but the location is just perfect (few meters of Echo Point). Everything was suppose to...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Isabelle S
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, pleased that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains. The soap holder was part of the fitted tile & by breaking the holder the edge of the remaining piece could easily cut any Guest whilst taking a...

290 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (233)
Viewed
Family Deluxe Room (28)
Viewed
Queen Spa Room (33)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (35)
Viewed
Superior Family Room (37)
Viewed
Superior Twin - Double Room (35)
Viewed
The Hotel (18)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Luxurious Spa Suite (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
1.6 km away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
843 reviews
1.7 km away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
536 reviews
1.1 km away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 km away
La Maison Boutique Hotel
La Maison Boutique Hotel
#13 of 15 in Katoomba
160 reviews
2.4 km away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service

Additional Information about 3 Explorers Motel

Address: 197 Lurline St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Price Range: €84 - €138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 3 Explorers Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your 3 Explorers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Explorers Hotel Katoomba
3 Explorers Motel Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from 3 Explorers Motel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from 3 Explorers Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms were great, whether upstairs or downstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles StephG34, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“all rooms seem good”
 of 5 bubbles stephenb541, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ground level out the back.”
 of 5 bubbles , 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Some of the rooms are upstairs so may want to specify ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles sarahnorris99, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book early if staying on weekends”
 of 5 bubbles 716MikeF716, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5