We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

557 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Showing 545: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 14 February 2016

We decided to stay here and not rent a car, and our decision was vindicated. It had some of the best eateries and drinking establishments, all within easy walking distance, and of course the amazing Coogee beach, only a stones throw away! The studio was clean and comfortable and the front desk was helpful. My only minor grumble was having...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arthur T
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Arther T, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write of your experiences. I am pleased to read that you were able to make the most of our amazing location. Thank you for mentioning the cleanliness of your Studio Room. Myself and the Executive Housekeeper have very high expectations of the housekeeping team...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 14 February 2016 via mobile

Think twice before booking this hotel. We checked in at around 11:30pm and we checked out 2 hours afterwards. WHY?! After going into the room on Level 6 (on rooftop), I smashed at least 5 big cockroaches, approx 2 inches long and very juicy ones. My kid kept crying. We were freaked out and decided to leave this place immediately....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James L
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear James L, Firstly thank you taking the time to provide a review. We appreciate all feedback and aim to learn from our guests experiences. May I start by apologizing for the alleged cockroaches you found in your room. My receptionist was correct when they told you that Sydney is currently experiencing an unusually large number this summer. Although we...

The Angle, Nsw, Australia
Reviewed 9 February 2016

Coogee itself is a welcome pool of relaxation amidst the miserable heat, humidity and hassle of Sydney. This hotel is very pleasant. We had ocean view suites and the crashing of the waves and sound of birds was very relaxing. The air conditioning also works well!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pickytraveller1964
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Pickytraveller1964, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us, I am delighted to hear that it was so enjoyable. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future. Kindest Regards, Tracy Whitelaw General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 January 2016

Poor score based on our particular experience. So I guess opinions are formed to a large extent on the price paid and this is no exception. In short we took a gamble - we saw the pictures of the ocean view terrace rooms, and paid up to stay there over New Year. Its right on the beach and we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sunseeker1Uk
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Sunseeker1UK, Thank you for taking the time to provide a detailed review on your stay at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments. We are disappointed to hear that your stay didn’t live up to your expectations. We welcome the feedback we receive from our guests, both positive and negative. We were however surprised by the tone of your review as...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 27 January 2016

Stayed here one night before a cruise. Amazing location. Reasonably price for the family. Clean. Parking included which was a blessing. Good king size bed. Comfortable. There were 2 kids on the sleeper couch and that made the room a bit crowded. Air conditioning works well. Mini Kitchenette which is also good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Sharon M, Thank you for your wonderful review. I was delighted to read that everything at the hotel was to your satisfaction and you had an excellent stay. I look forward to welcoming you back to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, very soon. Warm regards, Tracy Whitelaw General Manager

Albury, Australia
Reviewed 27 January 2016

Great location, very close to beach and restaurants. Friendly staff, offering great advice for family friendly restaurants and activities Unfortunately, other guests stole some of our belongings from laundry room, which soured our holiday.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clare B
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Clare B, Thank you for your review. The Front Office are consistently praised for their high standard of service, I’ll pass on this positive feedback. I was surprised to read your comments regarding your belongings from our laundry room as this has never happened before. Please feel free to contact myself or the Front Office as your missing items...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights and was just lovely.clean modern courtyard room.excellent service from staff.serviced every day.free beach towels (you are right on the beach here).pavilion next door which is a huge three level restarant bar and family games setting.close to shops eateries and walking distance to woolworths supermarket.rooftop bbq and lounge area with great views.perfect for families.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I was delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments. I am happy to see that you took advantage of our rooftop sun deck and BBQ. We agree with you that the location is perfect, beachfront, surrounded by cafes & shops, and plenty of...

Reviewed 24 January 2016 via mobile

I've stayed in some nice places. holy smoke this place was AMAZING. 13/10 would bang. we had the misfortune of booking one night in surry hills before our beach adventure. that other accommodation was the most squalid revolting hell hole ever (more about that place after I get my money back). Anyway, at 1:14am in surry hills, & in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crackwhore64
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We certainly agree that we have a lot to offer our guests and think that Coogee itself is a fantastic location. I will pass on your comments to our staff as they are sure to appreciate your wonderful feedback! I was thrilled to see that we provided great service and hope to...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 23 January 2016 via mobile

This is not a 5 star hotel but for our family of 4 it was perfect. Brilliant location on the beach. Such a great coastline to explore. Friendly staff who let us park our car despite a very early arrival and also gave us a late check out. Great small apartment. Great having balcony and air conditioning that we could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MimmyFantastic
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear MimmyFantastic, Thank you for your lovely comments! We appreciate all feedback and we especially love to hear when our guests enjoyed their stay so much. Our Ocean View and Balcony rooms are always popular as they guarantee you a balcony to sit out on and relax. Great for a family getaway! Looking forward to welcoming you and your family...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 20 January 2016

We have stayed there over Christmas several times and thoroughly enjoyed every visit. First impressions count, and the first impression here is good. Staff are very friendly and helpful and we feel very welcome. We have stayed in different rooms each visit. All are well appointed and very comfortable, with modern decor. Our preference now is an ocean view balcony...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tonatome
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear tonatome, Thank you for your recent feedback and loyal patronage of Coogee Sands. The location and view at Coogee is quite spectacular and worthy of a return visit. I was thrilled to see that we again provided great service and hope to welcome you back to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments once more. Warm regards, Tracy Whitelaw General Manager

134 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coogee
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Coogee
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel
Coogee Bay Hotel
#5 of 6 in Coogee
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coogee
Dive Hotel
Dive Hotel
#4 of 6 in Coogee
243 reviews
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel Pub-Style Rooms
Bondi Beach
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Coogee

Neighbourhood Profile
Coogee
Very accessible by public transport, Coogee is the smaller, friendlier, more intimate version of Bondi Beach. Coogee is the only beach in the Eastern suburbs that does not have big waves, making it an excellent family beach. The Coogee Bay Hotel, located right across the beach, has one of the biggest beer gardens in Australia and plenty of entertainment every night of the week. Be on the lookout for celebrity footballers! A little further south is Wylie’s Baths, offering sweeping 180 degree views over the Pacific Ocean, and it is perfect for a swim or a few laps. Plenty of dining choices surround the beach, including the famous fish and chips.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Perfectly located just 20 metres from Coogee Beach, Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments is a 4 star property with a selection of Studio rooms, all with kitchenettes (microwave, sink, crockery, cutlery) and apartment style accommodation. The Hotel offers complimentary undercover parking (subject to availability), wireless internet, 24 hour Reception and a Rooftop Sundeck and BBQ overlooking the ocean for guests to enjoy. Enjoy the vibrant local cafe culture of one of Sydney's most picturesque beaches. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments

Address: 161 - 167 Dolphin St, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Coogee > Coogee
Price Range: €106 - €160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coogee Sands Hotel And Apartments
Coogee Sands Hotel Apartments
Coogee Sands Sydney
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Coogee
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Coogee
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coogee
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure you request a high floor as we had a view of a brick wall on level 3. Literally looked straight out onto a huge brick wall”
hberman68, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room at the end of the hall has a musty/damp smell”
tobyg591, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ocean view room is fabulous”
terrencem735, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for a quiet room.”
JJVV-AUS, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Beautiful rooms to the front.”
Bali-Hai-QLD, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5