We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Comfort Inn Gold Rush

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 128: English reviews
Start your review of Comfort Inn Gold Rush
 Click to rate
Katikati, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Yes it is old '70 style motel on the outside, but has been brought into the 21 centenary as much as possible on the inside.Very good meals served to our room both nights, good value and very tastie.A very peaceful area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank algor50
Bernie S, Owner at Comfort Inn Gold Rush, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback and pleased that you noticed the modernisation.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It was immaculate...need i say more. thanks for a great stay Bernie and if we are in the west again will defi pop in for a stay. Location was great and we were across the road from where all the targa cars lined up.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
Bernie S, Owner at Comfort Inn Gold Rush, responded to this review

We very much appreciate your feedback and that we were able to meet your expectations. We hope you will recommend the Gold Rush to your friends and family.

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a credit this hotel is to the management and staff. Check-in was quick and easy and parking plentiful. The room was well appointed (queen and single bed), spacious and clean. The bathroom seems to have been recently renovated and was also lovely and clean with plenty of towels. The bed linen was very good quality and beds were comfortable....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank a_recent_visitor_59
Bernie S, Owner at Comfort Inn Gold Rush, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. We are pleased we could meet your expectations while travelling through Tasmania's West Coast

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Do not be deceived by the first impression of the exterior of this motel. It looks like something from a bygone-era, but then you notice the care and effort that has gone into establishing gardens and lawn and improving the building. Our room was excellent. It had been well-modernised, with a spacious room, bright and airy bathroom, comfy queen and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank foodiept
Bernie S, Owner at Comfort Inn Gold Rush, responded to this review

Thank you for the very detailed review. We have invested a lot of money and time over the last two years in elevating the quality and comfort of our motel. It is pleasing when our efforts are recognised.

Australia
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Requesting a room suitable for my wife's mobility issues, we were offered an inspection and selected their disabled unit. We booked two nights as an exploration base in the region.This is the cleanest motel room we have seen in Australian travels in years. It was spotless throughout with new comfy beds. Our unit also had a full size stove/oven, microwave...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glenn L
Bernie S, Owner at Comfort Inn Gold Rush, responded to this review

Pleased that we could exceed your expectations and while travelling through Tasmania's West Coast and staying at our motel. Clean rooms is what we expect whenever we travel.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 9 April 2017

We had a queen room with an extra single bed which was very spacious and very clean. Being a little night vision impaired, I found the lighting a little to dim for my liking so I needed to turn all the lights and lamps on at once which made it better for me. But, that is my issue and not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sammi B
Bernie S, Owner at Comfort Inn Gold Rush, responded to this review

We hope one day you will get over the shower curtain phobia. Thanks though for the feedback.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 8 April 2017

We usually avoid the old hotels but we needed somewhere to stay for 1 night before we were booked to stay at Strahan. We were really impressed with this hotel. The rooms have been nicely renovated and our room was large with a queen bed, table and chairs, breakfast bar at the kitchenette and bathroom. A full range of toiletries...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deblezuu
Bernie S, Owner at Comfort Inn Gold Rush, responded to this review

Glad that you didn't avoid our motel and you were very pleasantly surprised. We have done a lot of work to our rooms and pleased that we could meet your expecations

Reviewed 6 April 2017

Very clean. You have a microwave, a kettle. The room has a heater and heated blankets. Well-maintained property overall. Easy check in and out. Car parking on the property in front of your window. Short walk/drive to the town center.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vova-Tourist
Bernie S, Owner at Comfort Inn Gold Rush, responded to this review

you feedback is much appreciated and is used by us to ensure we remain on track in providing good, practical, clean accommodation to guests who have taken the great opportunity to visit Tasmania's West Coast Wilderness.

Blenheim, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 March 2017

Would like to update my review of a couple of years ago.Have continued to book the Gold Rush for my tour groups as I know they will be looked after by the new owners. Hospitality at its best from Bernie, his good lady and his team. They have done wonders with upgrades to the premises to make it even more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bobalovski
Bernie S, Owner at Comfort Inn Gold Rush, responded to this review

Thanks for the re-review. It is pleasing to receive your recognition of our efforts to make Queenstown a great destination to stop and base your yourself when exploring and experiencing the available activities. We will continue to improve and look forward to see you again in the future.

Georgetown, Texas
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

Queenstown is not a very big or busy town, probably since mining is not so big anymore. There were not many places to stay in town and we booked this place based on reviews. Know that reception is closed from around 10:30 until 2:00 so don't show up early as we did. Everything in the room was decent and it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dil345
Bernie S, Owner at Comfort Inn Gold Rush, responded to this review

We have never had a complaint on the pillows being too hard, to the contrary we receive many compliments on both the comfort of the pillows and mattresses. Not only that but each bed has multiple pillows to select from. I hope you had no pillow issues at any other properties you stayed in. If 10 people were asked their...

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queenstown
21.2 km away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
885 reviews
0.9 km away
The Empire Hotel
The Empire Hotel
#5 of 6 in Queenstown
112 reviews
0.5 km away
West Coaster Motel
West Coaster Motel
#2 of 6 in Queenstown
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Silver Hills Motel
Silver Hills Motel
#3 of 6 in Queenstown
153 reviews
1.1 km away
Penghana Bed & Breakfast
Penghana Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Queenstown
144 reviews
1.0 km away
Mt Lyell Anchorage
Mt Lyell Anchorage
#2 of 5 in Queenstown
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Comfort Inn Gold Rush, Queenstown, is a perfectly located motor inn accommodation to rest and relax following the fascinating journey from Hobart via Derwent Bridge/Lake St Clair or from Cradle Mountain/Burnie/Devonport. In a quiet location, The Gold Rush has 26 spacious rooms. Queen size beds are the minimum standard, Free WiFi to all rooms, separate en-suite bathroom with amenities, kitchenette with microwave, flat-screen TV, a licensed restaurant on site providing Breakfast and Evening meals. A relaxing and comfortable stay is a certainty. This is the place to base yourself and explore the region over several days. Experience the APT Steam Railway, Cruise the Gordon River, Raft the King River or do the Mt Lyell Mine & other tours. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Gold Rush

Address: 65 Batchelor St, Queenstown, Tasmania 7467, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Queenstown
Price Range: €73 - €96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn Gold Rush 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn Gold Rush reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Queenstown
Queenstown Comfort Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Comfort Inn Gold Rush staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Comfort Inn Gold Rush staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book directly to receive a good price”
Deblezuu, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Any room should be good. The 'mountain view' rooms do allow you to look at the bare hills but you can hardly miss them anyway.”
SMTas, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms near the road,”
illana15, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Check what you expect and need, for us park the car in front of the room”
, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Quiet area, clean and comfortable rooms, short walk to the small town they have”
turtlechips, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates