We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Empire Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Empire Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 102: English reviews
Start your review of The Empire Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms are small. Really only single rooms. Bed is a double not a queen. Rooms on town side very noisy. Worst nights sleep in any hotel ever. No wifi as advertised. Only a small sitting room with a tv and kettle etc. but you couldn't make a cuppa when people watching tv as it would disturb. No fly screens on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil & Wendy T
Wodonga, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Empire Hotel has there famous stairway to the first floor, and it is magnificent. After the get to the top of the stairs it all stops. The rooms are very ordinary and a lot of people wouldn't want to stay. I suggest that you have a look ay a roon before you commit yourself.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank diandray50
Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just dropped in to this magestic building, oozing charm and authenticity. We were surprised the place was packed, but we did manage to find a table where we both enjoyed a delicious and well priced meal. We would definitely recommend this pub.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kerin b
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Coming in, you feel like diving in the past, everything from furniture, paintings, books belong to a long gone era. The rooms are kind of basic, indeed, but with an atmosphere And a view on the mountains and the clouds. The pub is fantastic, with locals and their great sense of humor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was very charming and homey and it's right in the center of lovely Queenstown. Staff was friendly. Good wifi. Free parking across the street. Room was cute, with a nice view. I think they had a room set up near our 2nd floor room (separate from the downstairs pub) as a designated social area? That was unfortunate, with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Skye888
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Empire Hotel is well worth a visit to see its wonderful Federation architecture, including magnificent carved Blackwood staircase. Food, service and pricing is reasonable. As we visited at the same time as 70 (unannounced) and Queenstown has few alternatives, bookings are a great idea.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce W
Kurri Kurri, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really Old pub from the exterior and appears a little dodgy. Though it was a pleasant surprise. The pub has rooms with a ensuite and shared bathroom rooms. Stayed in Room 2 which was an ensuite queen room. The bathroom was brand new. Great water pressure and good towels. The bed was comfortable. Breakfast was included. Supposed to start at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DDSWM
Zac S, Front Office Manager at The Empire Hotel, responded to this review

Hi DDSWM Thank you for taking the time to leave us such lovely feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and do hope to see you again sometime soon :) Safe travels!

Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The outside looks crummy - but when you enter the hotel, you are faced with a lovely wooden staircase, old pictures and memorabilia. We enjoyed a pub meal there with some good friends. It was very busy, but the staff did OK. It's a country pub. My husband left his fleecy jacket on a chair - we collected it next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annme
Zac S, Front Office Manager at The Empire Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Annme, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review :) We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. We have been much busier than anticipated for this time of year so we are doing our best! Thanks again and I do hope we see you again soon :) Safe travels!

Greater Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 18 February 2017

I booked 1 night at the Empire Hotel via Wotif, but unfortunately due to ill health I had to cancel. Even though I did this 11 days prior to the date of the reservation I lost the total amount for the booking, which had to be paid in advance, an amount of $ 80. I emailed the hotel about this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MavGav2015
Zac S, Front Office Manager at The Empire Hotel, responded to this review

Hi MavGav, I've had a look into the situation surrounding your booking, unfortunately WOTIF is under the Expedia umbrella, and it does clearly state no refunds on the single rooms. As stated in our original emails in trying to organise another time for you to stay, we can definitely shuffle your booking to suit your visit and there is a...

Reviewed 16 February 2017

We were looking forward to staying at this establishment. Greatly disappointed in the room, meals and staff. We cut short our stay by a day and this was not too soon. The hotel has so much potential but in its current state it is very sad. Of the 3 evening meals we ordered only one night was the food edible,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona C
Zac S, Public Relations Manager at The Empire Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Fiona, I am very sorry to hear you were very disappointed in your stay at The Empire. I do hope that informed at the time that one of our team members did something to rectify your visit. We normally have great reviews on our food, so to hear this is quite concerning, I've passed this feedback onto the kitchen....

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queenstown
20.2 km away
Strahan Village
Strahan Village
#1 of 4 in Strahan
839 reviews
20.3 km away
Gordon Gateway
Gordon Gateway
#4 of 4 in Strahan
79 reviews
0.5 km away
West Coaster Motel
West Coaster Motel
#2 of 6 in Queenstown
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
Comfort Inn Gold Rush
#1 of 6 in Queenstown
123 reviews
0.5 km away
Mountain View Motel
Mountain View Motel
#4 of 6 in Queenstown
43 reviews
0.6 km away
Silver Hills Motel
Silver Hills Motel
#3 of 6 in Queenstown
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Empire Hotel

Address: 2 Orr Street, Queenstown, Tasmania 7467, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Queenstown
Price Range: €32 - €70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Empire Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Empire Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Empire Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on town side really noisy. Try and book room with ensuite.”
  • Bedroom
 of 5 bubbles philwendyt, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ensuite Room”
  • View of Queenstown railway station from Room2 Windows
 of 5 bubbles DDSWM, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Great base to hub from while looking at the many sites to see! Don't forget to go on the train!”
 of 5 bubbles Dazshelby, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Didn't stay here - just used the dining room twice”
 of 5 bubbles Gwennie46, 27 Mar 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are views in Queeny”
 of 5 bubbles markgK3096KW, 7 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5