We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Airlie Beach YHA

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Airlie Beach YHA
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Airlie Beach YHA
See the most recent reviews
Showing 132: English reviews
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2016 via mobile

In the city centre, definitely a good place to stay. Rooms, toilet and bathrooms are clean. The staff is very helpfull and friendly. Had a great time and meeting other travellers was easy peasy at YHA i can recommend this hostel as well for couples as for singles . I stayed at YHA in between my trip to the islands.

Helpful?
Thank Richard V
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2016

very disappointed in this YHA. The room was shabby and not value for money. There was stains in the carpet, could hear the plumbing from the toilets upstairs. It was like a storage room that was converted into a bedroom

Helpful?
Thank Claude L
YHA_Hostels, Guest Relations Manager at Airlie Beach YHA, responded to this review

Hi Claude, Thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us. I apologise sincerely that our hostel did not meet your expectations. This is not the usual feedback we receive and not the experience we hope our guests have when they visit. Since your review our Hostel Manager has addressed the issues you stated with the Maintenance Manager. The... More 

Travellers are raving about these Airlie Beach hotels

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed in a double room which was basic but clean and comfortable. Really good air con. We purchased wifi which was good value being $10 for 3 days and it worked in the room. The only negative was the curtain was hanging off the rail which made it difficult to shut. The hostel is in the best location, at... More 

Helpful?
Thank DaisyV4
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2016

We're a couple from England who have done a lot of travelling in different countries/ continents and also a lot In Australia so we feel we can give an informed review. The hostel is; well located, generally quiet but well set out for socialising. It has a large, extremely clean an well equipped kitchen, a canteen style eating area and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Thetavern09
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2016 via mobile

After staying in a few different hostels up the East Coast this one has been my favourite so far. Staff are really friendly and helpful. Room was perfect, we had a double and a shared bathroom. Communal area is great too with sofas and a TV, a nice clean swimming pool and a great size kitchen. This hostel has a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laurie N
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2016 via mobile

Clean kitchen and clean rooms - sheets / pillows are more yellow than white because they're so old...but clean! Aircon in rooms (although these are positioned right by one bunk so we couldn't have it on as the girl next to it got too cold .. So we booked!!) and free wifi in common areas. Luggage storage for doing tours... More 

Helpful?
Thank travelbugs90s
Level Contributor
54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2016 via mobile

Nice little hostel. Even accomodates a few parking spots. Clean rooms. Basic and simple. I stayed in a twin room. Nice balcony. Made the most of that!!! So stoked they had air conditioning in the room etc. housekeeping were real friendly to me. And office staff always there to help. so close to everything which was good

Helpful?
Thank Niki_au
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2016 via mobile

Reasonably clean. Old and a bit run down but nothing that you wouldn't expect when staying at a hostel. Reception staff weren't overly friendly on arrival but have been very accommodating since. Kitchen is huge and reasonably stocked. We are in a private room away from all the dorms so can't comment on the noise factor other than there is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2016

We actually arrived at Hamilton Island and did a half day Whitsundays tour before catching a flight from PPP the next day. Because of that, we needed to stay in Airlie for the night rather than back at Hamilton. We picked Airlie beach YHA because of the location. We were able to get picked up from the Dominos next door... More 

Helpful?
Thank dismie
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2016

I stayed at 6 share male with private bathroom for 5 nights. Rooms and bathrooms were clean and tidy, also kitchen and common areas were kept clean all the time. They have big fridge and locker for food storage, air-con in each room and common areas, swimming pool, free wifi in common area, a large amount of movie (Borrow from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shun1091

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.5 km away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#18 of 53 in Airlie Beach
402 reviews
0.2 km away
Magnums Backpackers
Magnums Backpackers
#31 of 53 in Airlie Beach
419 reviews
0.1 km away
Airlie Court Holiday Units
Airlie Court Holiday Units
#26 of 53 in Airlie Beach
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#33 of 53 in Airlie Beach
449 reviews
0.3 km away
Beaches Backpackers
Beaches Backpackers
#49 of 53 in Airlie Beach
165 reviews
1.8 km away
Bush Village Budget Cabins
Bush Village Budget Cabins
#4 of 8 in Cannonvale
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Airlie Beach YHA backpackers hostel is located in the centre of Airlie Beach close to the swimming lagoon, restaurants, cafes and nightlife that Airlie has to offer. The hostel offers multi-share, double and twin rooms with private balconies. All hostel rooms are air-conditioned and the twin and double rooms have shared bathroom facilities with only one other room. Backpackers facilities include swimming pool, tour desk, free Wi-Fi Hot Spot (Wi-Fi Plus also available), kitchen, laundry, dining and TV room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Airlie Beach YHA

Address: 394 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Price Range: €41 - €67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Airlie Beach YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Airlie Beach YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airlie Beach Yha Hotel Airlie Beach
Airlie Beach YHA Whitsunday Islands, Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Airlie Beach YHA staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I could see the ocean from room 7 (private room)”
 of 5 bubbles powellmark, 7 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Check air-conditioning before reception closes for the night”
 of 5 bubbles CourtenayG_12, 8 Sep 2014 | Read review
“I will recommend you to stay on the top floor to have a better view of the yard from your own balcony, if you don't have many luggages to take upstairs ...:)”
 of 5 bubbles dearmeng, 10 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Dorms are great. They all have balconies which was a nice surprise.”
 of 5 bubbles UK_all_the_way1984, 22 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Do NOT stay in a double room! We were in room 1 (i think)”
 of 5 bubbles sydneyannak3, 19 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay