We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Beaches Backpackers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Beaches Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Beaches Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 162: English reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

This is a top place, awesome spot, staff are fantastic, food is amazing, It has pool tables, cheep meals and lots of events. The drinks are really well priced and I would defiantly recommend going here and just hanging out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William L
KIM D, General Manager at Beaches Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello William, Thank you for your awesome review, and I will pass your feedback on to our bar & grill! The staff work really hard to ensure that all of our customers have a great time, and its great to hear you would recommend us. Enjoy the rest of your travels!

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Great location, right in the centre of the strip and a 2 minute walk from the lagoon. It is a little bit noisy as its attached to beaches bar but nothing that was unexpected. The bedroom was clean but the bathroom was a bit grim and smelly. You got 50% off voucher every night for the restaurant which was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Courtney K
KIM D, General Manager at Beaches Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey Courtney, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and providing the feedback to help us improve. We agree with you - we have a great location and I’m glad you could take advantage of our 50% off meal deal. I will pass your feedback on to the housekeeping team and ask them to be a little...

Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for the worst three nights of my life the staff are so rude the rooms are above a bar and the music plays loud throughout the hostel all night every night the staff just moan and are so unhelpful the kitchen has a tiny sink and two cookers but there's loads of people at a time definitely wouldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen O
BeachesBackpackersAB, Front Office Manager at Beaches Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Stephen, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It is disappointing to us that you feel you had a ‘holiday from hell’ in our hostel that has the best location in the Whitsundays. We are a party hostel as advertised. Our bar closes at 12am so all guests are able to get to sleep even if...

Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Even though it's cheap, it is not worth it. My dorm was right by the "bar/pub" so it was so loud ! Even with the balcony door closed. The room was clean but it was first hostel so far on my 8 month journey that I've had to make up my own hostel bed with the sheets. Seems a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica D
KIM D, General Manager at Beaches Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Jessica L, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate the positive comments regarding cleanliness and I am glad you to hear enjoyed our meal deal, all of our guests love this! As you have acknowledged these good points, reviewing us as “awful” seems a little harsh! As all guests are aware from our...

Airlie Beach, Australia
Reviewed 18 October 2016

just popped in for a meal,really great value , great bar , full of packpackers having fun and lots of people from a cruise ship enjoying lunch , meal deal includes a drink, the best we've found. You must eat there when you're in airlie beach

 Report
Helpful?
Thank greg k
KIM D, General Manager at Beaches Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Greg K, Thank you for your lovely review, and I will pass your feedback on to our bar and grill. I'm so glad you enjoyed your meal and the atmosphere here, please come back again!

Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here after a trip to the Whitsundays. Very spacious room with balcony included, clean and ensuite was also roomy. Has a bar and grill connected which meant we were entitled to 50% all food, and the portions were very good! Only downside was the rudeness of the staff. From the moment of entering the hostel, the reception staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elle P
KIM D, General Manager at Beaches Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Elle P, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor, and for your lovely comments about the rooms. We are really pleased that you enjoyed the meal deal – everyone LOVES it! We take the safekeeping of guests belongings very seriously, and secure storage is only accessible with a staff member at certain times because...

kettering
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

I was a little disappointed with this place . Yeah wasn't the most expensive but having stayed there felt it should've cost less . My room couldn't have been closer to the bar without being in it . Which was noisy until late which when you have to be up early to go on whitsundays islands trips isn't the best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bigpaddy
KIM D, General Manager at Beaches Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Bigpaddy, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review, and sorry to hear you were a little disappointed with your stay. We are a “party hostel,” and our popular bar and grill is open from 12pm-12am every day. Considering this, and from looking at your other reviews, it appears you tend to stay mostly at hotels and...

Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

Don't go there. It's an absolute mess, staff is absolutely unhelpful, your food gets stolen from the fridge an no one cares, the air conditioning only works in 30% of rooms and it's noisy as hell 24/7... So do yourself a favour and check in somewhere else, even if you have to pay a little bit more.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank J-Strawtman
KIM D, General Manager at Beaches Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello J-Strawtman, Thank you for your review, and sorry you had your food stolen - it is always a bit of a gamble to leave food in a shared fridge and it appears that in this instance you seem to have had bad luck with another backpacker. It’s very rare this happens, however please be assured that the staff do...

Bielefeld, Germany
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

The beds squeak with every movement. The matresses are so thin that you can feel the spirals in your back. The bathrooms are old and the shower is in a bathtub. Everything is old. Drunk people who piss on your stuff. The only good thing about the hostel is the restaurant/bar which belongs to the hostel. You get a great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Malwinchen001
KIM D, General Manager at Beaches Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Malwinchen001, Thank you for your review, and I am sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay at Beaches. I have checked our communications and maintenance logs, and we have no record of anyone advising us that they have had any problems with any of the mattresses. It’s a pity you didn’t let anyone know, as had you reported this we...

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Only booked this as I had a $14 voucher from Happy Travels. It's a basic hostel which accommodates party groups quite well. If I had known this before coming then I would have stayed somewhere else as I had to be up early for a Whitsundays trip and I needed an early night, which did not happen. But this is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lozalpops
KIM D, General Manager at Beaches Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Lozalpops, Thank you for your taking the time to write an informative review. We are a “party” hostel and are advertised as such, and our popular bar and grill is open from 12pm-12am every day. The travels agents who book us are aware of this, so it’s a pity that this information wasn’t passed on to you. However, the...

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.2 km away
Magnums Backpackers
Magnums Backpackers
#29 of 54 in Airlie Beach
450 reviews
0.2 km away
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
#40 of 54 in Airlie Beach
514 reviews
0.8 km away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#22 of 54 in Airlie Beach
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#30 of 54 in Airlie Beach
476 reviews
0.3 km away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#31 of 54 in Airlie Beach
182 reviews
0.1 km away
Whitsunday on the Beach
Whitsunday on the Beach
#7 of 10 in Airlie Beach
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A perfect location, affordable accommodation, friendly staff and an in-house bar with nightly entertainment makes Beaches the best place to stay in Airlie. Free wi-fi is available ... more   less 

Additional Information about Beaches Backpackers

Address: 356 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Price Range: €23 - €59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beaches Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beaches Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches Airlie Beach Hotel Airlie Beach
South Beach Beaches
Beaches Backpackers Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands, Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Beaches Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a double”
denrose5760, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“go for the 8 bed”
ThriftyBusiness, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“i recommend chicken parma from the bar!”
ollieb572, 21 Feb 2016 | Read review
“If booking an ensuite try and get room P2 then you can log in to Happy Travels wifi for free”
hollyt27, 11 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Ask about the evening program at the club/pub (beaches) next door if you are interested in a good night rest. Or in a good night out ;)”
Leeuw605, 11 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5