We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Beaches Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Beaches Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

173 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 153: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

As far as a budget hostel goes, you get what you get. The location is really good, close to everything in the town. The rooms were ok, not too dirty although the bathroom could use some cleaning. Common areas were fine. No wifi which really sucked, even at the restaurant it was spotty at best. But we were glad for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
Bluff, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The pros of the hostel include its location (as it is close to pretty much everything), the cheap rooms, having discounted meals to the Bar and Grill every night (which were very filling), the Bar and Grill having decent live acts and good waitstaff, nice receptionists and free car parking. Another pro is that troublemakers are quickly dealt with/kicked out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
KIM D, General Manager at Beaches Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Laura, Thank you for your review! We’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that your group made the most of our great deals and entertainment in the Bar and Grill! We are very close to everything in Airlie Beach which makes us a very convenient location for enjoying all that the town has to offer. As you...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

All rooms are en suite which we found to be very annoying. The shower is tiny. All of our actual douve covers you get to sleep absolutely stunk. We asked the cleaner if they were changed and she said once a week which is gross!! She even agreed that this is disgusting but didn't have a say in it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jordan R
KIM D, General Manager at Beaches Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Jordan, We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time here. The en suite bathrooms are one of the most popular features of our rooms as guests don’t have to leave their dorm room to use the facilities. We do also have communal bathrooms on the property. If you had of come down to speak to reception...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked here as a jumping off point to get to whitehaven beach (the tours leave early). Bar adjacent to the rooms has terrible music blasting until 12am and then you get the fantastic experience of listening to drunks arguing after closing. The wifi is very good but you need to pay extra for it. The kitchen had 4 chairs in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SimonJulieTravel
KIM D, General Manager at Beaches Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Simon and Julie, As Beaches backpackers is a party hostel we do have live music, events and games in our bar every night to keep our guests entertained. We do try to book a variety of live performers to meet different musical tastes and we are sorry that you didn’t enjoy the performer on the evening that you stayed...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here on several occasions during my time in Airlie Beach. The location is great right in the center of town and there is views out to the ocean and lagoon from some balconies. Rooms are spacious and cleaned everyday. There is a bar downstairs which you get great deals if you stay in the hostel like 50% off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrian N
KIM D, General Manager at Beaches Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Adrian, Thank you so much for your awesome review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time spent here at Beaches! Glad you were able to enjoy our perfect location, $7.50 in house meal deal & the great entertainment our bar has to offer every night of the week! We would love to have you back if you...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at beaches backpackers over the Christmas weekend and I have to say the place is terrible. First of all the bus terminal you will be dropped at is atleast a 20 minute walk away from the hostel. This doesn't sound a great deal but most travellers will have a number of heavy bags to carry and over that distance...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liam R
KIM D, Manager at Beaches Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Liam, We are extremely sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us, especially over the holiday period. The greyhound bus terminal is a short, 15 minute walk from the hostel and is serviced by the local Whitsunday Transit bus service which stops every half hour and drops passengers conveniently off 50m from the Beaches reception. Alternatively there is...

Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 8 December 2016

I booked here because it was the cheapest place in Airlie. Like most backpackers, it's a little rough around the edges, but it's still better than some places I've stayed. Check in was friendly and efficient. The room is very spacious with good air con and includes an extra sink and storage area, and a balcony with a sea view,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ThriftyBusiness
BeachesBackpackersAB, Manager at Beaches Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Thriftybusiness, Thank you for your awesome review! We’re really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our 50% off meal deal for in-house guests is a great deal so it’s good that you took advantage of that and that you enjoyed our live music. We are a party hostel so we have something on in the bar every...

Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

I stayed here because I had a Happy Travels voucher - but wouldn't have done so if I didn't. It is very dirty - both the kitchen and the rooms (including grimy bathrooms). I stayed in two separate rooms and both were equally revolting. The air con isn't very strong and the beds are extremely uncomfortable. To top this off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ibby T
KIM D, General Manager at Beaches Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Ibby, Thank you for your review. We are surprised to hear that you found the staff rude as we pride ourselves on being friendly and happy to help wherever possible. Beaches is the hostel of choice for most backpackers travelling to Airlie Beach as we provide budget accommodation in a perfect location. Our rooms are thoroughly cleaned each day,...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

1 toilet to share with 10 people which is in the same room as the cramped shower, not handy. Had to ask for the bathroom to be cleaned as it was disgusting. No free wifi which is unfortunate as it is something most travellers look for. Took one look at the kitchen and didn't venture in as it looked dirty....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicola F
KIM D, General Manager at Beaches Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Nicola, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. What a pity you didn’t take on board the information our reception staff gave when they checked you in or read through the detailed information sheet you are given! Both inform you that there is free wifi is available in our bar area, and that you can get...

Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

Never ever again will I stay here. They were cockroaches in the bathroom, ants everywhere, bad air conditioning, super loud bar outside which made it impossible to sleep. After party's in the dorms. The kitchen closed at 9 pm?!! And it was super bad. Dirty, not enough plates and forks. Just uh. Only thing good was the nice reception.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma P
KIM D, General Manager at Beaches Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Emma P, Thank you for your review and I am sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay at Beaches, however we really appreciate your positive mention about our friendly reception staff. We are a “party” hostel, and our popular bar and grill is open 12pm-12am every day although the music is turned off at midnight every night...

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.8 km away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#20 of 54 in Airlie Beach
407 reviews
0.1 km away
Magnums Backpackers
Magnums Backpackers
#30 of 54 in Airlie Beach
431 reviews
0.0 km away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#38 of 54 in Airlie Beach
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#37 of 54 in Airlie Beach
173 reviews
0.2 km away
Base Airlie Beach Resort
Base Airlie Beach Resort
#40 of 54 in Airlie Beach
494 reviews
0.2 km away
Airlie Court Holiday Units
Airlie Court Holiday Units
#25 of 54 in Airlie Beach
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A perfect location, affordable accommodation, friendly staff and an in-house bar with nightly entertainment makes Beaches the best place to stay in Airlie. Free wi-fi is available ... more   less 

Additional Information about Beaches Backpackers

Address: 356 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Price Range: €25 - €55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beaches Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Beaches Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches Airlie Beach Hotel Airlie Beach
South Beach Beaches
Beaches Backpackers Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands, Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Beaches Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“go for the 8 bed”
 of 5 bubbles ThriftyBusiness, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“i recommend chicken parma from the bar!”
 of 5 bubbles ollieb572, 21 Feb 2016 | Read review
“If booking an ensuite try and get room P2 then you can log in to Happy Travels wifi for free”
 of 5 bubbles hollyt27, 11 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Ask about the evening program at the club/pub (beaches) next door if you are interested in a good night rest. Or in a good night out ;)”
 of 5 bubbles Leeuw605, 11 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Top floor private room”
 of 5 bubbles 949charlottee, 14 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay