We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Beaches Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Beaches Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 147: English reviews
Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I booked here because it was the cheapest place in Airlie. Like most backpackers, it's a little rough around the edges, but it's still better than some places I've stayed. Check in was friendly and efficient. The room is very spacious with good air con and includes an extra sink and storage area, and a balcony with a sea view,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ThriftyBusiness
BeachesBackpackersAB, Manager at Beaches Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Thriftybusiness, Thank you for your awesome review! We’re really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our 50% off meal deal for in-house guests is a great deal so it’s good that you took advantage of that and that you enjoyed our live music. We are a party hostel so we have something on in the bar every...

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed here because I had a Happy Travels voucher - but wouldn't have done so if I didn't. It is very dirty - both the kitchen and the rooms (including grimy bathrooms). I stayed in two separate rooms and both were equally revolting. The air con isn't very strong and the beds are extremely uncomfortable. To top this off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ibby T
KIM D, General Manager at Beaches Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Ibby, Thank you for your review. We are surprised to hear that you found the staff rude as we pride ourselves on being friendly and happy to help wherever possible. Beaches is the hostel of choice for most backpackers travelling to Airlie Beach as we provide budget accommodation in a perfect location. Our rooms are thoroughly cleaned each day,...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

1 toilet to share with 10 people which is in the same room as the cramped shower, not handy. Had to ask for the bathroom to be cleaned as it was disgusting. No free wifi which is unfortunate as it is something most travellers look for. Took one look at the kitchen and didn't venture in as it looked dirty....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicola F
KIM D, General Manager at Beaches Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Nicola, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. What a pity you didn’t take on board the information our reception staff gave when they checked you in or read through the detailed information sheet you are given! Both inform you that there is free wifi is available in our bar area, and that you can get...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Never ever again will I stay here. They were cockroaches in the bathroom, ants everywhere, bad air conditioning, super loud bar outside which made it impossible to sleep. After party's in the dorms. The kitchen closed at 9 pm?!! And it was super bad. Dirty, not enough plates and forks. Just uh. Only thing good was the nice reception.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma P
KIM D, General Manager at Beaches Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Emma P, Thank you for your review and I am sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay at Beaches, however we really appreciate your positive mention about our friendly reception staff. We are a “party” hostel, and our popular bar and grill is open 12pm-12am every day although the music is turned off at midnight every night...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

With a stunning view of the beach from our room balcony, the central location in Airlie Beach, & nevertheless the great food at the bar below (meals for only $7.50 with the discount); Beaches lived up to every expectation myself & 5 other friends had for the duration of the stay. We originally were informed & recommended of this backpackers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stewy L
KIM D, General Manager at Beaches Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Stewy L, Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so pleased to here that you enjoyed your stay at Beaches, and we loved having you guys here. Come back and stay again soon!

Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

This is a top place, awesome spot, staff are fantastic, food is amazing, It has pool tables, cheep meals and lots of events. The drinks are really well priced and I would defiantly recommend going here and just hanging out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William L
KIM D, General Manager at Beaches Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello William, Thank you for your awesome review, and I will pass your feedback on to our bar & grill! The staff work really hard to ensure that all of our customers have a great time, and its great to hear you would recommend us. Enjoy the rest of your travels!

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Great location, right in the centre of the strip and a 2 minute walk from the lagoon. It is a little bit noisy as its attached to beaches bar but nothing that was unexpected. The bedroom was clean but the bathroom was a bit grim and smelly. You got 50% off voucher every night for the restaurant which was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Courtney K
KIM D, General Manager at Beaches Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey Courtney, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and providing the feedback to help us improve. We agree with you - we have a great location and I’m glad you could take advantage of our 50% off meal deal. I will pass your feedback on to the housekeeping team and ask them to be a little...

Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for the worst three nights of my life the staff are so rude the rooms are above a bar and the music plays loud throughout the hostel all night every night the staff just moan and are so unhelpful the kitchen has a tiny sink and two cookers but there's loads of people at a time definitely wouldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen O
BeachesBackpackersAB, Front Office Manager at Beaches Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Stephen, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It is disappointing to us that you feel you had a ‘holiday from hell’ in our hostel that has the best location in the Whitsundays. We are a party hostel as advertised. Our bar closes at 12am so all guests are able to get to sleep even if...

Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Even though it's cheap, it is not worth it. My dorm was right by the "bar/pub" so it was so loud ! Even with the balcony door closed. The room was clean but it was first hostel so far on my 8 month journey that I've had to make up my own hostel bed with the sheets. Seems a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica D
KIM D, General Manager at Beaches Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Jessica L, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate the positive comments regarding cleanliness and I am glad you to hear enjoyed our meal deal, all of our guests love this! As you have acknowledged these good points, reviewing us as “awful” seems a little harsh! As all guests are aware from our...

Airlie Beach, Australia
Reviewed 18 October 2016

just popped in for a meal,really great value , great bar , full of packpackers having fun and lots of people from a cruise ship enjoying lunch , meal deal includes a drink, the best we've found. You must eat there when you're in airlie beach

 Report
Helpful?
Thank greg k
KIM D, General Manager at Beaches Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Greg K, Thank you for your lovely review, and I will pass your feedback on to our bar and grill. I'm so glad you enjoyed your meal and the atmosphere here, please come back again!

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 km away
Magnums Backpackers
Magnums Backpackers
#29 of 53 in Airlie Beach
420 reviews
0.8 km away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#18 of 53 in Airlie Beach
402 reviews
0.0 km away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#34 of 53 in Airlie Beach
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Base Airlie Beach Resort
Base Airlie Beach Resort
#39 of 53 in Airlie Beach
478 reviews
0.3 km away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#32 of 53 in Airlie Beach
164 reviews
0.1 km away
Whitsunday on the Beach
Whitsunday on the Beach
#6 of 9 in Airlie Beach
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A perfect location, affordable accommodation, friendly staff and an in-house bar with nightly entertainment makes Beaches the best place to stay in Airlie. Free wi-fi is available ... more   less 

Additional Information about Beaches Backpackers

Address: 356 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Price Range: €24 - €58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beaches Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Beaches Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches Airlie Beach Hotel Airlie Beach
South Beach Beaches
Beaches Backpackers Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands, Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Beaches Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“go for the 8 bed”
 of 5 bubbles ThriftyBusiness, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“i recommend chicken parma from the bar!”
 of 5 bubbles ollieb572, 21 Feb 2016 | Read review
“If booking an ensuite try and get room P2 then you can log in to Happy Travels wifi for free”
 of 5 bubbles hollyt27, 11 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Ask about the evening program at the club/pub (beaches) next door if you are interested in a good night rest. Or in a good night out ;)”
 of 5 bubbles Leeuw605, 11 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Top floor private room”
 of 5 bubbles 949charlottee, 14 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay