We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Airlie Waterfront Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Airlie Waterfront Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

160 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Airlie Waterfront Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 142: English reviews
Western Ireland, Ireland
Reviewed 3 March 2016

OMG what a place patsy and Fiona on the front desk were so helpful we booked in for 2 nights and ended up staying 5, room was ensuite with balcony very quite and most important we had air con , kitchen facilities were also good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cluainnalaoi
Reviewed 19 January 2016

Meh this place is not all its hyped up to be. No atmosphere blonde curly haired woman was a bit rude and looked as though she has forgotten how to smile. When i got to my room and pulled back the sheets on my bed they had heaps of brown stains on them which was a bit gross, when i...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maia124
Asti, Italy
Reviewed 13 October 2015

Airlie Waterfront Backpackers is one of the best places where I slept. I went there in September with my boyfriend and we had a private room. The hostel is very close to the sea and the room was nice and clean..it was perfect. The guys at the reception are very nice and helpful; they helped us to choose the daily...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarikaPiscal
Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 6 October 2015 via mobile

We stayed over night in Airlie and we got a private room in this backpackers. The rooms were super clean and had a separate bathroom and fridge. It also had a TV and comfy enough bed, private secure parking which is rare for hostels. Was very good will definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bam M
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2015

Me and my girlfriend originally planned to just stop off for a couple of weeks at in Airlie Beach but we ended up staying 3 months because we loved the hostel and Airlie so much! The staff are really friendly and helpful and are always happy to advise you on what the area has to offer and the best time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christian Y
Curtin, Australia
Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the Airlie Waterfront Backpackers 8th August till 13th August. Most enjoyable, restaurants were there within the complex. Our room was a room with a double bed and our own ensuite, clean towels everyday. Walking distance to the swimming lagoon, the ferry terminal, plenty of shops and plenty of places to eat at. Easy to make bookings for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 20holidays20
airliewaterfront, Manager at Airlie Waterfront Backpackers, responded to this review

Fantastic..... We are all happy you enjoyed your stay with us and will be more than happy to accommodate you in our large family room next year. Thank you for you positive review.

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 11 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and 4 days. However, unlike some of the previous reviews I found the front end staff grumpy and unfriendly. When I checked in I was ignored and treated poorly. Upon check out, we tried to use the storage lockers available on site however they stole our money and did not work. As I informed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jennatee
Reviewed 24 July 2015 via mobile

Waterfront Backpackers is clean and the rooms have excellent facilities: a/c, tv, bathroom ensuite. However, I passed through on my own looking for social opportunities and there is no atmosphere for that here. Only reason I wouldn't recommend it is if you're traveling solo and looking to meet people.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
airliewaterfront, Manager at Airlie Waterfront Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Robert, thank you for your positive review of our facilities. We are all saddened that you were unable to make friends. Our food court with bar is usually enough for our guests to socialise in. Had we known you needed company we would have come out to play with you. But we have taken your comments into consideration and...

Reviewed 5 July 2015 via mobile

We had booked room and when we arrived at 9 pm there wasn't key for us in the late check in box. And there wasn't any number we could have called. We had to find a new place to stay. Day after the manager was so rude and I can easily say she was worst customer servicer ever!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jyri P
airliewaterfront, Manager at Airlie Waterfront Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Jyri We here @ Airlie waterfront Backpackers are some what surprised with your negative review. As we said at the time when you booked the room you gave a bogus phone number and a bogus email number. Your response to why you would give incorrect contact information was that you didn't want to be spammed. My question to you...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2015 via mobile

I stayed in the 10 or 13 man room at waterfront backpackers and was surprisingly not that bad. Beds were comfy and room was clean. Really nice view from the 'attic room' of the boats and the sea in the morning. The only annoying thing was the showers located by the kicthen which I didn't like, however on the last...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lillie2495
airliewaterfront, Manager at Airlie Waterfront Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello lillie thank-you for your positive review of our hostel. We have taken note of your comments about the bathrooms and have put signs up to direct guests to that area. So thank you for that. If you are in the area again, we will be happy to accommodate you. Happy travels

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.6 km away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#18 of 53 in Airlie Beach
402 reviews
0.1 km away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#32 of 53 in Airlie Beach
164 reviews
0.3 km away
Beaches Backpackers
Beaches Backpackers
#49 of 53 in Airlie Beach
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Airlie Court Holiday Units
Airlie Court Holiday Units
#28 of 53 in Airlie Beach
34 reviews
0.2 km away
Magnums Backpackers
Magnums Backpackers
#29 of 53 in Airlie Beach
420 reviews
1.7 km away
Island Gateway Holiday Park
Island Gateway Holiday Park
#2 of 2 in Jubilee Pocket
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Beach Plaza with its high cathedral peaked roofs, open plan mezzanine style architecture and being uniquely positioned right on the beach off the esplanade with dramatic views of the Whitsunday Island's makes it the perfect place to visit in our beautiful Airlie Beach. We are an iconic multilevel shopping centre, filled with a variety of excellent restaurants, conference centre, business centre, en-suite hotel rooms, shops and a small upmarket backpackers hostel. We are the ideal venue to visit for all day dining as we have an array of food establishment's with great views of Airlie Beach. Airlie Waterfront Backpackers is Airlie Beach's FLASHPACKERS. Refurbished in September 2008, our hostel boasts a fantastic central location 500 meters easy walk from the bus station and only minutes away from the swimming lagoon. Located on The Esplanade, our hostel is directly opposite the beach with million dollar sea views out to Whitsunday Islands and offers a great range of budget accommodation to suit all types of backpackers and travellers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Airlie Waterfront Backpackers

Address: 6 Esplanade, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Price Range: €30 - €31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Airlie Waterfront Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Airlie Waterfront Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airlie Waterfront Backpackers Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands, Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Airlie Waterfront Backpackers staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Airlie Waterfront Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid at all costs.”
 of 5 bubbles rebeccahK6089QV, 23 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Room 4 (the loft) is really cool, 13 single beds, very comfy”
 of 5 bubbles tominaus, 14 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Rooms going further in are more quite You may choose a private room if you would like your own space Selection of dorms if you prefer to share and meet new people”
  • Airle beach  waterfront
  • Airle beach  - view outside
 of 5 bubbles Cillza, 3 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Ask to be away from the food court?”
 of 5 bubbles HollieK2013, 22 May 2014 | Read review
“If you are travelling on your own try the loft, its social and cheap! :)”
 of 5 bubbles 726gregm, 3 Nov 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay