We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Base Backpackers Airlie Beach

Booking.comUS$33*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$87*
US$33*
Great Deal
US$79*
US$79*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

521 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 455: English reviews
Start your review of Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
 Click to rate
Olsberg, Germany
Reviewed 1 week ago

My experience in this hostel wasn't the best. It might be possible that I am (age 28) too old for this hostel. I didn't choose this hostel. It was part of my tour package in Airlie Beach. My first impression was bad: very, very loud music in the entrance hall! I have a quiet voice and I was asking myself:...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina_Roesen
BASEBackpackerscrew, Assistant Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this review

Hi Sabrina_Roesen, Thanks so much for your review and for also understanding that some of our circumstances in the hostel are due to the effects of Cyclone Debbie that left extensive amounts of damage all over our town. We have been working tirelessly to fix everything as quick as possible to bring our hostel back to perfect for you. As...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited Airlie beach for my birthday weekend in April. I can't recommend Base enough for anyone stopping in Airlie Beach! The hostel is right in the middle of town (walking distance to everything) and the staff are so helpful! Henrika in reception was super friendly and gave me some awesome ideas for activities to do on my birthday! If...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
BASEBackpackerscrew, Assistant Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this review

Hi Rebecca W, Thanks for your lovely review and I'm so happy to hear you had a great time with us and got to meet our reception rock star Heni. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in the sunny Whitsundays, until then take care and safe and happy travels. Warm regards, Ali Alty Assistant Manager Base/Nomads...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited Base in airlie beach as a stopover for the Whitsundays. Base and Nomads have combined due to some damage sustained during the recent cyclone. We actually stayed in a Nomads room which was really nice, spacious and clean. The pool was right outside our room and was great. The Base kitchen unfortunately was not! There is a serious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danielle B
BASEBackpackerscrew, Assistant Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this review

Hi Danielle B, Thanks for your review, and I appreciate you acknowledging the extensive damage we sustained during the cyclone and our tireless efforts to try and return everything back to normal. We are happy to announce we are almost there. We lost a lot of our kitchen equipment, but have since replaced everything with brand new cutlery, pots and...

Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed at base before and after my whitsundays boat trip. Had a good experience both times. I stayed in a 4 bed female suite with bathroom. The bathroom was great, hot shower being a must after being at sea for 3 days. The place was clean and the staff was helpful. The shed bar was great fun, with live music...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tighehan
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this review

Hi Tighehan, Thanks very much for taking the time to leave us a review. Hope your Whitsunday trip was incredible. Thanks for noticing how hard the staff are still all working to try and get everything up and running. We are definitely still not 100% but we're trying to make sure that everyone's stay is still spectacular. Hopefully the rest...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

DISGUSTING. No wifi. No aircon. No tv. No pool. Yellow stained bed & bed sheets. Rock hard bed. Gross, old, lumpy & stained pillows. Dirty & unclean shower. Suss stained bathroom mirror. Broken & dodgy kitchen sink tap. Curtains that don't provide full privacy. Sandpaper-like toilet paper. Broken room door lock. Worst customer service Old & gross. Trailer park trash-like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm guessing based on the time of review that you have stayed with us just after Cyclone Debbie tore through our town. We are extremely sorry that all our facilities aren't up and running as normal but we are doing our very best to clean everything up and...

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 2 April 2017

Base Airlie Beach Resort Hostel is the most disgusting hostel I've ever been to. The air was smelling moldy - the reason was probably the mold spread all over the ceiling. Staying there is definitely not healthy. When I arrived as the first person in the room the bin was full of garbage and the shower (moldy as well) was...

Review collected in partnership with statravel.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marisa L
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this review

Hi Marisa L, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. It highlights for us the areas we need to improve on, as sometimes we miss the small things. It seems this time we've missed lots. I can't apologise enough. Airlie Beach and the Whitsundays we believe is the most beautiful part of the world and we think...

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

Me & my boyfriend stayed here for one night (thankfully no longer!) on our trip around Australia. I have to say this is the worst accommodation I've ever stayed in. Walking up to the room I thought it looked quite big & might be nice. Once we went in it was far from it. The room was disgusting, it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leanne P
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this review

Hi LeanneP, Although your accommodation experience with us in Airlie Beach was far from anything we'd like to be renowned for I hope it hasn't ruined your Airlie Beach or Australian experience. We take everything our guests have to say very seriously especially when we seem to have missed the mark by so far. We've had to send maintenance around...

Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

If you're looking for a nice and cosy hostel, don't go here. There is always a long queue at the reception (def understaffed). When the staff finally helps you out they are so rude and cranky, not feeling welcome at all. Dirty bed sheets, dirty bathroom, dirty kitchen area (cockroaches everywhere). One of those places where the focus is on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martedh
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this review

Hi Martedh, I appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review, and let me start with a sorry. None of what you listed in your review is how we are trying to run our property. Our company mantra is to provide a safe clean and fun environment for you to enjoy, and it would seem we have missed...

Reviewed 11 March 2017

Amazing air con rooms (I stayed in two different rooms, both 6 dorm) rooms them selves were clean with god floor space, the bathrooms however could do with an upgrade. they are big but feel dirty. good sized kitchen and eating area very good location at the top of all the shops, bars and near the lagoon

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gina D
AllyAlty, Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this review

Hi Gina, Thanks for your review and we are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We have an awesome location with everything so close, which is one of the things that makes our accommodation so popular. I hope that next time you visit the beautiful Whitsundays that you will return to Base to see all of...

Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

When we booked this accomadtion on booking.com we were told that it was a hotel. When we arrived we realised it was a hostel. The reviews we read said it was a quiet place to stay... totally wrong! The place was rammed full of people at every hour of the day. The pictures of the rooms we saw led us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ionalangridge
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this review

Hi ionalangridge, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm sorry the venue wasn't advertised correctly on booking.com , as soon as i finish this response i will contact booking.com to clarify as it's not fair for you get misinformation before you even arrive. That's our fault, we should have been constantly checking the information being passed...

122 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (89)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 km away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#28 of 54 in Airlie Beach
492 reviews
0.9 km away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#21 of 54 in Airlie Beach
420 reviews
0.1 km away
Beaches Backpackers
Beaches Backpackers
#49 of 54 in Airlie Beach
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#34 of 54 in Airlie Beach
183 reviews
0.3 km away
Magnums Backpackers
Magnums Backpackers
#27 of 54 in Airlie Beach
459 reviews
0.1 km away
Whitsunday on the Beach
Whitsunday on the Beach
#8 of 10 in Airlie Beach
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach has gained a reputation for their stylish rooms, friendly local crew and a fun social atmosphere all in one great central location in Airlie Beach. The hostel accommodation is set amongst 6 acres of tropical gardens with an outdoor swimming pool right in the heart of Airlie Beach. Only 50m to the lagoon, the cafes, bars and shops are on the doorstep and the Abel Point Marina is just a stroll away. We have beds for all budgets - meet other travellers in our clean, comfortable multi-share rooms, all with ensuite and air-conditioning, or treat yourself to a private room with your own corner bath, fridge, air-conditioning, kitchenette & complimentary tea and coffee in the room. We also have loads of camping sites & campervan parks. Base Backpackers Airlie Beach is set up to be your ideal gateway to the Whitsunday Islands National Park with 74 islands and Whitehaven Beach rated as one of the top 10 beaches in the world only a short boat trip away. Off street car park and car/campervan parking while you sail, air-conditioning in ALL the rooms, fully equipped communal kitchen, internet lounge & wireless internet in every room (Global Gossip), fully air-conditioned TV lounge, secure overnight/day luggage storage, BBQ facilities, 24 hour coin operated laundry, fully licensed travel desk to help organise your time in Airlie Beach, EVERYTHING you need in one location! Our onsite Bar serves up the best the best food, and incredible drinks at backpacker prices! Open daily for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner at the best prices intown. Nightly entertainment 7 days a week!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Base Backpackers Airlie Beach

Address: 336 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Price Range: €28 - €61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Backpackers Airlie Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Base Backpackers Airlie Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach Whitsunday Islands, Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Base Backpackers Airlie Beach staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Townsville, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Base Backpackers Airlie Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms by the base pool are nice!!”
kythem2014, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms from other hostels and hotels are better.”
  • You'll never be alone in this bathroom.
, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try to ensure you get what you pay for”
Judigirls, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“ALWAYS book in advance! even if in a camper van”
_shadowofauroura, 14 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Get a room that has been cleaned - not sure if it's possible??”
  • Room not made up...
  • Room when we first arrived.... NOT cleaned...
QLD-T-Traveller, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$33* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$79
Orbitz.comUS$79
CancelonUS$87
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates