We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

449 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 390: English reviews
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, United States
Reviewed 6 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed here in January 2016 whilst travelling the East Coast. Very basic rooms. Swimming pool is average. As a solo female traveller I found the rooms to be too isolated with absolutely no lighting at night time. As well as that the rooms are completely separate to the reception/kitchen area & anyone can just walk in. Would not recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
kelsastar79, General Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Emma, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. They are very helpful to find our what we are doing well at and not so well at. I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us, yes we are a resort style property but we do have security on every evening & there is lighting...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 27 December 2015

Met the best people staying at this lodge, so close to the heart of Airlie didn't have to catch one taxi everything is within a 5 minute walk, the rooms were clean, friendly and helpful staff. Will definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Breanna L
kelsastar79, General Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey & thanks for leaving such a fab review. This is what Airlie Beach is about, having a great time & making new friends. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to meeting you when you get the chance to come back. I hope you are enjoying the rest of your travel and get the chance to stay...

Sao Leopoldo, RS
Reviewed 20 December 2015

The rooms are like cottages. Each room has enough space for each of the occupant's mess. There are electrical outlets for everyone in the room. Two showers, one sink and one toilet. Clean enough. There's a pool, which I never used, since we were only there to sleep. Oh, and though there are parties around, the sound didn't reach my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara_Tae
kelsastar79, General Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey Sara, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in Airlie Beach & hope you had a fantastic Whitsundays trip. If you get the chance to come to Airlie Beach again I hope you pop in and say hi. Enjoy the rest of your travels. Cheers...

Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 December 2015 via mobile

Decent double room stay in Nomads. Very very basic but having a large sized room was good. The walls are white bricked and give off a dull vibe but you have your own private bathroom and kitchenette area. The bed was pretty comfy and aircon worked well. Cheap and cheerful, If you don't expect too much you will be happy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank darrylgreen
kelsastar79, General Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey Darryl, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm happy to see you enjoyed your stay & get the chance to visit us and the Whitsundays again sometime soon. Happy Travels Kellie | GM Nomads Airlie Beach

Reviewed 3 December 2015

Very dirty. Kitchen, bathrooms even the rooms itself are very dirty. Also staff is very rude and seems to be overwhelmed most of the time. Also it's a party hostel right next to a pub. Only good things: Central, free wifi (slow) and right next to Whoolies.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julia R
kelsastar79, General Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Julia, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, they do help us a lot by letting me know what we are doing right & not so right. We do have staff that clean the common areas over 3 times a day unfortunately some fellow travellers do not know how to clean up after themselves and the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 December 2015

Base and Nomads are apparently now connected to form one giant hostel complex. The 8 bed room was very spacious, as was the ensuite bathroom. Airlie is only a small town so all conveniences and the lagoon are only a couple of minutes walking distance. My only small gripes was that the wifi didnt reach the room which the person...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChrisT1211
kelsastar79, General Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Chris, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in Airlie Beach. Our WiFi is run through Global Gossip and I have contacted them about the reception strength through out the hostel, so hopefully that should be sorted. Now we are coming into the quieter season all...

Cumbria, UK
Reviewed 27 November 2015 via mobile

When you check in... Most of the staff are rude, we were served by a cool Aussie guy who was really polite and helpful, but we heard the other girls behind check in being rude and unapproachable to our friends checking in next to us - we spoke to a lot of other people who said the same thing. Toilets...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheJollyFarmers_1
kelsastar79, General Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for leaving us a review... I am upset you didn't enjoy your stay, I can assure that our bathrooms / kitchens are cleaned 3 times a day but unfortunately other guests do not leave them in the right state after using them which can ruin it for all other guests like yourselves. We do pride ourselves in having...

Mission Beach, Australia
Reviewed 22 November 2015

I really enjoyed staying at this hostel, but the only downside was the kitchen (next to the shed bar) Every time I went to cook, the kitchen was filthy. Never any kitchen towels in there to dry up with, flies everywhere, and red ants everywhere. I noticed this after I stored my dry food on one of the shelves and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chaz007123
kelsastar79, General Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, And thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in Airlie Beach. I can assure you that the kitchen is cleaned 3 times a day but sometime other guests can mess it up very quickly. I will however have a chat to House keeping about the tea...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 19 November 2015

I stayed here recently and was blown away with the cleanliness and space of Nomads. The rooms were clean and so spacious. with four people in one room, we didn't feel cramped or over crowded at all. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the grounds were absolutely stunning. If you are looking for somewhere affordable and clean in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaliaaaBennett
kelsastar79, General Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey Mal, thanks for taking the time to leave us such a great review. I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope you come back and visit again soon. Happy Travels Kellie | GM Nomads Airlie Beach

Australia
Reviewed 18 November 2015

We arrived not realising there was a music festival on....how cool is that and we were still able to be graciously accommodated by the team at Nomads. Thru the hustle and bustle of languages and frustrations, the crew handled it beautifully and always with a smile. We had a 3 man tent, set up within 10 minutes and then head...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LXO
kelsastar79, General Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey, Thanks for leaving such a great review. I am so happy you enjoyed your time with us, I find it such an amazing place to come and work every day..so its always great when other guests love it just as much as we do. I hope you get the chance to visit again, maybe even next year for the...

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 km away
Base Airlie Beach Resort
Base Airlie Beach Resort
#39 of 53 in Airlie Beach
478 reviews
0.8 km away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#18 of 53 in Airlie Beach
402 reviews
0.1 km away
Magnums Backpackers
Magnums Backpackers
#29 of 53 in Airlie Beach
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#32 of 53 in Airlie Beach
164 reviews
0.0 km away
Beaches Backpackers
Beaches Backpackers
#49 of 53 in Airlie Beach
166 reviews
0.1 km away
Whitsunday on the Beach
Whitsunday on the Beach
#6 of 9 in Airlie Beach
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers

Address: 354 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Price Range: €38 - €70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers Whitsunday Islands, Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay away if you can't sleep with ongoing noise throughout the night, it's more a backpackers after all.”
 of 5 bubbles 767steffeng, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Wifi only in reception”
 of 5 bubbles loveshotels4, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stay somewhere with competent staff.”
 of 5 bubbles 202carolynl, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
“higher number mean further from the entrance, thus further from noise”
 of 5 bubbles Sara_Tae, 20 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Tent had heaps of room, was away from the crowd in a tent at p12 and it was comfy”
 of 5 bubbles LXO, 17 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay