We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

37 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 36: English reviews
Start your review of Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA
 Click to rate
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was ok with air-con and was good to have two lockers, although I only needed one. Staff was very friendly and helpful to pick me up and drive back to the Greyhound bus stop. Staff also answered to my questions about Kununurra and provided a lot of information and a map. The hostel's location was perfect and it looked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matleena K
Kimberley C, Front Office Manager at Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you are still disappointed with us at Kimberley Croc YHA and that we weren't able to rectify the issues from your review through YHA. We do employ staff to clean the facilities daily but as you will be aware there are many guests staying with us and facilities are used constantly throughout the day....

Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Was bitten by the manager's dog while coming in one afternoon and was made to feel like it was my fault. I am a Registered Nurse and was just walking past the pool area when her dog ran up to me and tried to take a chunk out of my leg. I stayed there for 3 weeks, prepaid for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nurseron
Kimberley C, Owner at Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA, responded to this review

Hello, We are dismayed to see that you have chosen to leave this review 3 years after your stay with us at Kimberley Croc YHA. We had no idea this was an ongoing issue for you and believed we had dealt with it to your satisfaction 3 years ago. I would like to clarify 2 points in your review: 1....

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Based in the centre of Kununurra the Kimberly Croc offers a stay bunk to backpackers travelling WA. The hostel is modern with decent cooking facilities and offers good rates for those who pay weekly. I would point out that most of the people staying here are working backpackers trying to gain their second year on the visa so it's quiet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ollievb
Kimberley C, Owner at Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your time to do this. Yes, Solenne is a diamond - what a wonderful way to describe her! We do try with in our ability to keep the hostel clean but unfortunately not everyone shares our sense of cleanliness. Thank you for understanding that we do try to address this. Safe travelling and...

Reviewed 2 November 2016

For sure not the best YHA in AUstralia! Most of the people here are long-term people with all that involves...The really bad thing, was that they have only 3 commons toilets, and one just break down when i stayed there (just one night!). Hopefully the room was comfortable, spacious and had good aircon which is a MUST DO in Kununurra....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alquedyal
Kimberley C, Manager at Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. It is pleasing to hear that you found our rooms comfortable and that you enjoyed the air-conditioning that we provide. I did find that guests were not doing the right thing in regards to what they were smoking, but we asked them to leave once I found out - I...

Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

Its the worst hostel i have ever been in australia. the bathrooms are dirty, the workers do not clean properply. the staff is rude and not friendly at all. you have to pay for the cooking pots and pans. im still waiting for the money. and the kitchen is closed. its a working hostel thats fine but they drink at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
Kimberley Croc L, Manager at Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. That is disappointing for us as we try for all guests to enjoy there stay. In regards to the staff being rude, that is not our policy and please contact me in regards to which staff member as it is not acceptable to the organisation. I would like...

Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

The hostel is very beautiful and has a strong nature feel to it with lots of plants and trees all around. Nick, the guy on reception when we arrived was hilarious and gave us a fantastically warm welcome. The hostel is chilled out and the rooms are a good size with great amounts of storage. This hostel would be ideal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fiona r
Kimberley Croc L, Manager at Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, it is heart warming to hear as all the staff try their hardest to provide for guest satisfaction during their stay. I have passed your comments onto Nick and he was very happy to hear your praise. Especially so as Nick is usually our groundsman, and had stepped up to help out during a...

Province of Brescia, Italy
Reviewed 10 May 2016

I stayed at croc backpackers for 8 days. Hostel is very clean, the staff are very polite and other guests are very friendly and nice. It is near the supermarket and visitor centre information. It's very good hostel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank giuly1506
LisaSpackman, Owner at Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA, responded to this review

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff were polite. I will pass this onto them as they all do try very hard to keep the facilities clean and to be helpful to the guests. As an owner, it is wonderful to hear your feedback - thank you for taking the time to do...

Reviewed 9 April 2016 via mobile

I stayed at Croc's for 2 weeks. The hostel is nice, just the kitchen a bit messy. A big minus was the owner - she regularly came in the evening to kick out everybody who wasn't living there. You weren't allowed to have fun and hang around, because it "is annoying for other guests", which wasn't true, because nobody was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hannes G
LisaSpackman, Owner at Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA, responded to this review

Hi Hannes, Thank you for taking the time to put on a review. It is good to see that you enjoyed the hostel and its facilities, so thank you - as my staff and I have put in a lot of time and effort to provide those surroundings and rooms. You were asked to leave at 7pm after you left...

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2015

We stayed at the Croc backpackers back in august for 6 weeks. This hostel is clean, welcoming and offers a home from home experience. Any issue whether it be a big issue or a small one was dealt with professionally by the couple managing the hostel. Great amenities close within 150m so the Croc is the best place to be!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank benward14510
Kimberley Croc L, Front Office Manager at Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA - it is appreciated. I will pass on your comments, as it will make the teams day! Safe travelling and we look forward to having you back to stay with us if you are ever in Kununurra again during your travels. Regards, Zoe.

Reviewed 15 August 2015 via mobile

I recomend this backpacker. Good place (in front of tavern and bottle Shop /1 min from the coles) I stay 5 month and on the begining I doesn’t spoke english, and the managers (solene and olivier) help me for learn. You have a good parti the friday inside the backpacker and After the work (2.30 pm) every body drink à...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat G
Kimberley Croc L, Front Office Manager at Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA - it is appreciated. I will pass on your comments, as it will make the teams day! Safe travelling and we look forward to having you back to stay with us if you are ever in Kununurra again during your travels. regards, Zoe.

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kununurra hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Kununurra
Hotel Kununurra
#9 of 10 in Kununurra
57 reviews
1.3 km away
Freshwater East Kimberley Apartments
0.4 km away
Kununurra Country Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Ibis Styles Kununurra
Ibis Styles Kununurra
#7 of 10 in Kununurra
169 reviews
0.3 km away
Kimberley Croc Motel
Kimberley Croc Motel
#5 of 10 in Kununurra
83 reviews
0.5 km away
Wunan House
Wunan House
#1 of 2 in Kununurra
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA in Kununurra, Western Australia is perfect for travellers on a budget. Awarded Most Improved WA YHA Hostel in 2011, we offer the best accommodation services for our backpackers, with facilities that are first-class, clean and trendy. Centrally located at the heart of Kununurra, we provide our backpackers a relaxed atmosphere for their Kimberley Aussie outback experience. We offer resort-style accommodations with a wide range of options available to suit any budget. From dorm rooms with modern bunk beds and luggage lockers, up to double rooms with queen sized beds, we combine luxury and affordability to pamper our backpackers. At Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA, our friendly and professional staff are always ready to serve. We can also arrange airport pickups and bus transfers, as well as tour bookings that pick you up directly from the hostel for a hassle-free travel experience. Kununurra offers many activities and attractions. Just give us a call and we'll happily arrange everything for you. Rooms and Facilities: We provide spacious, clean, air-conditioned rooms that are suited for backpackers, couples, families and large groups looking for quality but budget-friendly accommodation. All rooms are set amongst landscaped tropical gardens with direct access to the swimming pool, BBQ facilities, reception, internet cafe, outdoor lounge and TV area. Our Location: Kununurra is the gateway to East Kimberley, making it ideal for backpackers wishing to get around the region. Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA is centrally located at 120 Konkerberry Drive in the centre of Kununurra, making it accessible to restaurants, shops, and attractions without compromising your budget. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA

Address: 120 Konkerberry Dr, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Kununurra
Price Range: €33 - €43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed at a family room close to kitchen and toilets, where someone went and back to there all the time. If you don't like noise, better to choose up-stair room.”
yurieb, 15 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Travellers wanting a little more sleep and added comfort for a little extra there is the option of gender specific rooms which are slightly smaller and have the option of air conditioning which is absolutely great in the hot hot months.”
tubyrue, 1 May 2014 | Read review
“dont do anything to make the manager angry!!!!”
709lucym, 28 Aug 2013 | Read review
“Service was good. Staff were generally quite friendly.”
JasonY_13, 8 Jan 2013 | Read review
“Just ask the staff to help you and they will”
scottl62, 14 Mar 2012 | Read review
5 of 5