We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kununurra
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

35 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 34: English reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2016

For sure not the best YHA in AUstralia! Most of the people here are long-term people with all that involves...The really bad thing, was that they have only 3 commons toilets, and one just break down when i stayed there (just one night!). Hopefully the room was comfortable, spacious and had good aircon which is a MUST DO in Kununurra....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alquedyal
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

If you are looking for a YHA then don't come here. Kitchen: broken appliances. Junk behind shelves. Dusty. Flies and ants a problem. No cutlery, plates, bowls, cups, saucepans or trying pans. All these items must be hired for thirty bucks. A general appearance of unclean. Outsider area: a feeble attempt is made to clean, but it's still filthy. Rubbish:...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley F
Kimberley Croc L, Owner at Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, as our guest satisfaction is paramount to us. This has been already been explained to you in a phone call and email from myself, as well as phone calls from YHA. Firstly, you were NOT booked into the YHA, as when you arrived with out a booking in the...

Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

Its the worst hostel i have ever been in australia. the bathrooms are dirty, the workers do not clean properply. the staff is rude and not friendly at all. you have to pay for the cooking pots and pans. im still waiting for the money. and the kitchen is closed. its a working hostel thats fine but they drink at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
Kimberley Croc L, Manager at Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. That is disappointing for us as we try for all guests to enjoy there stay. In regards to the staff being rude, that is not our policy and please contact me in regards to which staff member as it is not acceptable to the organisation. I would like...

Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

The hostel is very beautiful and has a strong nature feel to it with lots of plants and trees all around. Nick, the guy on reception when we arrived was hilarious and gave us a fantastically warm welcome. The hostel is chilled out and the rooms are a good size with great amounts of storage. This hostel would be ideal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fiona r
Kimberley Croc L, Manager at Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, it is heart warming to hear as all the staff try their hardest to provide for guest satisfaction during their stay. I have passed your comments onto Nick and he was very happy to hear your praise. Especially so as Nick is usually our groundsman, and had stepped up to help out during a...

Province of Brescia, Italy
Reviewed 10 May 2016

I stayed at croc backpackers for 8 days. Hostel is very clean, the staff are very polite and other guests are very friendly and nice. It is near the supermarket and visitor centre information. It's very good hostel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank giuly1506
LisaSpackman, Owner at Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA, responded to this review

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff were polite. I will pass this onto them as they all do try very hard to keep the facilities clean and to be helpful to the guests. As an owner, it is wonderful to hear your feedback - thank you for taking the time to do...

Reviewed 9 April 2016 via mobile

I stayed at Croc's for 2 weeks. The hostel is nice, just the kitchen a bit messy. A big minus was the owner - she regularly came in the evening to kick out everybody who wasn't living there. You weren't allowed to have fun and hang around, because it "is annoying for other guests", which wasn't true, because nobody was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hannes G
LisaSpackman, Owner at Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA, responded to this review

Hi Hannes, Thank you for taking the time to put on a review. It is good to see that you enjoyed the hostel and its facilities, so thank you - as my staff and I have put in a lot of time and effort to provide those surroundings and rooms. You were asked to leave at 7pm after you left...

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2015

We stayed at the Croc backpackers back in august for 6 weeks. This hostel is clean, welcoming and offers a home from home experience. Any issue whether it be a big issue or a small one was dealt with professionally by the couple managing the hostel. Great amenities close within 150m so the Croc is the best place to be!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank benward14510
Kimberley Croc L, Front Office Manager at Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA - it is appreciated. I will pass on your comments, as it will make the teams day! Safe travelling and we look forward to having you back to stay with us if you are ever in Kununurra again during your travels. Regards, Zoe.

Reviewed 15 August 2015 via mobile

I recomend this backpacker. Good place (in front of tavern and bottle Shop /1 min from the coles) I stay 5 month and on the begining I doesn’t spoke english, and the managers (solene and olivier) help me for learn. You have a good parti the friday inside the backpacker and After the work (2.30 pm) every body drink à...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat G
Kimberley Croc L, Front Office Manager at Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA - it is appreciated. I will pass on your comments, as it will make the teams day! Safe travelling and we look forward to having you back to stay with us if you are ever in Kununurra again during your travels. regards, Zoe.

Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 1 August 2015

Plus: friendly staff, very helpful with Pick-ups and tour bookings, central location in Kununurra, close to supermarket and national park (Mirima), night's silence at 10:00 was obeyed Minus: quite untidy, many smokers

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Else P
KimCroc L, Manager at Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA, responded to this review

Hi Else, Thank you for taking the time to review us at Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA, we do appreciate it. It is our aim to exceed our guests expectations. Thank you for alerting me to the fact that some people are not following the "No Smoking" sign in the eating area - it is appreciated. We will most definitely follow...

Reviewed 1 June 2015

I stayed here for 3 nights few weeks ago. At the beginning i found place very nice, beautiful yard, good facilities, all other visitors were really nice and stuff in reception very helpful. Until i met the owner.. We were all having dinner and some drinks, it was around just 7pm, not after 9pm! And suddenly my conversation with my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mari H
KimCroc L, Owner at Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA, responded to this review

Hi Mari, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. it is always good to receive feedback. Yes you are correct, i did have to yell to get the attention of the guests, this was after trying to get the attention of everyone for a few minutes to no avail. The reason why? I had received complaints from...

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kununurra hotels
1.3 km away
Freshwater East Kimberley Apartments
1.2 km away
The Kimberley Grande
The Kimberley Grande
#6 of 10 in Kununurra
213 reviews
0.6 km away
Ibis Styles Kununurra
Ibis Styles Kununurra
#7 of 10 in Kununurra
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Kimberley Croc Motel
Kimberley Croc Motel
#5 of 10 in Kununurra
79 reviews
1.1 km away
Ivanhoe Village Caravan Resort
3.0 km away
Discovery Parks - Lake Kununurra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA in Kununurra, Western Australia is perfect for travellers on a budget. Awarded Most Improved WA YHA Hostel in 2011, we offer the best accommodation services for our backpackers, with facilities that are first-class, clean and trendy. Centrally located at the heart of Kununurra, we provide our backpackers a relaxed atmosphere for their Kimberley Aussie outback experience. We offer resort-style accommodations with a wide range of options available to suit any budget. From dorm rooms with modern bunk beds and luggage lockers, up to double rooms with queen sized beds, we combine luxury and affordability to pamper our backpackers. At Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA, our friendly and professional staff is always ready to serve. We can also arrange airport pickups and bus transfers, as well as tour bookings that pick you up directly from the hotel for a hassle-free travel experience. Kununurra offers many activities and attractions. Just give us a call and we'll happily arrange everything for you. Rooms and Facilities: We provide spacious, clean, air-conditioned rooms that are suited for backpackers, couples, families and large groups looking for quality but budget-friendly accommodation. All rooms are set amongst landscaped tropical gardens with direct access to the swimming pool, BBQ facilities, reception, internet cafe, outdoor lounge and TV area. Our Location: Kununurra is the gateway to East Kimberley, making it ideal for backpackers wishing to get around the region. Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA is centrally located at 120 Konkerberry Drive in the centre of Kununurra, making it accessible to restaurants, shops, and attractions without compromising your budget. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA

Address: 120 Konkerberry Dr, Kununurra, Western Australia 6743, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Kununurra
Price Range: €20 - €44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kimberley Croc Backpackers YHA staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed at a family room close to kitchen and toilets, where someone went and back to there all the time. If you don't like noise, better to choose up-stair room.”
 of 5 bubbles yurieb, 15 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Travellers wanting a little more sleep and added comfort for a little extra there is the option of gender specific rooms which are slightly smaller and have the option of air conditioning which is absolutely great in the hot hot months.”
 of 5 bubbles tubyrue, 1 May 2014 | Read review
“dont do anything to make the manager angry!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles 709lucym, 28 Aug 2013 | Read review
“Service was good. Staff were generally quite friendly.”
 of 5 bubbles JasonY_13, 8 Jan 2013 | Read review
“Just ask the staff to help you and they will”
 of 5 bubbles scottl62, 14 Mar 2012 | Read review
5 of 5