We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Barkly Homestead

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tennant Creek
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Barkly Homestead
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

265 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Barkly Homestead
See the most recent reviews
Showing 265: English reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2016

We arrived at Barkly Homestead after a short 4 1/2 hour drive from Mt Isa. Staff were extremely accomodating for our family of 6 (4 kids and 2 adults). Happy hour was great. Restaurant food was yummy. It is pricey due to its remote location, but its worth it! Staff were interesting to talk to and friendly as mostly backpackers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah P
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Thank you for such a kind review. We are sorry about the issues you had but we will always try and remedy the situation when something is genuinely wrong. We take a lot of pride in our business and service and this is also our home so we always try and do our best. We are really happy you enjoyed...

Cairns Queensland
Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

Fantastic room, great food, good shop. Even a fibreglass pool. But just for once I'd wish for a clean floor. One that doesn't blacken your feet. Why can't these places teach staff to actually wash the tiles?

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IntrepidWhiteFemale
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for the review. I have had a word with the cleaners who assure me they are mopping correctly. We hope to see you again.

Atherton, Australia
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Almost an essential stopping point on the long haul between Tennant Creek and Camooweal or the longer one heading north towards Borroloola. Well stocked shop and cafe given its remoteness. Fuel is available and it is well worth filling up even if you think it's expensive. It's a long haul between pumps. In terms of prices don't complain if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gordon G
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for acknowledging our costs. We do our best to keep prices reasonable but in the end we are a very unique business in the middle of nowhere so we are never going to compete with businesses in major centres. We are 100% self sufficient so unfortunately the generator fuel is just one major expense we have to deal...

Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed here on our way from Katherine to Winton. We had a lovely drive thru, shady site. All the amenities were clean and nice. The Roadhouse always cops flack about its prices but they were exactly as I expected them to be. You have to remember that you truly are a long way from anywhere! Food and coffee was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lyd1979
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay here. We are a long way from anywhere and costs are huge. Thanks for noticing. We hope to see you again.

Gladstone, Australia
Reviewed 3 December 2016

We stayed one night in one of the cabins during a recent trip. It was very clean, and well furnished and suited out needs perfectly. We had a few drinks in the bar and had dinner there and found it first class. It was the most expensive room of our entire trip from Boyne Island through Longreach to Darwin and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zannagirl
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for your review. We don't believe we can be compared to many other places as there is not many as remote or with the expenses we have to bare. We charge $150 for a standard motel room which is cheaper than many in Darwin or other major centres so we believe we are fair in what we charge....

Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

Stopped over here on our way from Darwin to cairns. It was recommended to us by friends and did not disappoint. Room was very clean and well appointed for somewhere so remote. We were told horror stories about fuel prices but it was only $1.60ish per ltr. Meal in the bistro was surprisingly good! Overall a good place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 175phild
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for your review and I am happy we were recommended by your friends. We always cop a lot of criticism for our prices, and our fuel is on the dearer side. Unfortunately in order to operate a business such as this we have to be more expensive. Overall (apart from our fuel) we believe we are on par...

Alice Springs, Australia
Reviewed 28 November 2016

We stayed here twice on our Alice to Isa trip and on the return. First night in the motel, which was large and had a new bathroom. second time round we stayed in the cabin (same price), the cabins are new, clean and the bed was really comfortable. The bathroom isn't anywhere near as nice but the A/C worked better...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul S
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your review. As you said we get booked out nearly every night so it is a must to book ahead. Thank you for acknowledging the expenses involved with operating the business. I wish the generator was the only major expense! We are glad you enjoyed both stays and hope to see you again.

Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 25 November 2016

Barkly homestead is a great comfortable place to stop. The only place in hundreds of kms but with great rooms, clean and comfortable, great food with a good selection and most of the creature comforts you may need when in the middle of nowhere. The newer cabins and clean, well equiped and comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brenda G
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed you stay.

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 14 November 2016

I stayed here for one night on my way from Alice to Mt Isa, great unexpected place. The facilities are great, clean and comfortable. I called late in the afternoon and booked for the night, service from the girl on the phone was great and quick, I booked and stayed in a cabin for the night which was very clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eblac
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again.

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 13 November 2016

We had a cabin which was very clean, comfy and spacious. Away from the motel rooms and although not far from the main road was very quiet. You can park right beside your cabin. We had a meal which was very nice. Huge steak, chips and salad. Is also a normal petrol station, tourist bits and pieces available, a bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Etonbeach
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review. We hope to see you again.

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tennant Creek hotels
171.6 km away
Goldfields Hotel Motel
Goldfields Hotel Motel
#2 of 3 in Tennant Creek
56 reviews
171.9 km away
Bluestone Motor Inn
Bluestone Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Tennant Creek
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Barkly Homestead

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Barkly Homestead is situated 220km east of Tennant Creek on the Barkly Highway. The Homestead offers a variety of services including fuel, excellent accomodation and fantastic bar and grill. It is a welcome stopover on the long journey across the Barkly Highway. A true oasis in the desert. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barkly Homestead

Address: Corner of Barkly & Tablelands Highways | Barkly Tablelands, Tennant Creek, Northern Territory 0862, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Tennant Creek
Number of rooms: 21
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Barkly Homestead staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Barkly Homestead staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cabins = good A/C..... motel = nicer bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles paulsS5211QQ, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get one of the self contained cabins for a little extra :)”
 of 5 bubbles Etonbeach, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“As the rooms are set back from the highway there were no major issues with noise”
 of 5 bubbles 1954dean, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I don't think it matters”
 of 5 bubbles royp767, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“As mentioned elsewhere, it probably best to be not too close to the generator.”
 of 5 bubbles yeti5, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5