We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Barkly Homestead

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tennant Creek
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Barkly Homestead
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

264 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 264: English reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

This is our second visit. Love the bed in the cabin. Our dogs are very happy on the verandah. People remark it is over priced, however, I think it's forgotten that all power water etc must be self generated. Clean. Comfortable and friendly staff!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dean J
Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I stopped at Barkly on the way through in the morning for fuel and a coffee. The coffee was excellent, and the staff were helpful and friendly. We looked forward to stopping there for the night on our way back through. In a rush, we forgot to book and when we arrived there were no rooms available....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaharaminttu
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Hi, we are sorry that we were booked out when you arrived. It is disappointing that you have given us a 2 star rating based on a cup of tea and it is doubly disappointing that you wont stop here now based on that. Our staff are obviously very transient and language is also an issue at times but on...

Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice modern room that was spotlessly clean. A good choice of rooms since my last visit with cabins now available too. Comfortable bed and bedding. Aircon worked well - thankfully as it was especially hot outside. I enjoyed the stopover here much more than Tennant Creek which used to be my preferred stopover. Although affecting my drive times, the quieter...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AussieKelEllery1234
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for your review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stopped here overnight and had the best nights sleep, the bed was soooo comfy, good size motel room, clean, we also had dinner and breakfast which were good sized meals. Staff are friendly, nice place to relax. We got discount on the rooms when we booked as The TV's were not working ,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank morsey13
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Hi, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately we had a major piece of equipment break due to a nasty storm. We had it fixed in about 4 days when the new part arrived so in the end we got out of that relatively well. Things like this happen every now and then and it is the biggest issue...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Have stayed before with no problem however upon arrival on 3rd Jan were given room with only 2 beds despite confirmed booking for 2 adults and 2 children. Were provided with additional bedding (blankets and sheets no mattress) and spray for blowflies. Upon booking we were advised of rate being discounted to $150 due no TV due storm damage which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Hi, I am very sorry with the mix up with your booking. I cant explain why this has happened except that there must have been a communication error. Unfortunately we only have a certain number of rooms with the extra bed and on this occasion we could not find you another bed as they were all in use. We hope...

Airlie Beach, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We regularly stay here on the way to Alice and on the way back to QLD. Has everything. Clean, beautiful gardens, great staff, delicious food a pool and fuel. Service and facilities in this outback oasis far exceed others closer to the coast

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Z3688WGpam
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you think our service and facilities exceed others close to the coast. We do aim for this a try very hard to make this a nice place to stay. We are very lucky to have such great regular customers like you. We look forward to seeing you next time.

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place has everything, large tree lined van sites, usual amenities and a feeling of comfort. Went to bar for happy hour, great atmosphere and staff. Lots of people having a god time. There were retirees, family groups, young couples with very young children, all seemed happy and comfortable

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trishlewis2015
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review. We are really happy you enjoyed your stay here. Happy hour is always good, especially during the busy months. We look forward to seeing you again.

Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The rooms are clean, showers hot and air con works well. Had a meal and the food was good. Stopped here before and will stop again. Be warned you should book first as it does fill up quickly in the late afternoon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erik S
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for your review. Yes we book out most nights so it is very important to book before arriving. We hope to see you again.

Victoria
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The customer service was great, I had the veggie burger and my partner had the Barkly burger, everything was presented wonderfully and quick. The store has a great range of things if you need them. All in all a very good feed! The coffees are great too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michelesY8776YC
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Hi thank you for your review. Our food and coffee is popular and I'm glad you enjoyed it. See you next time.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We arrived at Barkly Homestead after a short 4 1/2 hour drive from Mt Isa. Staff were extremely accomodating for our family of 6 (4 kids and 2 adults). Happy hour was great. Restaurant food was yummy. It is pricey due to its remote location, but its worth it! Staff were interesting to talk to and friendly as mostly backpackers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah P
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Thank you for such a kind review. We are sorry about the issues you had but we will always try and remedy the situation when something is genuinely wrong. We take a lot of pride in our business and service and this is also our home so we always try and do our best. We are really happy you enjoyed...

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tennant Creek
171.6 km away
Goldfields Hotel Motel
Goldfields Hotel Motel
#2 of 3 in Tennant Creek
56 reviews
171.8 km away
Bluestone Motor Inn
Bluestone Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Tennant Creek
176 reviews
0.0 km away
Kings Canyon Wilderness Lodge
Kings Canyon Wilderness Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kings Canyon
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Barkly Homestead

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Barkly Homestead is situated 220km east of Tennant Creek on the Barkly Highway. The Homestead offers a variety of services including fuel, excellent accomodation and fantastic bar and grill. It is a welcome stopover on the long journey across the Barkly Highway. A true oasis in the desert. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barkly Homestead

Address: Corner of Barkly & Tablelands Highways | Barkly Tablelands, Tennant Creek, Northern Territory 0862, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Tennant Creek
Number of rooms: 21
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Barkly Homestead staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Barkly Homestead staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cabins = good A/C..... motel = nicer bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles paulsS5211QQ, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get one of the self contained cabins for a little extra :)”
 of 5 bubbles Etonbeach, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“As the rooms are set back from the highway there were no major issues with noise”
 of 5 bubbles 1954dean, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I don't think it matters”
 of 5 bubbles royp767, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“As mentioned elsewhere, it probably best to be not too close to the generator.”
 of 5 bubbles yeti5, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5