We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kings Canyon Resort Campground

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Centre
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Kings Canyon Resort Campground
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

273 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 242: English reviews
Start your review of Kings Canyon Resort Campground
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

The best is, that you've got a lovely view at the sunset from the hotel. Don't miss that. We've got a room with a shared bathroom. The bathroom was clean and so far ok. But the room looked like a prisoncell, it was extremly unfriendly and tiny. We could hardly place our suitcases on the floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona S
Helena, Montana
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night in our camper van after completing the Meerenie Loop. It's just ok. There are a lot of lights during the night so you don't get very good star views. When we arrived we were told we could pick any camp spot. The one we picked didn't have the power turned on so we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Webwalla
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort Campground, responded to this review

Dear Webwalla Sorry to read your comments but this review does need some clarifications. We have 70 powered sites , of which during this time of year with less travellers , you can pick any one of the 70! You would have picked the site you chose for yourselves. I am certain you also could have moved to any site...

Crymych, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The stunning view was ruined by a row of en suite units. The toilets were filthy,grassy areas unkempt and we tried 3 barbecues before finding one that worked. The ant infestation was so extreme the ants got into a sealed tent. Lovely location and few other choices for campers so they have a captive custom base. There is no excuse...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie L
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

King's Canyon Resort - campground I stayed at King's Canyon campground on Friday 20th and Saturday 21st January 2017. I had stayed here previously (about 7 years ago) I loved the location and although the facilities were older they were well maintained . However, on this occasion I felt the facilities fell sort of the standard I would expect for the following reasons:...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jess B
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

It cost more to camp at Kings Canyon than at Yulara with less facilities. The pool was nice but food choices were limited and pricey. This is definitely a spot to self cater if you are camping. Because we were travelling off season there was very little on offer. The canyon walk was great and we'll worth doing but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveller474
Hervey Bay
Reviewed 17 January 2017

We stayed in the camping area however the best part was the view from the viewing platform of Kings Canyon. It is literally a 1 minute walk from the edge of the camping area. Camping area has all the facilities that you would expect for the price such as clean toilets, hot showers, water, powered sights, palyground, pool and camp...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JessiPalmer
Yarra Glen
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We stayed in the unpowered area of the campground, where we could set up wherever we could find a spot. We found a place near the edge of the campground where we could see over to the rim of Kings Canyon, so we had lovely views for our stay. The kids enjoyed swimming in the pool, and the amenities were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annie R
Gladstone, Australia
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here n the resory xampground after visiting Uluru. I had high expectations after our previous experiences in the NT. I was however disappointed. Firstly, I felt we paid a premium price for our campground stay, especially since it was "off peak". Secondly, my enquires re walking tracks (as there had been significant rainfall) was answered with a pointed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OlssonOz T
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

We visited in the "off season". Prices were ridiculously expensive, at $25 per adult per night which includes anyone over 12! For my family of two adults, two fifteen year olds and a twelve year old it equates to $110 per night in the low season!The pool was refreshing, however needed more regular cleaning and the filter was rarely on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Megfoye
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort Campground, responded to this review

Dear Megfoye The costs for power, water and waste disposal , providing the services and facilities we do in such a remote region of Central Australia cost the same , if not more, during our hotter summer months, when there are definitely less people travelling . Our new en suite sites with private BBQ areas and spectacular views to the...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

We've been caravaning for nearly six months and this is the worst place we have stayed at,the toilets are filthy didn't look like they had been cleaned for a week,in the morning yo needed a can of insect spray just to get into the toilet/shower block to use as the mosquitoes eat you alive,be prepared to pay $8.50 for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
michellei811, Front Office Manager at Kings Canyon Resort Campground, responded to this review

Dear Anthony B Sorry to hear you did not enjoy the amazing services and facilities we offer in such a remote and beautiful part of the Red Centre. Our prices for food and beverage, fuel and supplies do reflect the cost of having these facilities available to all travellers , 365 days a year , particularly during the hotter summer...

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (84)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Red Centre hotels
0.2 km away
Kings Canyon Resort
Kings Canyon Resort
#1 of 1 in Kings Canyon
1,492 reviews
249.1 km away
Chifley Alice Springs Resort
Chifley Alice Springs Resort
#3 of 13 in Alice Springs
1,026 reviews
122.3 km away
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
133.8 km away
Glen Helen Homestead Lodge
Glen Helen Homestead Lodge
#1 of 1 in West MacDonnell National Park
437 reviews
247.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
248.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Kings Canyon Resort Campground

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Kings Canyon Resort Campground

Address: Luritja Road | Watarrka National Park, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre
Number of rooms: 100
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kings Canyon Resort Campground staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Kings Canyon Resort Campground staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The unpowered area is open range so you can pick a spot that is best for you. It's not far to the amenities”
 of 5 bubbles AnnieR437, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Can't really comment on the rooms as we stayed in the campground.”
 of 5 bubbles henryonatrip, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you are after a site, book in advance as they do fill up. Check in is across the road.”
 of 5 bubbles N3654KRadamm, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay at caravan park, instead stay at freebie 115 ks south”
 of 5 bubbles philmN5768IR, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“For cabins, I guess anyone is good enough.”
 of 5 bubbles lelecabral, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5