We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,027 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 854: English reviews
Start your review of Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Myself and my two teenage boys stayed for one night, the pool was excellent and under a shade cloth, which was very thoughtful as the weather was HOT. The room was overlooking the pool and while it was a little worn it was still very clean and comfortable, we had a good nights sleep after a busy day. The food...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Frances M
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Although this resort is an interesting design it is in need of some attention. The reception area was nicely presented but bathrooms are a bit dated and there was paint peeling off the room ceiling. The area outside the room was covered in gravel and seed pods fallen from the palm trees and needed sweeping. The restaurant food and service...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Russell C
Darwin
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is quite old but our room was clean and cool and in good repair. Reception and all staff were very welcoming. We had decided on the basis of reviews that we would not eat at the restaurant, however , fate intervened and we did. George, the barman, mixed a fine martini (with olive), the local steaks we ordered...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BradDarwin
Molfetta, Italy
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

the hotel is in the kakadu park and is ,room was big but a little bit dirty, Food was very good,The staff were all super friendly, Liked the display of aboriginal art as well. On the plus side our tour experience was outstanding.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank murolol
Management_The_Croc, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review

Dear murolol, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. It is pleasing that you have enjoyed most aspects of your stay, in particular that the food in our restaurant was very good, the entire team were very friendly, and that the Aboriginal artwork was of great interest to you. Please accept my sincere apologies...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A warm and friendly reception by the assistant manager (new from Ireland) was the only highlight of our stay. He couldn't do enough to help get us checked in and booked into tours. The hotel is shabby. Quality of rooms is not something the mercure should be proud of and is below what I have experienced with mercure in other...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter Sara D
Management_The_Croc, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter Sara D, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. It is disappointing to hear that we have not met expectations in some aspects of your stay. Please accept my sincere apologies that the room was not prepared to our usual standard. However it is pleasing that Alan's warm & friendly welcome was...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at the Croc for work. Was not tourist season so they gave us the rooms on the bottom floor near the pool. Room was basic but comfortable. Had the turn off the air cond. as it was freezing. Hard to do any work there though as the desk has no power adapters. They do have free wifi. Ate at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Monica B
Management_The_Croc, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Monica B, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. It is pleasing that you have enjoyed some aspects of your stay, in particular that the room was comfortable, and all the staff were very friendly. I sincerely apologise that the air-conditioning was too cold and that it was not set at a desirable...

Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jillian M
Management_The_Croc, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review

Buntingford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Two nights here and first impressions were not good - someone else's underwear left in room, safe locked and dirty curtains. However, the guy on the desk rapidly resolved the first two. Food was very good, although on our first night, we sat with about 3 other couples in a vast cavern of a restaurant (which said it could seat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David8
Management_The_Croc, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David8, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. It is disappointing to hear that your first impression of the hotel was not good, specifically that we had missed removing personal items left behind from the previous guest, that the safe was locked, and the cleanliness of the curtains was not up to our...

Bluffton, South Carolina
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A unique hotel in the form of a crocodile! Comfortable rooms, great restaurant and bar, swimming pool, and gift shop with Aboriginal art pieces. The night noises are exotic and the flora and fauna equally so.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 368graym
Management_The_Croc, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 368graym, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. It is very pleasing that you have enjoyed your stay, in particular the unique shape of the hotel, comfortable room, the restaurant & bar was great and the gift shop & art gallery were of great interest to you. Thank you again for sharing your...

Alice Springs, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

will stay again: we arrived at nite: staff very accommodating by keeping the kitchen open, however, poor street signage - 1st sign good, but then nothing, not clear where to turn; door numbers not obvious at nite.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 269arthurc
Management_The_Croc, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 269arthurc, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. It is very pleasing that you have enjoyed your stay, in particular that the staff were very accommodating. Your comments regarding the signage to the hotel & the room numbers on the door will be taken into consideration for future discussions. We look forward to welcoming...

269 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (256)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (56)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kakadu National Park
27.6 km away
Aurora Kakadu Hotel
Aurora Kakadu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kakadu National Park
389 reviews
42.6 km away
Cooinda Lodge Kakadu
Cooinda Lodge Kakadu
#1 of 5 in Kakadu National Park
721 reviews
0.9 km away
Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Bullo River Station
Bullo River Station
#2 of 2 in Timber Creek
24 reviews
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
From the marble foyer to the air-conditioned guest rooms, Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel is a cool retreat in the midst of Kakadu National Park s wilderness. This uniquely shaped hotel, just 2 hours drive from Darwin, is the ideal base to explore Ubirr and Nourlangie rock art galleries and view the towering sandstone escarpment of Arnhem Land. The hotel offers 110 guest rooms making the shape of a crocodile which overlook's a central shaded courtyard and swimming pool. Award winning Escarpment Restaurant offers tastes of Kakadu with both buffet and a la carte options available. Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel also has an Indigenous art gallery showcasing works from the Kakadu and Arnhem region. Guests have access to a 9-hole golf course, Olympic-size pool, and tennis courts at neighbouring Jabiru Township. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel

Address: Gagudju Crocdile Hi 1 Flinders St, Kakadu National Park, Northern Territory 0886, Australia (Formerly Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn)
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Kakadu National Park
Price Range: €88 - €208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Hotel Kakadu National Park
Holiday Inn Gagudju Crocodile
Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kakadu National Park
Kakadu National Park Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground floor rooms adjacent to the pool are good for easy access to the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles 201russellc, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Look around the town before choosing a place to stay.”
 of 5 bubbles S6939ZPcolinm, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't go in the wet season, you're likely to get stranded.”
 of 5 bubbles anne_qld, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the bottom floor have pool access.”
 of 5 bubbles BuffaloJade, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“first floor offers more privacy but no lift to take your suitcase up , only stairs”
 of 5 bubbles aviscath, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5