We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Portmans Motor Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Portmans Motor Lodge
View Map
Add a photo
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

61 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Portmans Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 61: English reviews
Himatangi Beach
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Very good motel, absolutely spotless, comfortable, quiet, walking distance to town and great value for money . While we were there a "minding couple" were in charge and they are lovely people and very helpful. By NZ standards the cooked breakfast is well priced. Recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
Portmans, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge, responded to this review

We are pleased to hear that your stay at Portmans was enjoyable and you enjoyed your breakfast. Glad Tony and Lynda took such good care of you during your stay. They do a great job. We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Hastings.

Hamilton, NZ
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

I walked to town from the hotel and took less than ten minutes. The bedroom was large with a very basic kitchen. Appeared to be clean. Not very sound proof: I could easily hear talking and TV in the next room. I had to return to reception to get WiFi code rather than it being offered at check-in. Internet was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank guynz
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 July 2016

I chose to stay here based on other travelers reviews and I was not disappointed. We did not arrived until after 7.30pm at night and we were shown to our room and found the curtains had all been closed and the heater had been turned on so our accommodation was cosy and warm as we entered and we appreciated that!!!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hillsey3
Portmans, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for your very helpful review. We will certainly look into doing that in the next few weeks. We were pleased to read that your stay suited your requirements and you were very comfortable. I look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Hastings.

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights on a business trip and found the motel to be clean and tidy with a well equipped kitchen. Separate bedroom and a good sized dining table for working at a bonus. Small lounge area with a chair and tv - chair not that comfy for lounging in but adequate. Spa bath was a nice addition. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy H
Portmans, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback and pleased to read they you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that the TV in the bedroom wasn't going for you - however it has been checked and sorted. Glad you enjoyed your breakfasts - Robert does a great job and they are always appreciated. Look forward to hosting you on your...

Reviewed 20 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed for one night to run the Hawkes Bay half. Room was clean and bed comfortable. Reasonably priced too. 4 rather than 5 due to the noise from the roads and rail. I always take ear plugs when I travel and I used them here. The owners let me come back after the run for a shower and a late...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wayne M
Portmans, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments Wayne - pleased to hear that all of the things we have control over were good for you. The marathon weekend was great for Hawkes Bay, so pleased to hear that you enjoyed it. We look forward to hosting you next time you are visiting Hastings.

Waitara, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 May 2016

This accommodation was wonderful. It was well presented, convenient, clean and had wonderful service. The hosts were professional and friendly and went beyond expectations when I needed to do an urgent sewing repair. I would definitely stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shirlenep2017
Portmans, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that I was able to help - if not it could have ruined your whole day. We look forward to hosting you next time you visit Hastings.

St. John's, Canada
Reviewed 25 March 2016

Clean, comfortable accommodations with all the necessary facilities for own meal prep. Very helpful proprietor for local information. Well located near wineries in the Hastings area. Good value location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
Portmans, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes I agree, Portmans is very central, making it so easy to get to your destination in the Hastings area. Look forward to hosting you next time you are in Hastings.

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 March 2016

Have stayed before and loved it. This time our room was infested with ants. Given that the room was 220 p/n I expect that the room would be in great condition and that ants would be nowhere to be seen. Managers response "Hastings has a bad problem with ants" Disappointed that our stay ended with me cleaning up the mess...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gina P
Portmans, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge, responded to this review

We do work very hard at keeping these under control, and every now and again they have a win!!!! Once again our apologies.

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2016

Good accommodation, well situated near the centre of Hastings. We had a two bedroom unit which was nicely designed, and suited us, travelling as a couple with our adult daughter. There is plenty of space for two couples. The shared bathroom lies between the bedrooms and has doors to each, so a simple protocol needs to be agreed. The living...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David W
Portmans, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Yes our two bedroom units are a great space for two couples travelling together. It allows for your own space quite nicely. We get lots of positive comments about them. Fibre is being connected to Portmans next week so all of our internet worries will be sorted - can't wait. So glad you enjoyed your visit to Hastings.

New Zealand
Reviewed 17 February 2016

Portmans Motor Lodge is in a very convenient location.....within walking distance to Hastings and a short drive to Havelock North, Taradale & Napier. Rooms are decorated tastefully, are spacious, comfortable, exceptionally clean and are well equipped with toaster, ironing board, hair dryer etc. Hosts, Robert & Keren are friendly and helpful and rest assured they do all they can to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hauroko
Portmans, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. They are always so helpful in helping us understand the needs of our guests. Yes our staff work hard to ensure your stay with us is comfortable and you can relax and enjoy or in some cases work!!! We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Hastings..... enjoy your travels

15 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
1.9 km away
Valdez Motor Lodge
Valdez Motor Lodge
#2 of 18 in Hastings
86 reviews
5.1 km away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
232 reviews
1.1 km away
Claremonte Motor Lodge
Claremonte Motor Lodge
#6 of 18 in Hastings
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Amici Motel
Amici Motel
#5 of 18 in Hastings
175 reviews
2.0 km away
Fairmont Motor Lodge
Fairmont Motor Lodge
#8 of 18 in Hastings
38 reviews
2.0 km away
The Magpie
The Magpie
#9 of 18 in Hastings
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Portmans Motor Lodge features a heated outdoor swimming pool, guest laundry, ample parking in front of your unit, a Conference/Display Room and Wi-Fi access. It is situated just 5 minutes walk from the cafes, restaurants and bars of Hastings City Centre. All units at Portmans Motor Lodge Hastings are ground floor, spacious and modern and feature a kitchenette, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Electric blankets and satellite TV are provided. Some rooms also have a spa bath. Continental and cooked breakfasts can be delivered to the guest rooms. Guests can charge their meals at selected local restaurants back to their room. Hawkes' Bay Opera House is just 750 metres from Portmans Motor Lodge. A 5 minute walk to Hastings Racecourse and Splash Planet water theme park is 8 minutes drive away. Attractions, such as wineries, golf courses, Te Mata Peak Trust Park a 15 minute drive. Hawkes Bay Golf Club and Hastings Golf Club are within a 15 minute drive from the lodge. Hawkes Bay Airport and Napier is a 30 minute drive away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Portmans Motor Lodge

Address: 401 Railway Road, Hastings 4122, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Price Range: €85 - €109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portmans Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Portmans Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hastings
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Portmans Motor Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a spa room”
debzrotorua, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Back units are off the road and are alot quieter.”
449carynv, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are quality”
philh221, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We were in room 19”
Hillsey3, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Every room is perfect”
trudinbjm, 26 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5