We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Portmans Motor Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Portmans Motor Lodge
View Map
Add a photo
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 58: English reviews
Start your review of Portmans Motor Lodge
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for 1 night and I must say loved every bit of it...was beautiful and spotlessly clean. Beds were comfy room was nice and spacy. It's at a great location walking distance to the city center. The spa was great in our room. Highly recommended this hotel. Definely will go back to it in the future...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dolly-nand
rotorua
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed here 3 times now and each time has been fabulous, the place is spotless, the facilities are awesome, the owners are very accommodating, price is awesome, location is very close to shops etc Trains go by but didnt bother us.The only thing i would say is, the night we stayed was very hot, and an air con...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debzrotorua
Portmans, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Great to host you again and be reassured that the standard has been kept up. Yes we have had one or two hot days lately and its great to see the swimming pool being well used. Looking forward to hosting you on your next visit to Hastings.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 January 2017

It was a great place to stay for the night. The hosts were very friendly. The 2 bedrooom unit was very clean. We also ordered breakfast for the 4 of us. This was definitely value for money. Would highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caryn V
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

I booked in to stay at Portmans based on Trip advisor reviews. I wasn't disappointed! The rooms are extremely clean - including the bathrooms. They are also very spacious, with comfortable beds. The pool is also very clean and a good temperature. Like other travellers have mentioned, we did hear the trains during both nights we stayed but it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NZtravel0401
Portmans, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Pleased to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable. We have spent a lot of time improving the units, so your feed back is appreciated. We will take a look at the photos on this site as mentioned and look to improve them - thanks. We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Hastings.

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 January 2017

We booked this motel back in July as we knew it would be a busy time. The units are exceptionally clean, comfortable and I couldn't fault anything about our unit. Great host and great wifi and I can really recommend Portmans Motor Lodge as a good place to stay in Hastings. Keep up the standard!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
Portmans, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feed back - it is always great to receive. Yes we have spent a lot of time improving the units and the staff work hard to keep them looking good for you - so glad you appreciated it. We look forward to hosting you both on your next visit to Hastings.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 December 2016

The Owners are wonderfully welcoming and accommodating. Not a spec of dirt, dust or mould. The unit was incredibly clean and comfortable with a great shower (good pressure and temperature)! The location is super central and is within walking distance of lots of cafe's and restaurants. Wifi is also free and fast, which was of great help! Would 100% stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank businesstraveller811
Portmans, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feed back - it is always great to know that we are managing to get to right some of the time. Yes it is a great location - so central to all that you require. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hosting you on your next visit...

Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

Great fairly modern rooms with kitchen facilities. Bed was extremely comfortable but in summer it would get very hot. Other thing that let it down was the close proximity to the train tracks. Let's just say the train isn't quiet . Host was very friendly and helpful. Stayed here for business and it was very good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
Portmans, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Yes our beds are new and really comfortable - just the thing for a great nights sleep. Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Hastings.

Himatangi Beach
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Very good motel, absolutely spotless, comfortable, quiet, walking distance to town and great value for money . While we were there a "minding couple" were in charge and they are lovely people and very helpful. By NZ standards the cooked breakfast is well priced. Recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
Portmans, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge, responded to this review

We are pleased to hear that your stay at Portmans was enjoyable and you enjoyed your breakfast. Glad Tony and Lynda took such good care of you during your stay. They do a great job. We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Hastings.

Hamilton, NZ
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

I walked to town from the hotel and took less than ten minutes. The bedroom was large with a very basic kitchen. Appeared to be clean. Not very sound proof: I could easily hear talking and TV in the next room. I had to return to reception to get WiFi code rather than it being offered at check-in. Internet was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank guynz
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 July 2016

I chose to stay here based on other travelers reviews and I was not disappointed. We did not arrived until after 7.30pm at night and we were shown to our room and found the curtains had all been closed and the heater had been turned on so our accommodation was cosy and warm as we entered and we appreciated that!!!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hillsey3
Portmans, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for your very helpful review. We will certainly look into doing that in the next few weeks. We were pleased to read that your stay suited your requirements and you were very comfortable. I look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Hastings.

7 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
1.9 km away
Valdez Motor Lodge
Valdez Motor Lodge
#5 of 20 in Hastings
82 reviews
11.9 km away
Greenhill Lodge
Greenhill Lodge
#2 of 20 in Hastings
52 reviews
1.8 km away
Amici Motel
Amici Motel
#3 of 20 in Hastings
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Claremonte Motor Lodge
Claremonte Motor Lodge
#6 of 20 in Hastings
21 reviews
0.8 km away
Clansman Motor Lodge
Clansman Motor Lodge
#10 of 20 in Hastings
44 reviews
1.8 km away
No photo provided
Cumberland Court Motel
#7 of 20 in Hastings
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Portmans Motor Lodge features a heated outdoor swimming pool, guest laundry, ample parking in front of your unit, a Conference/Display Room and Wi-Fi access. It is situated just 5 minutes walk from the cafes, restaurants and bars of Hastings City Centre. All units at Portmans Motor Lodge Hastings are ground floor, spacious and modern and feature a kitchenette, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Electric blankets and satellite TV are provided. Some rooms also have a spa bath. Continental and cooked breakfasts can be delivered to the guest rooms. Guests can charge their meals at selected local restaurants back to their room. Hawkes' Bay Opera House is just 750 metres from Portmans Motor Lodge. A 5 minute walk to Hastings Racecourse and Splash Planet water theme park is 8 minutes drive away. Attractions, such as wineries, golf courses, Te Mata Peak Trust Park a 15 minute drive. Hawkes Bay Golf Club and Hastings Golf Club are within a 15 minute drive from the lodge. Hawkes Bay Airport and Napier is a 30 minute drive away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Portmans Motor Lodge

Address: 401 Railway Road, Hastings 4122, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Price Range: €90 - €126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portmans Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Portmans Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hastings
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Portmans Motor Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a spa room”
 of 5 bubbles debzrotorua, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Back units are off the road and are alot quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 449carynv, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are quality”
 of 5 bubbles philh221, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We were in room 19”
 of 5 bubbles Hillsey3, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Every room is perfect”
 of 5 bubbles trudinbjm, 26 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5