We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Motel Russell

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Motel Russell
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Motel Russell
See the most recent reviews
Showing 99: English reviews
Temuka, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 November 2015

We spent 6 glorious nights at Motel Russell, upgraded due to the length and nature of our trip. We loved the accommodation, the close proximity to town and the owners got it right in every respect. Happy to chat but considerate to our needs and 'let us be.' I would definitely recommend this motel to others.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kinvigcat
russ223, Owner at Motel Russell, responded to this review

Hello. Thank you for taking the time to do a review of your stay at Motel Russell. We are very happy to read that we met your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that we can be of service to you next time you visit the Bay of Islands. Kind regards,

Reviewed 29 October 2015 via mobile

If your just looking for a basic comfortable clean motel than this is the place - it is a short walk to town and it has all the basics including oil heater -outside setting to eat if required -i thought for what it was it was fair priced at $115

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny K
russ223, Owner at Motel Russell, responded to this review

Hello Jenny. Thank you for doing a review of your recent stay at Motel Russell and we are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. Hope that we can be of assistance when you are next travelling to the Bay of Islands.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 October 2015

Found a great deal on-line for Motel Russell and would have been more than happy to pay full price. Nice easy walk into Russell and the room was spotless and had everything you could need for a comfortable stay. Owners were great with information on local activities and history of the area. Would recommend highly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carldodd20
russ223, Owner at Motel Russell, responded to this review

Hello Carldodd. Yes the deals we had running for winter this year were great value. We at Motel Russell are extremely glad that we were able to meet your expectations and that you had an enjoyable stay with us in Russell.

Roswell, Georgia
Reviewed 19 August 2015

We flew from Georgia USA to NZ to visit friends. After arriving they picked us up from the airport and whisked us away to Russell for recovery. The Motel Russell has it all. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, beautiful pool and great weather. 5 minute walk to town. The Kiwis take pride in being clean and it make ones stay very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChlOe55_10
Cessnock
Reviewed 5 July 2015

My partner & I arrived in Russell not having booked any accomodation thinking that we would "wing it". We drove in to Motel Russell (we were advised that it would probably be the most economical accomodation in the area) & I was very pleasantly surprised. The owner gave us a little discount as that room was the only one not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 13 June 2015

Motel Russell is in a good location within 5 minutes walk to town. It is spacious and clean. The bedroom with a queen bed and is separate from the living/kitchen room which has a single bed. So it could suit 3 people travelling together. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. It has excellent free wi-fi. I recommended it highly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne D
russ223, Owner at Motel Russell, responded to this review

Hello Suzanne. Thank you for taking the time to do a review of your stay with us at Motel Russell. We are happy that we able to meet your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay in Russell. We hope that we might be able to be of assistance when your next traveling to the Bay of Islands.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 June 2015

This is our last night of a three night stay and we do not want to leave. Rooms are so clean and the one bedroom unit we are in has everything in it from cutlery to pots and pans and a supper comfy bed. Hosts are truly wonderful people and make sure that you are well looked after.It has rained...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frankM1272DS
russ223, Owner at Motel Russell, responded to this review

Hi Frank. Thank you very much for taking the time to do a review of recent stay with us at Motel Russell. We knew how important your break away from work was and we felt awful that the weather let you down, but please do come back in summer. Thank you for your kind words and that you were satisfied...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 June 2015

We went at Easter and the pool was freezing. Not heated at all so not much of an option for the kids. Hosts pretty grumpy and not really around much. Nowhere for kids to play safely. We won't be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jen H
russ223, Owner at Motel Russell, responded to this review

Hi Jen H. Thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations. If you had bothered to read the notice that was posted on the door of reception you would have seen that the day before your visit the management team were dealing with a death in the family...

Reviewed 24 April 2015

This is our third stay at Motel Russell and as with previous stays it was excellent. Rooms are spotless and well equipped. Staff are there to help and are very pleasant. Will go home and recommend to all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 187apostolos
russ223, Owner at Motel Russell, responded to this review

Hi. Thank you once again for taking the time to do a review of your recent stay at Motel Russell. We do enjoy your stay with us and thank you for re-booking once again for this September. Happy and safe travels and see you soon.

MC1976
Reviewed 19 April 2015 via mobile

Functional room. We had three beds as travelling as group - one single, one double and one fold out. Clean and tidy. Functional kitchen. Nothing to write home about but certainly fitted the bill for a one night stay. Good price for what it was.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MC1976
russ223, Owner at Motel Russell, responded to this review

Hello. Thank you for taking the time to do a review of your stay at Motel Russell and we do hope that you enjoyed the Cape Brett Marathon.

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.6 km away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.4 km away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
247 reviews
3.9 km away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
192 reviews
3.6 km away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
546 reviews
17.3 km away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Motel Russell is located an easy five minute walk to the Russell Wharf and two minutes to the Russell Boat Club. Motel Russell has a range of accommodation to suit everyones needs, Queen Studios, King Studios, Twin Studio with Kitchen, One Bedroom Apartments that sleep up to five, Two Bedroom Cottage great for two couples, or the Two Bedroom Family units that sleep up to eight. The pool is lovely and there is plenty of room on the barbeque to sizzle up what you like. Wake up to Subtopical gardens and birdsong. Book tours, cruises and local activities at reception, management aims to please. Low weekly rates offered in the slow season afford an excellent long stay option for those seeking a quiet getaway from it all experience.MOTEL RUSSELL IS A SMOKE FREE MOTEL.SMOKING IS NOT PERMITTED ANYWHERE ON MOTEL GROUNDS. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Motel Russell

Address: 16 Matauwhi Bay Road, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Price Range: €77 - €110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel Russell 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Motel Russell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Russell
#4 Romantic Hotel in Russell
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Motel Russell staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If possible away from the main road,”
 of 5 bubbles ToblerE, 25 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Talk to the owners first.”
 of 5 bubbles kinvigcat, 29 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Choose top floor”
 of 5 bubbles 187apostolos, 24 Apr 2015 | Read review
“The 1 Bedroom unit was a great option”
 of 5 bubbles bec_holiday, 7 Apr 2015 | Read review
“We were in room 11 which faced the road but noise not an issue would have preferred a first floor room”
 of 5 bubbles gowerexplorersr, 19 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay