We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The White House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The White House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The White House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 103: English reviews
artbcpa
Reviewed 18 April 2010

From the prior reviews, you probably get the idea that this is a fabulous place to stay - and I agree. I want to add one more thing abut the hosts - Steve and Emma. Not only are they friendly, but they went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect. They asked to see my itinerary and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank artbcpa
Auckland
Reviewed 11 April 2010

Awesome guesthouse in a great location. Hosts Steve and Emma were very hospitable and helped make our stay truly relaxing and refreshing. I will definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrsmithauckland
Auckland
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Had a great stay at the White House. Emma and Steve are wonderful hosts and the rooms are delightful. Accommodated me and my crazy wedding party with smiles and good grace. Will definitely be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KiwiHolidayHead
UK
Reviewed 4 April 2010

We stayed 3 nights at the White House, and wish that we could have stayed longer. Russell is beautiful, and the best base for exploring the Bay of Islands. The White House is centrally located and close to all the main facilities in Russell. Emma and Steve are excellent hosts. They provided us with very good advice on trips and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JandKUk
Auckland
Reviewed 20 March 2010

My wife and I have stayed here twice now, and the White House is absolutely top class. Rooms and living area are luxurious, comfortable and charmingly decorated, and hosts Emma and Steve are lovely, friendly and knowledgable. Steve also cooks an awesome fried breakfast! Can’t imagine there’s anywhere else in the Bay of Islands that can match the White House.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JTG1981
Leeds
Reviewed 13 March 2010

We stayed 2 nights at the start of 23 day tour of NZ - & with a very warm welcome from Emma our holiday got off to an excellent start . Lovely room & breakfast on both mornings. Very stylish bathroom with robes & good quality toiletries. Free laundry very useful. After the drive from Auckland we wanted a car...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank judithLeeds
styal, wilmslow
Reviewed 31 January 2010

What a great find, so relaxed and welcoming. Russell is so beautiful and the White House a real special place to stay. The room was spotless and very tasteful, great verandah and relaxed breakfast in the garden. Emma and Steve are great hosts!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chrisj_instyal
Auckland
Reviewed 20 January 2010

One of the original houses in Russell has been renovated to the highest standard by Steve and Emma. This is our second stay in a year and we couldn't wait to return and weren't disappointed. We yet again enjoyed the most relaxing holiday - ever. The outdoor areas are peaceful and serene with lovely birdlife sounds while you are enjoying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BensonAuckland
Wellington
Reviewed 17 January 2010

The White House is a wonderful place to stay! Emma and Steve were always friendly and accommodating, and a mine of information. The house itself is beautiful and the atmosphere is relaxing and restful. If you like bespoke service, a bit of historical charm and un-fussy luxury, then the White House is worth a look.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rnls
England
Reviewed 14 January 2010

Overall we enjoyed our 4 night stay at The White House but having spent three weeks staying in similarly priced B+Bs in NZ, we felt this place wasn't quite up to scratch. The main downside were the breakfasts, which was a real surprise as we had read the reviews on here and were expecting them to be amazing; they weren't!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NZtrip09
Tewharema, Owner at The White House, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay as much as we thought you had. With respect to the garden it should be noted we are in the grip of 3 months drought, therefore the garden does not look at its best. The cooked breakfasts are served in a Bain Marie and the breakfasts are cooked...

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
1:50
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Russell hotels
0.2 km away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
248 reviews
0.2 km away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.2 km away
Flagstaff Lodge & Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
192 reviews
0.7 km away
Arcadia Lodge
Arcadia Lodge
#2 of 21 in Russell
296 reviews
0.1 km away
Seaport Village
Seaport Village
#9 of 21 in Russell
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Luxury Heritage Holiday Accommodation in the heart of Russell, Bay of Islands, New Zealand. A 2 minute flat walk to the waterfront. In one of NZ's oldest houses you can't help but have a truly unique stay. Circa 1840. 'The White House' - the luxuries of a hotel with the comfort of a home. A fully renovated villa with open plan kitchen/lounge, 3 beautiful ensuite rooms & Super King size beds. FREE Wi-Fi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The White House

Address: 7 Church Street, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Price Range: €267 - €365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The White House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This is a 3 bedroom self catered house, not a hotel”
 of 5 bubbles margaretg336, 17 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Each room is very well appointed, towels, robes, shampoos and lotions supplied. If you need single beds, the hosts can split them.”
 of 5 bubbles PhilippaNZ, 4 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Saturday night at the pub is a little rowdy, but not enough to disturb a good night's sleep in one of the rear bedrooms.”
 of 5 bubbles strangemansland, 9 Feb 2015 | Read review
“We had the front room , very spacious”
 of 5 bubbles JoanneS718, 12 Jan 2014 | Read review
“All 3 rooms great!”
 of 5 bubbles AlmaB258, 19 Apr 2013 | Read review
5 of 5