We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hotel Nelson

Overview
40 Waimea Road, Nelson 7010 New Zealand See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
4 Star accommodation
About
Description
The Hotel Nelson is located a short stroll from the Nelson Saturday Market, business, shopping and entertainment precinct of central Nelson. We offer a selection of studio, superior units and fully self More contained apartments - offering a variety of rooms to suit your needs whether travelling for business or leisure. To compliment our accommodation we also offer our on site restaurant - Flames on 40 - an ideal place to enjoy breakfast, dinner or a drink after a days work or exploring. Conference facilities and / or a private dining room are also on site for your business needs. Fully air conditioned units and a heated outdoor swimming pool are available for our guests to enjoy. We now accept WeChat Pay. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Pool
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Air Conditioning
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference Facilities
Electric Vehicle Charging Station
Heated pool
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Microwave
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Refrigerator in room
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Beachfront
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel Style
Luxury
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel Style
Luxury
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
78
Price range
US$65 - US$184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Formerly known as
Quality Inn Nelson
Also Known As
Leisure Hotel Nelson
Location
New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 42 nearby hotels
Urban Apartments
24 reviews
.10 km away
Chelsea Park Motor Lodge
430 reviews
.39 km away
Century Park Motor Lodge
731 reviews
.43 km away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
589 reviews
.59 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 214 nearby restaurants
Cod & Lobster Brasserie
738 reviews
.87 km away
East St.
315 reviews
.86 km away
Melrose House Cafe
398 reviews
.48 km away
Kush Coffee
115 reviews
.89 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 142 nearby attractions
Nelson Saturday Market
292 reviews
.98 km away
Tops Adventure Tours - Day Tours
5 reviews
.69 km away
Nelson Provincial Museum
144 reviews
.94 km away
Nelson Farmers' Market
30 reviews
.99 km away
Reviews & more
196Reviews
46Photos
0Q+A
44Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 88
  • 80
  • 15
  • 10
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
Unfortunately the hairdryer was broken and the shower was not great but other than that it was a great location and staff were helpful and welcoming. Great location and accessible to most things. Quiet area
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who wanted a quiet break. The room was spotless and very quiet and comfortable. The reception staff were so good as we arrived a little early but still let us check in early and were so helpful with advice for the local area.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
It did not deliver what it promised. We did not have a good night sleep for two of the nights because of the noises next door. The walls of the hotel are paper thin. Other than that, the room is clean.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from THNelson, Manager at The Hotel Nelson
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you Paradise for your review, although very sorry to hear your sleep was disturbed. Kind regards the team at The Hotel Nelson
Read more
This is an excellent, modern hotel, well priced and did not disappoint. It was handy to the city centre, had great facilities and we would recommend to anyone. The buffet breakfast was good but we were a bit miffed on Saturday night when we came back for a night cap drink at 9.1
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from THNelson, Manager at The Hotel Nelson
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your recommendation. Kind regards the team at The Hotel Nelson
Read more
Hotel is nice and the people are friendly but the attention to details were missing. A number of small failures but accumulated into a disappointing experience. Ordered 2 x meals over the time there and each time the order was incomplete and therefore dining experience was disjoi
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from THNelson, Manager at The Hotel Nelson
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review, although I was disappointed to read of the areas we did not deliver in. As you said all simple areas where if we had asked an extra question or completed our job fully - we would have got it right Please accept our apologies for all small failures that lead to your disappointment - all the departments that are highlighted in you review have been spoken to and further training is underway to get all new and existing staff up to speed for the busy summer season. Kind regards Kim and the team at The Hotel Nelson
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Business Centre & Event Rooms
Photo provided by managementThe Hotel Nelson
Three bedroom master bedroom
Previous
"Rooms on the long block at the back were very quiet"
"Not applicable"
"Walls are thin, bring ear plugs,"
"our room was by the road but found it quite"
"Stay somewhere else with helpful staff"
Previous
1234569
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing