We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rutherford Hotel Nelson

Show Prices
#14 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

371 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rutherford Hotel Nelson
See the most recent reviews
Showing 348: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 November 2015

Spent two nights here, great spot as is very central to town. Selection of on site restaurants is great if you don't want to walk or drive anywhere. Downstairs cafe looked nice but was not open on a Sunday morning which would have been nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Metro777
RutherfordHotelGM, Front Office Manager at Rutherford Hotel Nelson, responded to this review

Dear Guest, On behalf of Rutherford Hotel, I wanted to thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Nelson. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding the cafe opening hours, unfortunately it is only open on week days, however we offer the Oceano Restaurant open from 6am to 10:30 where you can get...

California
Reviewed 24 November 2015

This was a perfectly adequate hotel in a central location. But in this day and age, charging $10/night for wifi seems outrageous. And to use their laundry you had to go to the desk to buy tokens for $3/load or dryer. Charge me an extra $10/night and make it all included. This place just annoyed me.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NeroCalifornia
RutherfordHotelGM, Front Office Manager at Rutherford Hotel Nelson, responded to this review

Dear Guest On behalf of Rutherford Hotel, I wanted to thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Nelson. Your concerns regarding the our prices on wireless does not fall on deaf ears, we are currently reviewing our policy regarding wireless charges and have have already began providing more complimentary access to our guests. We also offer...

Christchurch
Reviewed 17 November 2015

well located in central Nelson, though Nelson isn't a big place so there are many motels/hotels that can make that claim. Clean, good comfortable bed, spacious rooms, nice bath products (a good touch). We didn't eat there so can't comment. We were on the top floor which has good views. Quiet except for the Saturday night when we got a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank whattosay
RutherfordHotelGM, Front Office Manager at Rutherford Hotel Nelson, responded to this review

Dear Whattosay, On behalf of Rutherford Hotel, I wanted to thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Nelson. The hotel is currently looking at plans for a refurbishment and we will take you comments about the quality of your room into consideration as we move forward with those plans. We thank you for taking the time...

Reviewed 29 October 2015

I enjoyed my short stay at the hotel, for the most part. Rooms were big and comfortable and the windows could open. I would have liked cheeper wifi, but no big deal. A major complaint is the smoking policy that seems to allow people to smoke in the elevator. I am allergic and get migranes from cigarette smoke. I suggest...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Steven D
RutherfordHotelGM, Front Office Manager at Rutherford Hotel Nelson, responded to this review

Dear Steven On behalf of Rutherford Hotel, I wanted to thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Nelson. The policy of the hotel is strictly no smoking except for in the outside areas away from the main doors, where ash trays are provided. Your unfortunate encounter with a smoky elevator could have been due to the...

Reviewed 26 October 2015 via mobile

Had a very enjoyable 2 night stay. Friendly and helpful staff. Spacious room. Super comfy bed. But ..... In this day and age having only 30 mins free wifi in 24 hours is ridiculous. Expecting guests to pay is nonsense. I would recommend without hesitation if not for this.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Caro8880
RutherfordHotelGM, Front Office Manager at Rutherford Hotel Nelson, responded to this review

Dear Caro8880 On behalf of Rutherford Hotel, I wanted to thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Nelson. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay; I will pass your compliments on to our team. Your concerns regarding the our prices on wireless does not fall on deaf ears, we are currently reviewing our policy...

Reviewed 20 October 2015 via mobile

This hotel is in the centre of town opposite the Cathedral. The staff are friendly and the food is good. There is a café, two restaurants and a bar. The gym is basic, but fine. The rooms are a good size. There are lots of conference rooms and I'd stay there again for business.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scribo
RutherfordHotelGM, Front Office Manager at Rutherford Hotel Nelson, responded to this review

Dear Scribo On behalf of Rutherford Hotel, I wanted to thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Nelson. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. It is part of our culture to celebrate success and receiving positive feedback is an integral part of this process. I will share your feedback with the team. Regarding the...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 October 2015

I have just finished running a major conference in this hotel, The support from the staff and indeed the Nelson community has been great. The staff were quick to respond to any request, food superb and delegates came away saying best ever conference. Well done the team at the Rutherford.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce R
RutherfordHotelGM, Front Office Manager at Rutherford Hotel Nelson, responded to this review

Dear Guest, On behalf of Rutherford Hotel, I wanted to thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Nelson. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we exceeded your expectations. It is part of our culture to celebrate success and receiving positive feedback is an integral part of this process. I will share...

Gisborne, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 September 2015

Really impressed with location and quality of facilities at this perfectly central located hotel in heart of nelson city. Close to everything you could need. All within walking distance. A nice restaurant on site as well as close to many other ethnic restaurants. Very pleasant staff of different nationalities. in a nice clean city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bevanandminda
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Clean,flash,beautiful on site restaurants, beautiful breakfast, right in town. Who needs a prince when you can live like a princess. New world in walking distance. Hosted on Cutting edge conference very well. All the food was yet again yum and a good price. Room service excellent. Shampoo n conditioner excellent and replaced daily. Pillows and duvets were clean and exquisite.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ruthl593
RutherfordHotelGM, Front Office Manager at Rutherford Hotel Nelson, responded to this review

Dear Guest, On behalf of Rutherford Hotel, I wanted to thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Nelson. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we exceeded your expectations. It is part of our culture to celebrate success and receiving positive feedback is an integral part of this process. I will share...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2015

The Rutherford Hotel offers a good standard of accommodation with welcoming staff and a large car park. It is well situated near the Cathedral and with easy access to restaurants,a supermarket and Nelson's several bookshops. An enjoyable place to stay in a great city with many attractions. Do not miss the opportunity to take a local wine tour.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GedMliverpool

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.1 km away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
647 reviews
0.9 km away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.1 km away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#6 of 41 in Nelson
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
0.3 km away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.8 km away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Miyazu Japanese Restaurant
Miyazu Japanese Restaurant
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Oceano
Oceano
Cuisines: New Zealand, Seafood, European
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nelson is an extraordinary NZ destination befitting a hotel of such a high standard. The Rutherford Hotel Nelson offers luxurious hotel accommodation with a full complement of features designed to help you achieve the most from your stay. The hotel offers a range of superior guest facilities including two restaurants, a cafe and is only a couple of minutes walk from Nelson's main shopping district and landmark cathedral. Dining, relaxing, or getting away from it all, this is one of the few hotels that puts you right at the doorstep of three national parks and an unmatched range of sandy beaches, blue seas and mountain wilderness. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rutherford Hotel Nelson

Address: 27 Nile Street West | P O Box 248, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Price Range: €133 - €176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rutherford Hotel Nelson 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rutherford Hotel Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelson Rutherford Hotel
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rutherford Hotel Nelson staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Centennial, Colorado
Centennial, Colorado
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Rutherford Hotel Nelson staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A high floor would offer better views.”
monn53, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a view out to the sea.”
Murray_D_R, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Good views from eighth floor!”
MrsBiffo, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Great place to stay if you don't have a car, walking distance from most places”
jennifervH375QP, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms seemed to be fine”
DaleB973, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5