We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Empire Hotel Backpackers

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Empire Hotel Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 82: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
185 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a great stay here for a few days during the Victorian festival. Really excellent value. Beds are comfy, showers are great, staff are super friendly, common areas are very well set out, free car parking and the location is unbeatable. Highly recommend.

Thank CrazyPenguin
New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Most amazing and friendly staff, great facilities and very close to everything. Steam punk hq round the corner which is worth a visit! Train station 5 minute walk, beautiful bay with cafes and cute shops to visit. On site parking too!

Thank Wilsonellie
12Lavleen26, Manager at Empire Hotel Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. It was pleasure to have you here and we hope we will see you again some time soon. More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

I was met here by a rude Indian looking receptionist. She arrogantly told me to remove my small shoulder bag from her table/counter, while I was getting my credit card to pay in her cramped teeny weeny area. When I asked for simple questions like where the supermarket was, she answered me hurriedly, showing little concern. I guess she did... More 

Thank polkachu
12Lavleen26, Manager at Empire Hotel Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am sorry that you feel like you had a bad experience in our hostel. However, i do feel like, there is a bit of misunderstanding here. I did ask the guest to remove her bag from the counter ,not while she was getting her credit card out from her bag, but the time... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Decent, clean place to stay overnight. I give it 3 stars because there's nothing bad to write about but nothing amazing either. Average service and no off street parking. Stayed in a Twin room for 1 night.

Thank KelvinNZ
Level Contributor
102 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Very nice hostel, comfy beds, nice kitchen. Clean sheets, clean bathrooms and showers. I spent one night with a friend in a 4 share. The view from our window was beautiful especially at sunrise! Definitely recommended.

Thank Laura D
Greater Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2016

We stayed at your hotel on 23 & 29 March. You were very friendly to us and we enjoyed our stay. The building was an historical Victorian building and the buildings around you were also from this period. We also liked the ANZ Building. It was like walking back into time. We are Marianne and Robert O'Hagan. We stayed at... More 

Thank am0ment
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2016

Warm welcome by the friendly and fun manager! But this very old building is cold and tired with kitchens that could do with modernization. Pros: - powerful hot showers! - clean bathrooms! - cosy lounge area with fireplace! - warm and chatty manager who is lovely and very welcoming! She seemed to know the various guests and we had one... More 

Thank XavierZen
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2016

We loved this place. Mandy is the perfect hostess and it was a real pleasure to meet her. The place has great character, we really loved the downstairs communal room with the open fire. Kitchens were great, everything clean and nice room. We had a great stay and the only pity was that we couldn't stay longer. Will definitely return... More 

Thank Alan C
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2016 via mobile

It's a beautiful Victorian building, right in the middle of the town alongside all the other Victorian buildings. Lounge is comfortable with loads of information on Oamaru pinned on the wall. Just lack of power point in room. Staff is helpful in giving suggestions for activities.

Thank frolicker_leon
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2016

To keep the overall cost of our long NZ trip down, we stayed at a few cheaper places and the Empire Backpackers was one of those. The lady who ran the place was very helpful, even phoning a restaurant to book a table for us. The room was quite small as we could only just fit our two large holdalls... More 

Thank Toby S

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (8)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Dining (1)
Family/Play Areas (2)
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (3)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oamaru hotels
0.3 km away
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
Brydone Hotel Oamaru
#13 of 19 in Oamaru
160 reviews
0.2 km away
Criterion Hotel
Criterion Hotel
#6 of 26 in Oamaru
56 reviews
1.1 km away
Oamaru Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Oamaru Motor Lodge
Oamaru Motor Lodge
#2 of 19 in Oamaru
158 reviews
2.5 km away
Chillawhile Backpackers Art Gallery
1.8 km away
Ambassador Motor Lodge
Ambassador Motor Lodge
#3 of 19 in Oamaru
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Empire Hotel Backpackers is a carefully restored 1867 hotel in the heart of historic Oamaru. Guests walk through Victorian Streets to penguin viewing, galleries, cafes, bars, gardens, harbour and heritage walkways. We offer heated bedrooms, comfortable beds, well equipped kitchens and lounge rooms. One lounge has a log burner and free video library, with 3 internet kiosks. WiFi is available throughout the hostel. Our cleanliness and hot showers are a legend. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Empire Hotel Backpackers

Address: 13 Thames Street, Oamaru 9400, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Oamaru
Price Range: €38 - €46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Empire Hotel Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Empire Hotel Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Noisy trains right outside the window all night long rooms on left side upstairs”
 of 5 bubbles 7LisaP7, 7 Mar 2016 | Read review
“within walking distance to Steampunk and Penguins and the old town”
 of 5 bubbles Boolfrog, 13 Jan 2016 | Read review
“There are alot of stairs so if you are an oldie, looking for a quiet, friendly, homelike place to stay, very convenient to everything this is a great place, just ask for a downstairs room. Treat yourself to a singalong down in what we affectionately called the dungeon - downstairs- very atmospheric and piano and guitars were put to good use.”
 of 5 bubbles 180BernieP, 20 Apr 2014 | Read review
“If you want to see the penguins but are not keen on paying the extortionate tour prices then speak to Mandy and she'll tell you where to see them for free.”
 of 5 bubbles gavmountford, 1 Jan 2014 | Read review
4 of 4
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay