We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The White Morph Heritage Collection

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The White Morph Heritage Collection
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

401 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for The White Morph Heritage Collection
See the most recent reviews
Showing 375: English reviews
Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2016

The motel has a lovely outlook and very friendly, helpful reception staff who cheerfully recommended and found us a place to eat at short notice. The beds were so comfortable and for the quality this motel was reasonably priced.

Thank Lesli S
MIke R, Manager at The White Morph Heritage Collection, responded to this review

Dear Lesli S Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are always willing to help with suggestions and bookings if required. Wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed the luxurious comfort of our new beds. Regards Mike Manager

Axminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2016

Clean, well appointed and spacious. The bed I would like to take home. It's very comfortable . The view and sound of the sea is good to wake up to. Not to far from good value restaurants and attractions

Thank lynian321
MIke R, Manager at The White Morph Heritage Collection, responded to this review

Dear Lynian321 Happy to hear you enjoyed our new beds. Here at The White Morph we think it is very important to have the most comfortable nights sleep possible. A lot of research has been done by the Heritage Hotel Group to be able to provide this comfort to our guests. Regards Mike Manager

Chillagoe, Australia
Reviewed 6 February 2016

We had a lovely one night stay here the room was immaculate with stunning views of the ocean and friendly helpful staff. Our room was fully self contained with spa bath, and the beds were extremely comfortable. It is a bit of a walk to the restaurants and bars but other than that I could not fault this place I...

1Thank Deborah W
MIke R, Manager at The White Morph Heritage Collection, responded to this review

Dear Deborah W Thank you for your review of The White Morph. Our new beds are very comfortable, aren't they. We are glad to hear you were pleased with your stay at The White Morph. Regards Mike Manager

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 February 2016 via mobile

Wonderful views from our room overlooking the sea. This is the most comfortable bed of our holiday to date. A lovely big spas bath and small balcony with 2 outdoor chairs to soak up the sun and sea. A good location beach front and very clean. We cant fault this place and recommend it to others.

1Thank Alipa50
MIke R, Manager at The White Morph Heritage Collection, responded to this review

Dear A P Thank you for your recommendation. We are very pleased to hear your enjoyed your stay at The White Morph. The new beds, aren't they wonderful. Regards Mike Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 February 2016

We stayed at the White Morph for one night and were very comfortable. They offer recycling in the rooms which is very nice. They have large patios to relax on. We had lovely views of the ocean across the street and were within walking distance to the main part of the town.

2Thank Kristy T
MIke R, Manager at The White Morph Heritage Collection, responded to this review

Dear Kristy T Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. The Kaikoura community is keen on making a concerted effort on recycling where possible. Regards Mike Manager

Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewed 1 February 2016 via mobile

We had a great time driving around New Zealand and picton to kaikoura, was one of our best drives, white morph is an excellent hotel, small but elegant in a location which was very isolated at night. I strongly recommend the hotel if anyone is travelling to kaikoura and definitely do not miss the whale watch experience.

1Thank Kevinholmes
MIke R, Manager at The White Morph Heritage Collection, responded to this review

Dear Kevinholmes Thank you for taking time to place feedback on your recent stay. The South Island has some wonderful driving roads with some awesome views and the coastal drive around Kaikoura does not disappoint. Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and your whale watch experience. Regards Mike Manager

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 31 January 2016 via mobile

Spent 1 night while traveling around South Island with 2 other couples. Stayed in historic waterfront rooms on first floor with ocean view. All rooms slightly different but each with balcony, good size rooms, really well appointed & classy finishes. Ocean views & hearing the ocean as you sleep was fantastic. Location of hotel is also very good. The receptionist...

Thank Garry M
MIke R, Manager at The White Morph Heritage Collection, responded to this review

Dear Garry M This comment as been posted to the wrong property. The correct property is Kaikoura Boutique Hotel. Kind Regards Mike Manager

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 January 2016

Arrived late due to delayed ferry sailing. Night Manager was bright, cheerful, and helpful. Plenty of off-street parking. We had a deluxe, partial ocean view room on level 1. Generous sized room. Spotlessly clean. Good bathroom facilities and comfy bed. Great to be able to hear, smell, and see the ocean. We were late leaving but 'not a problem' for...

Thank John T
Staines, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 January 2016

We spent two nights at the White Morph. Check in was quick and easy and we got a choice of milk. The receptionist was really helpful, booking us a restaurant for dinner and giving directions when we left. Wifi codes were given to us without having to ask about Internet access. The room was a good size and clean and...

Thank Gemma B
Raleigh, NC
Reviewed 22 January 2016

The White Morph is just across the road from the beach, so offers nice sunrise walks. It is convenienlty located close to town. The rooms are spacious enough and quiet, so sleep quality is good. They do not serve brekfast but you have a restaurant nearby and a fridge in your room, so you have optins there.

Thank claude_monnier

175 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (135)
View from Room (13)
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Bathroom (5)
Room/Suite (32)
Dining (2)
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (40)
Room/Suite (18)
View from Room (11)
Bathroom (4)
Dining (1)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.3 km away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
0.0 km away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
411 reviews
2.2 km away
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
#16 of 20 in Kaikoura
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#15 of 20 in Kaikoura
109 reviews
0.7 km away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
1.5 km away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set on the Esplanade in iconic Kaikoura, The White Morph enjoys commanding views of the ocean right to the distant horizon and mountains, and gives you access to all of the region's many experiences. We offer a range of 5 Star and 4 Star Qualmark rated studios and self-contained apartments. Our 5 Star Premium studios include an ocean views and a hydrotherapy spa en-suite. Our 4 Star Garden Studios and Family Apartments look out to the garden area. Cafe Encounter, Shops, movie theatre and all activities are in close vicinity. 8 Premium Studios, king beds, with hydra-therapy spa baths. 4 Premium Studios, with either a king bed or twin beds,with spa baths. 4 Deluxe Studios, king bed with bath and shower. 3 Family Apartments, accommodation for up to 6 persons. 12 Garden Studios with queen and single beds ... more   less 

Additional Information about The White Morph Heritage Collection

Address: 92-94 Esplanade | post code: 7300, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand (Formerly White Morph Motor Inn)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Price Range: €99 - €199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Morph Heritage Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The White Morph Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Morph Motor Hotel Kaikoura
White Morph Hotel
White Morph Kaikoura
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kaikoura
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The White Morph Heritage Collection staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The White Morph Heritage Collection staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a sea view”
149johnw, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at front have balcony and sea view.”
Whiskyclark, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Sea facing rooms on the first floor are the best. Other rooms overlook the parking area.”
Philipvg, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for sea view room if available”
DomAustralia, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a sea view. The main road is just below, but we were not bothered by traffic sounds.”
AlanRJ, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5