We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bella Vista Motel Hokitika

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

208 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 200: English reviews
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 1 night during our south island trip. Very clean motel, we had a family room for 4. It was spacious, clean and well equipped. Bathroom was modern and clean. The owners are very helpful and friendly people.Wifi was kind of iffy in our room.

Helpful?
Thank ek b
uk
Level Contributor
214 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall we were disappointed in this chain of Motels which look so nice in there adverts. This one the room was small, slightly smelly, it had a fridge microwave etc. but it was a bit cramped. I think we were so pleased with the previous nights accommodation we felt let down. Also we compare with Premier Inns in the uk... More 

Helpful?
Thank screennamechalky
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay but it sounds like you were more disappointed in the chain rather than our motel. You mention your room was a bit cramped - you did book one of our small compact studio rooms. Regards Claire More 

Kennewick
Level Contributor
147 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The man at reception was very helpful regarding dining and sightseeing. We arrived in the pouring rain which lasted all night. No lift so had to carry luggage upstairs. The room had an odor of dirty sneakers and carpet was dirty. Least desireable accommodation so far in the country try. Booked based on Trip Advisor ratings and was frankly happy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martie E
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in upstairs unit which was clean, very comfortable bed, free wi fi and had microwave. It was a 5min walk from the Intercity bus stop and town centre. Dale greeted us on arrival and was very friendly and helpful and gave us tips as to the best places to eat, also offered to drive us to the bus stop... More 

Helpful?
Thank Glenys H
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review

Hi great having you thanks for your comments Dale More 

sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Looks really average at first sight. Seems that any request is not a problem Wonderful warm welcome, our unit was spotless, sizeable and comfortable. Excellent value. We had to leave early the following morning, so our stay was short but really pleasant and would not hesitate to return again.

Helpful?
Thank BMITravel
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review

thanks for staying with us it was great having you cheers Dale More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just wanted a comfortable bed to stay on the last night of our road trip holiday. This was just what we were looking for. Friendly, helpful staff. A small studio unit with everything we needed for our overnight stay.

Helpful?
Thank Heather S
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review

thank you great having you to stay with us cheers Dale More 

Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Very friendly service. We had a studio. The room was very clean and came with everything that you expect but to be honest I did find it very small. Lying in bed the TV was off to the right and it was awkward to watch. It would have been better where the cupboard was and that could have been swapped... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Pieter S
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review

thanks for your comments we are working on the placements of the tvs More 

Edithvale, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2016

The Last of our Bella vistas the room was clean and comfortable, car park straight out the front. Close to town and surrounding areas. No problem with wifi, but I did find the Kitchenette was very hard to do things in, even just making a cup of tea. Things seemed jammed in. Other than that everything else was fine.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ian R
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review

hi thanks for your feedback thanks for choosing the BV motels to stay at More 

New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed the Bella Vista. We had a family room that was spacious enough and clean and comfortable. Location is good. Just a five minute walk in to the Main Street area of Hokitika. The man on reception was very nice and helpful and we really enjoyed our two night stay.

Helpful?
1 Thank E5891
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review

thank you for your feedback hope your holiday went well More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2016

I was given a friendly welcome and some milk for my tea. I felt the price was pretty reasonable. Plenty of parking. Wifi was easy to access and of pretty decent quality. The room was compact (though I was by myself so I was very happy with it), clean and with working fridge and kettle. Comfy bed with an electric... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AlexSkinner
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review

thank you for taking your time to comment im glad your time in hokitika went well More 

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hokitika hotels
0.4 km away
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
0.8 km away
Fitzherbert Court Motel
Fitzherbert Court Motel
#7 of 9 in Hokitika
77 reviews
1.0 km away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#1 of 9 in Hokitika
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Jade Court Motor Lodge
Jade Court Motor Lodge
#5 of 9 in Hokitika
133 reviews
1.2 km away
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
0.6 km away
Drifting Sands Beachfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Hokitika

Address: 52 Fitzherbert Street, Hokitika, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Price Range: €84 - €121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel Hokitika 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Hokitika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hokitika
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hokitika
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bella Vista Motel Hokitika staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Berkshire
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Bella Vista Motel Hokitika staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Easy to find on our way through Hokitika”
 of 5 bubbles , 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Perhaps ask for a room on the top floor, less noise with people moving around.”
 of 5 bubbles bradarcus, 15 May 2016 | Read review
“2 story so maybe ground floor if you can”
 of 5 bubbles ceterpaple, 2 May 2016 | Read review
“This property is in a quiet position and so all rooms would be suitable for comfort.”
 of 5 bubbles 844Duchess, 20 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are all the same probably bigger if travelling as a family”
 of 5 bubbles wittsNz, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay