We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mountain Jade Backpackers

Hostelworld.comUS$37*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

74 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 67: English reviews
Start your review of Mountain Jade Backpackers
 Click to rate
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in a lovely self contained apartment on Feb 23. Reached there just before 9pm as we had been driving from Christchurch and had a couple of hikes at Arthur's pass. If we had been further delayed checkin may have become difficult as the owner does not stay onsite at night. He's a nice friendly guy though. Next day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IndFamTraveler
MJadeBackpackers, Manager at Mountain Jade Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your great review of us. We are very happy that you had a great time on the west coast. We hope that the rest of your travels around New Zealand are as good. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights in mid April. The hostel is kept very clean and tidy by the owner/manager, who seemed always to be busy folding towels and sheets, making up beds etc. We stayed in a double room which was pretty small but had lots of windows so was quite light. It was no problem to share the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank P W
MJadeBackpackers, Manager at Mountain Jade Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your comments on us here. We are happy to hear that you had a good time with us here and hope the rest of your time in New Zealand is the same. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Too many Bed bugs there, Avoid! I got biten Whole body, Face ,arms,back, Most Itchy Ever Never!!!!!!!!!! Everywhere swolen ,No efect medicine, Storong Bed bugs!!!!!! I got spend monay for madicine, Dr. fee, Extra accomodation e.t.c. cleaner staff "Jhon" was no appolozize, moreover he was on perpose reccomend terrible Bed bug room to me! He didn't no clean up room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pppoo
MJadeBackpackers, Manager at Mountain Jade Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your review. We did go over the entire room as you did see us starting with the Commercial steam vacum, The beds were stripped completely. Every time a bed is used all of the sheets etc are changed and fresh sheets put back on. I did ask you to check your bags which you did not...

Luang Prabang, Laos
Reviewed 21 April 2017

I received top quality service from John and his staff. The rooms and facilities were neat. John is very friendly, helpful and accommodating. I saw the man always doing something, interacting with people...he is running the place for the people and along with people. The Mountain Jade Backpackers is John, and the John is Mountain Jade Backpackers. It was cosy,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank piotrekj81
MJadeBackpackers, Manager at Mountain Jade Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Thank you. Wow thank you for the amazeing review of us here at Mountain Jade Backpackers. We are very pleased that you had a great time relaxing with us here. Yes this area does offer so much to do and you could spend a week here and still not do everything. We hope the rest of you travels are...

Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

We only stayed at Mountain Jade Backpackers for one night but we all loved it (x3 people). We had a self contained unit which had the most comfortable clean beds and super quiet. The guy (owner?) was so friendly, helpful and chatty. The wifi actually works and is good. A good place to stay all round. And so central too!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucy R
MJadeBackpackers, Manager at Mountain Jade Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your awesome review. Yes those self contained unit's are great for people just wanting a bit of quiet away from everyone else. We have worked on trying to give people the best wifi etc as possible as people rely on it so much now. We hope the rest of you travels are the same. Safe Travels...

La Ferte-Bernard, France
Reviewed 27 March 2017

A very nice place, right in the center of Hokitika ! Feel like home, very cosy. Everything is clean and tidy. Kitchen nicely equiped. Plenty of movies in case of bad weather and free unlimited WIFI. Bed comfortable, bathroom big enough and clean. Small hostel very well run ! Thanks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Camilleautourdumonde
MJadeBackpackers, Manager at Mountain Jade Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your awesome review of us here at Mountain Jade Backpackers. Yes the movies can be a great way to waste away a wet rainy day in Hokitika(we get them sometimes). We are very pleased that you had a great time with us and hope the rest of you time here in New Zealand is the same....

Reviewed 26 March 2017

Stayed in this hostel for one night and was so happy with it. Arrived off of my bus with a couple of friends to a really welcoming greeting and a show around the hostel which is relly open and airy, feeling more like a flat with multiple rooms than a hostel. It had really great facitilies which are clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BexhillGirl
MJadeBackpackers, Manager at Mountain Jade Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your great review we are very happy that you had a great time with us while you were here in Hokitika. We are glad that you liked everything that we and the area had to offer. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

Sydney
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

All I can say is that this place ticks all the boxes: comfy bed ,clean bathroom, tidy and well equipped kitchen + great lounge area,speedy free wifi and very friendly staff .Would definitely stay again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ollut S
MJadeBackpackers, Manager at Mountain Jade Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your review we are very happy that you had a nice comfortable stay with us. We hope to see you again some time. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night in a 6 bed dorm. Room was very spacious and clean. Kitchen and lounge area was also large and very clean, as were the bathrooms. Free wifi throughout, and 5 mins walk from Hokitika Beach. John the owner was very helpful, even dropped us off so we could catch our connecting bus the next morning. If we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LouP456
MJadeBackpackers, Manager at Mountain Jade Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your awesome review on us here in Hokitika, We try to make things as easy and comfortable for you while you stay here with us. We also always drop people to meet up with the Kiwi Experience bus if needed at no charge. We hope the rest of you travels in New Zealand were as good....

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 6 March 2017

I decided to give myself a few days just to rest and relax before venturing further down the south island and a friend recommended Hokitika rather than Greymouth, saying it was more charming than Greymouth and she was right! The town is small and quite charming and Mountain Jade Backpackers was just what I was looking for. The facilities are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mvida84
MJadeBackpackers, Manager at Mountain Jade Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review on us. We are very happy that you had a great stay with us here in Hokitika. We have tried to make things as comfortable as possible for people to make there stay with us the best we possibly can. We hope the rest of you stay in New Zealand is the same. Safe...

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hokitika hotels
0.2 km away
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
0.2 km away
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
1.0 km away
Fitzherbert Court Motel
Fitzherbert Court Motel
#8 of 9 in Hokitika
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
1.1 km away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#2 of 9 in Hokitika
260 reviews
0.4 km away
Jade Court Motor Lodge
Jade Court Motor Lodge
#5 of 9 in Hokitika
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Here at Mountain Jade Backpackers it is our aim to make your stay with us as relaxing as possible.We are only a few minutes walk from the beach and river.Plus the local craft stores and cafe's/Restaurants are only a short walk from us.We are situated at the clock tower corner above the Jade Factory. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mountain Jade Backpackers

Address: 41 Weld Street, Hokitika 7810, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Price Range: €16 - €32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mountain Jade Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mountain Jade Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid!!!!!!!!Too many Bed bugs there!!! Dadly Worst Back packer!!!!”
Pppoo, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“6 bed dorm is huge no feeling of being crampt, so generally a good sign for the rest of the rooms.”
BexhillGirl, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room which the window is not facing the bar on the other side of the road.”
Stephy_SL, 31 Jul 2014 | Read review
“If you're looking for a double - book in advance. There wasn't many people there when we stopped, so I'm assuming they only have one or two double rooms anyway.”
ShellbyFay, 4 Jul 2014 | Read review
“WE had a twin (my husband was also teaching) at the corner of the main building. It was quiet.”
silvia_frisia, 6 Mar 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$37* /night
View Deal
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates