We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all 34 hotels in Whangarei

Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei

234 reviews
Save
Traveller (19)
Room & Suite (9)
Pool & Beach (7)
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good38%
  • Average18%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
3.5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (234)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveller rating
71
81
41
23
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
71
81
41
23
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexecutive studiobuffet breakfasta king size bedstay there againroad noisecentral locationclose to townroom was largenew zealandstairwellkettlebasinmotelnzbay
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
71 - 75 of 226 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2015

Good location, Dinner was ok but nothing special better places to eat, room clean and tidy bed reasonable.Shower poor head kept falling down and temp wouldn't stay constant.Heat pump noisy.Overall ok but probably stay elsewhere next time.More

Thank Rob1572015
Response from DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel WhangareiResponded 16 July 2015

Hi Rob, Thanks for letting me know about the shower, as there are things in the rooms that we need to be reported by guests as we do not stay in the rooms and may not notice if things are not working as they should....More

Reviewed 8 July 2015

Our room was small but adequately suited out needs. Everything was clean. Room had tea and coffee making, hair drier. No mini bar but glasses in room. Only thing lacking was a spare pillow. There was one spare in the cupboard but I did get...More

Thank 2012kim
Response from DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel WhangareiResponded 16 July 2015

Hi 2012km, Thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay and please contact reception if you do need any extra bedding for your stay. We do not have minibars in the rooms but do offer room service should you require food or drinks....More

Reviewed 23 June 2015

The check in experience was OK, but I felt they could have mentioned the availability of all the services eg free wifi (which is great) so I didn't have to do the guess work. I was also on the second floor, and I thought they...More

Thank Sandarstar
Response from DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel WhangareiResponded 29 June 2015

Hi Sandarstar, Thanks for your feedback and it is great to see you enjoy the rooms. The restaurant is a large hotel restaurant that does not fall into the intimacy catogory I agree. We are always trying to improve our food and offerings so please...More

Reviewed 11 June 2015 via mobile

We stayed here on a Friday as a stopover to head to Kerikeri. The rooms are pleasantly surprising but don't stay for breakfast there are better places to eat than buffet in a dead quiet hotel. Good takeaway coffee. Apparently this is a weekday business...More

Thank Anita M
Response from DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel WhangareiResponded 17 June 2015

Hi Anita, Thank you for your comments re the rooms at the hotel. We are very busy through the week and some weekend we can be quiet, however on the day you were here, we did have over 60% occupancy in the hotel, so it...More

Reviewed 4 June 2015 via mobile

We stayed here a few days ago and it was horrible! A young indian gentlemen was very rude and arrogant towards my family. What ever happend to hospitality? This was our first family trip in the north island and our last! Horrible disgusting service upon...More

1  Thank Jwell998
Response from DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel WhangareiResponded 17 June 2015

Hi Jwell998, I have tied to ask you about your experience but you have not responded to any of my emails. I am very sorry if you did not receive the service that you, and I, expect the staff to extent to all guests at...More

PreviousNext
1131415161746
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (19)
Room & Suite (9)
Pool & Beach (7)
Dining (6)
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Bathroom (5)
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Pool
Room Service
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Meeting Rooms
Conference Facilities
Room Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pool
Details
Price range
US$71 - US$105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$71 - US$105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite