We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bignell Street Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Bignell Street Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bignell Street Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 42: English reviews
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I also was a little concerned by the reviews below, having booked before seeing them, but as the last reviewer has said found our units were clean recently painted, tidy and perfectly adequate. It is a cheap place to stay, its not flash but it has the basics covered fine. Comfortable bed, plenty of hot water through the shower etc....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Simon R
Nigel M, General Manager at Bignell Street Motel, responded to this review

Simon R, thanks for coming to stay with us. I am pleased that you found the room good value for money and that there was plenty of room for your large family. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

New Zealand
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I am aware of other reviews that are not terribly complimentary about this motel BUT we took a group of school kids here and we were totally surprised with the place. The owners have put in a lot of work to upgrade this motel. We had 6 rooms that had all been recently renovated, superb clean and tidy. The bathrooms...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JDNZ
Nigel M, General Manager at Bignell Street Motel, responded to this review

JDNZ, I am glad that you and your team had a pleasent stay with us and that you found the facilities that we have available to be above your expectation. We hope you come and stay with us again soon.

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I booked through Jasons and so paid upfront. If it wasn't for that I'd have left. No lightbulb in loo, bathroom light not working. VERY shabby and nasty looking. I expected cheap and cheerful as it was a budget place but this was beyond the pail. The day I left I noticed a bloodstain on the sheet!!! And as for...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank justme255115
Nigel M, General Manager at Bignell Street Motel, responded to this review

Victoria, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in Wanganui, the city that prides itself on friendship, happiness & great sightseeing. The manager serviced your unit and conversed with you on more than one occasion during your stay. If you had let the manager know that the toilet light was not working, he would have replaced the...

Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

We travelled around NZ on a budget and ended up here. Wish we hadn't. We wanted to cancel as soon as we arrived, once we were toldy by locals what it really was. However we were also advised that if we cancelled the owner is known to take your money anyway. So we were stuck there for the night. Stains...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank MGE_touring
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I was tempted to rename the review a single word "Dive". Do not be fooled by any pictures on websites. Threadbare carpets, holes in sheets, "spacious bathroom" is in fact a shower recess with a toilet tacked on. Constructed out of tilt up concrete panels with a slap of paint, there are no smoke detectors, outside security lighting, power sockets...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Nickbruining
Nigel M, General Manager at Bignell Street Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay at Bignell Street Motel unlike the thousands of other customers we accommodate each year. Just to responds to your comments above: The pictures on our website are of the actual rooms available. We do not have thread bare new carpets or holes in our new...

Reviewed 30 January 2013

Quiet motels and caravan park , well situated no road noise , I was there for 3 nights , first night the place was full so I was offerd a caravan , as I was alone it suited me well , clean , cosy , all amenities including use of the communal bathroom block , next two nights in one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mercedes4u
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Yes it is cheap - but there is a reason for it. Our bedding had stains on it, not only on the sheets but also the under-blanket. We ended up going to The Warehouse and purchasing our own sheets and pillows to sleep on. Would have moved but already paid! We were also asked for cash when checking in. Ants...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank JustusHutt
Nigel M, General Manager at Bignell Street Motel, responded to this review

In response to your comments above: You are the first person in the world that I know that has purchased their own bedding when staying at a motel or hotel. If you were not happy with the bedding provided, you could have let us know and we would have rectified it immediately. We are constantly purchasing new bedding for the...

Wellington
Reviewed 21 January 2013

How did this motel get into the AA accommodation guide? On arrival at the Bignaell St Motel the manager Peter One asked for payment in cash, I am sure that the IRD would be interested in this practice! As I did not have that amount of cash on me he did accept Visa. The frontal exterior appearance of the units...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank nzkeg
Nigel M, General Manager at Bignell Street Motel, responded to this review

In order to provide low cost accommodation we take every step possible to keep our costs down. Bank and credit card fees are now a major expense to all businesses. If we are able to eliminate this cost then we can pass on these savings to our customers. Our cleaners take great pride in the work that they do and...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 January 2013

On our arrival we were asked to pay cash (highly unusual) we didn't as we only had card eftpos no milk given on arrival had to get our own. No phone available told to use our own by Peter One. Rooms sub standard. Main rubbish at back of motel over flowing and covered with flies. Friends room - bedding had...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Laurayne P
Nigel M, General Manager at Bignell Street Motel, responded to this review

In order to provide low cost accommodation we take every step possible to keep our costs down. Bank and credit card fees are now a major expense to all businesses. If we are able to eliminate this cost then we can pass on these savings to our customers. We have removed the telephones from the motel units as they were...

New Zealand
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Dont stay here if you like cleanliness. Yes it is cheap but very dirty and dodgy.We booked without checking first and will never do this again. we were a booking of 12 couples. We had the pleasure of having the honeymoon suite. Rather quaint with heart pillows on the bed. Until we pulled back the top bed cover and the...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank sandy22NewZealand
Nigel M, General Manager at Bignell Street Motel, responded to this review

Like other motels, we service our units daily to ensure they are clean & fresh. We always change the sheets as we know how important it is to stay in a clean room. Occasionally, like all other buildings in New Zealand, we get the odd ant, but these are always eradicated quickly to ensure we do not get an infestation....

7 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
3.0 km away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#2 of 27 in Whanganui
204 reviews
2.8 km away
Econo Lodge Wanganui
Econo Lodge Wanganui
#23 of 27 in Whanganui
4 reviews
2.8 km away
Quality Inn Collegiate
Quality Inn Collegiate
#14 of 27 in Whanganui
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#22 of 27 in Whanganui
44 reviews
8.3 km away
Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park
3.3 km away
Burwood Manor Motel
Burwood Manor Motel
#24 of 27 in Whanganui
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
$50 MOTEL. Save $$ On Your Accommodation. Come stay with us! Large new units available with one or two bedrooms. 36 caravan sites set in park-like grounds. Close to city centre. Quiet location. 24-hour camera security. Friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bignell Street Motel

Address: 86 Bignell Street, Whanganui 4501, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Price Range: €46 - €60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bignell Street Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Bignell Street Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bignell Street Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bignell Street Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room in the new block”
 of 5 bubbles trevore805, 15 Feb 2016 | Read review
“No good rooms or caravans”
 of 5 bubbles JustusHutt, 21 Jan 2013 | Read review
“Go somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles nzkeg, 20 Jan 2013 | Read review
“Do not recommend this motel”
 of 5 bubbles LaurayneP, 20 Jan 2013 | Read review
“Choose a room in another part of Wanganui in another motel.”
 of 5 bubbles sandy22NewZealand, 20 Jan 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay