We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

85 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike
See the most recent reviews
Showing 78: English reviews
Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 April 2016

I made the mistake of staying at this place twice. The hostess is entirely in the wrong profession - unhelpful, rude, everything seemed to be too much trouble. The first occasion I stayed I booked a 4 bed bunk room and the bed was possibly the most uncomfortable sleep I have ever had. This last weekend I decided to give...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank webberd
kiwiscorpio1971, Owner at Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike, responded to this review

Booked for 3 nights, arrived at closing time, left by 7.00 am to attend seminars missing complimentary breakfast, back late & went straight to your room both days. I asked when I saw you briefly coming & going if any problems etc, always said no everything was fine? Tea/coffee, queen bed & quality linen plus towels, flannels, extremely clean &...

Rotorua, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 March 2016

I stayed here for 2 nights with a group of friends so we could walk to the Pinnacles. The accommodation was great value for money, bedding and breakfast included in the price. it was very clean and well kept. Cheryl was very informative about the local history of the district and the hostel building. I would recommend this accommodation.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank spike123609
kiwiscorpio1971, Owner at Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are happy you enjoyed your stay and our lovely Guesthouse. Look forward to maybe seeing you all again 1 day.

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 15 March 2016

After staying for five months in different accomodations this is the place with the unfriendliest host ever. It looks that she never heard about hospitality and service with a smile. Little questions were anwsered really rude. We had no other options to stay somewhere else in town because all the other accomodations were full. The house looks really nice but...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Leasylvia
kiwiscorpio1971, Owner at Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike, responded to this review

I am so sad having to answer these petty reviews, & all I can say is niceness & respect go both ways, the sofa in question is an expensive antique chaise lounge & is not designed for putting filthy backpacker bags on. Because of my age I appear to be subject to all sorts of abuse from the new age...

Reviewed 12 March 2016 via mobile

Had a great time staying here. Rooms were very spacious and catered to everyone. Massive kitchen and dining area and a great outdoor area to lap up some sun. Loved the animals! They are so friendly and LOVE the attention.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 202rochelleb
kiwiscorpio1971, Manager at Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike, responded to this review

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay & we hope to see some of you back again soon. You were a fun group

Reviewed 7 March 2016 via mobile

In general the hostel and its facilities are nice and clean, but when we arrived there we got a very terrible welcome. The lady at the reception asked us out of the blue if we were hitchhikers and accused us of not supporting the NZ economy and putting us and others to danger. We were really tired at that moment...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Isabell M
kiwiscorpio1971, Owner at Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike, responded to this review

I am very sorry you found me rude as I thought we were having a general discussion about the good & bad of h/h and the reason I asked if you were H/H's were for our stats which we record for every traveller to help with our advertising. Our only rules are common sense about smoking, drinking, noise & cleaning...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 13 January 2016 via mobile

I've thought long and hard about this review. I obviously read all the super positive and also super negative reviews before I got to Thames. Here is what I experienced after several nights there. Overall, they aren't trying to be a low budget backpacker accommodation. Thus the experience is a little more upscale and includes some more rules that might...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank world_travels27
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 January 2016

If I base the experience by our welcome experience I was going to leave the hotel straight away. The lady maybe wasn't in the good mood since we checked in almost at 8 pm. At the start she didn't want to owner the price booked, but in the end everything got sorted. She definitely don't like third part website like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maluca33
Warsaw, Poland
Reviewed 19 December 2015

I have never been treated so badly while checking out at 10AM. Unwelcoming host did not even allow me to prepare a cup of tea in the common kitchen. I was just kicked out. The place is old but in general quite well maintained, toiltes are clean and rooms are fine. Kitchen is spacious, with a little garden. Wifi connection...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HannaTravel4
kiwiscorpio1971, Owner at Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike, responded to this review

10.00 am is our check out time. You had an early breakfast & left returning @ 10.00 am when you told me you'd be waiting for a friend later in the day. We have a day charge, you didn't want to pay. It was well after 10.00 am & you did not ask if it was ok to stay, You...

Coffs Harbour, Australia
Reviewed 17 December 2015

We booked for 2 nights a family room for $320. Arrived to the hotelier very grumpy and unwelcoming and barefoot...wouldn't even show us the room before we paid... The room stank so much and sheets clearly hadn't been washed before we had some... The place fell revolting and creepy. My children felt frightened... We explained we didn't want to stay......

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Harriet S
kiwiscorpio1971, Owner at Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike, responded to this review

I have thought long & hard about these people, sent numerous emails insisting, didn't care what accommodation was as long as 5 of them could be together, last room & put in fold up, explained cancelation policy etc (not a problem) last minute bookers during busy time, we advertise not suitable for children, had checked out our website with photo's...

Reviewed 10 November 2015 via mobile

I have been traveling around the world for nearly 3 years but this stay was the worst and most unpleasant experience i ever had. Its a beautiful, furnished place but the host made me feel very unwelcome being grumpy and verbal offensive from the beginning, telling me and my partner to go back to where we come from. We are a...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank tintin y
kiwiscorpio1971, Owner at Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike, responded to this review

This couple has already had 1 review removed for their abusive name calling, the flu does not excuse disgusting behaviour coughing over kitchen benches & dishes for some time, throwing food scraps into the sink which causes expensive problems with blocked drains, it is not a waste disposal, a rubbish bin next to the sink is provided, washing dishes under...

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thames hotels
2.2 km away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
104 reviews
1.9 km away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
96 reviews
1.0 km away
No photo provided
The Imperial Hotel
#8 of 14 in Thames
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 km away
Miranda Holiday Park
Miranda Holiday Park
#1 of 11 in Thames
237 reviews
0.8 km away
Brookby Motel
Brookby Motel
#1 of 7 in Thames
103 reviews
7.7 km away
Pohutukawa Coast Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay, Bike n Hike. Our 1860's Heritage Bed n Breakfast offers a clean and relaxing environment in our own part of the Thames Goldrush History. Catering for the established traveller looking for a relaxing place to stay. Clean and Quiet makes for a great nights sleep between your adventures. A great base for Couples or groups wanting to explore the Coromandel Peninsula and starting point for the Hauraki Rail Trail and the Kauaeranga Valley for those wanting to hike the Pinnacles. The building is an 1860s heritage kauri hotel, now restored and modernized to provide quality accommodation with many home comforts. We do not offer camping or freedom camping facilities of any kind. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike

Address: 506 Brown Street, Thames 3500, New Zealand (Formerly Sunkist International Backpackers)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Price Range: €59 - €67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“In another hostel.”
 of 5 bubbles christN6938JF, 5 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Quiet area of town, easy to find, supermarket and town within walking distance of Sunkist.”
 of 5 bubbles 227maureen545, 14 Apr 2015 | Read review
“The top bunk is very high.”
 of 5 bubbles bach57, 23 Mar 2014 | Read review
“Choose room 1 its the one we had for a double and apart from the lock on the window was great. This is one of the best Backpackers in New Zealand I have stayed in, the first for my wife too she loved the place. We are in our fifties and there was agood crowd mix young to old. And its reasonably quiet most of the day. The neighbours you hardly hear anything.”
 of 5 bubbles WayneMoore1060, 10 Jan 2013 | Read review
“All good rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles amiejsd, 27 Oct 2012 | Read review
5 of 5