We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ritz for Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ritz for Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

117 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ritz for Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 108: English reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

This place is amazing, im a french girl travelling on my own, and this place is the best ! Its safe, with a friendly staff and a lot of free stuff (pasta, rice, tea coffee and breakfast) and every single evenings they are organising funny events to meet all the residents :) its like a family, the staff its so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mathilde C
Reviewed 21 May 2016 via mobile

Good atmosphere especially for solo travellers. It's like a family. Big rooms and they look fancy. Really really clean everywhere! Staff is helpful. When you extend last minute you have to change rooms. They are always fully booked. Good kitchen.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank naddl1992
Reviewed 28 April 2016 via mobile

Me and a friend (who had been travelling for over a year at this point and have stayed in many hostels) stayed for a week when we first arrived in Melbourne and hated it. Too many long termers who make you feel unwelcome and act as if you are trespassing in their home. The staff are also long termers so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maizey R
Ritzbackpackers, Manager at Ritz for Backpackers, responded to this review

**This comment is about under the old Management/read below about the new hostel** Dear Mazey Sorry you have experienced the old Ritz for Backpackers. Unfortunately it wasn't the place to be for travellers like you. Since February 2016 we are working under new Management and they changes came to stay. Our new priorities are: Make a place where everyone is...

Reviewed 23 April 2016

Good location for St Kilda beach, big kitchen and common room and the private room we stayed in was spacious and comfy. Staff were friendly and let us cancel one night when our plans changed which was really helpful. Bathrooms were old, there was always a queue for the showers and never enough hot water - if you want a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth P
Ritzbackpackers, Manager at Ritz for Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear guest! Great to hear your liked us quite a lot! Let me explain you... oh future guests of us... how to fully love us. Bathrooms are old but they like to do their job and we have never heard of hot water not working properly (will double check as might have been an isolated case). Free wifi... is FREE!!...

Reviewed 22 April 2016 via mobile

.... This is the place for you. The bar downstairs has a live band at the weekend which plays till about 1.30am. I thought the mirror was going to fall off the wall at one point. This was not the only issue with the hostel.... It was cold, damp and dirty. I guess, if you're a young traveller that wants...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joshua G
Ritzbackpackers, Manager at Ritz for Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear guest, I do like Rock music personally and I think many people too however we All like sleeping properly. We have the unfortunate situation (but nice in a way) to be above a pub that throw some rock on fridays and saturdays. I'm surprised you found us Cold, damp and dirty when most people find us clean and really...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

VERY noisy pub below so if you're unlucky enough to have a room on the 1st floor you won't be getting any sleep. Cleaning wasn't up to standard and the kitchen is regularly missing essentials. The staff also didn't seem to have a clue what they were doing. Not worth it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Ritzbackpackers, Manager at Ritz for Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Mister/Misses "No", It's interesting to start a reply to someone I'm not even sure if has stayed or not but you have touched some sensitive subject that I can deal. Yes, we've got a pub and we've heard that before. I'm happy to give an answer to it. They like rock and roll during the weekend and we don't...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 18 April 2016 via mobile

When I arrived I just wanted to spend just a few days, but I couldn't leave! The staff is amazing, really nice and helpful, they make a lot of different activities every day, pasta night, BBQ, wine and cheese, amazing! Also, near the beach, and Luna park, great for a good run and enjoy the sunsets! I would stay there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isabel T
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

The wifi is free only the first 500mb! After that the cheapest you can buy is ca 10$!! (and for some reason it disappeared really fast, so I don't even know if it is really 500mb) Apart from that, they say to serve Pancakes for breakfast, but at least when I was there, it didn't happen.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diego A
Ritzbackpackers, Manager at Ritz for Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear guest, so sad to read this review that actually doesn't reflect nearly close the guest overall satisfaction. I will start for the title: "The Wifi is Free only the first 500mb" - Almost the 90% of hostels in Australia are charging for same or slower WIFI and we are providing it for free. - It's 500mb per day per...

Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

Very nice place with an amazing staff ! The accomodations were great ! There are also nice activities (wednesday Wine and Cheese!!!) that help for meeting nice people ! I would recommand it to anyone anytime ! :) - Marianne

 Report
Helpful?
Thank QuebecMar
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 14 April 2016

I just arrived here a week ago, the hostel is always very clean!!! There are lots of kitchen space, loads of room in the fridges, I have often struggled to get anything in previous hostel fridges. The bedrooms are cosy and clean, the bedding is soft and comfortable ( not itchy and raggedy like previous places ) The staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hannahchristinamay

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Kilda
Habitat HQ
#1 of 18 in St Kilda
601 reviews
BASE Backpackers St Kilda
#6 of 18 in St Kilda
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Kilda Beach House
#2 of 18 in St Kilda
179 reviews
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#5 of 125 in Melbourne
456 reviews
Pint on Punt
#3 of 3 in Windsor
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Additional Information about Ritz for Backpackers

Address: 169B Fitzroy St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Price Range: €21 - €57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Ritz for Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz For Backpackers Hotel St Kilda
Ritz St Kilda
St Kilda Ritz-Carlton
Ritz For Backpackers St Kilda, Greater Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ritz for Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upper floors are probably a little quieter”
 of 5 bubbles LouP456, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Worth it to spend extra money for less people in the room.”
 of 5 bubbles 911oliviad, 22 Feb 2016 | Read review
“try to ask for one not above the bar. ridiculously loud”
 of 5 bubbles kellyorich, 17 Nov 2015 | Read review
“second floor is quieter”
 of 5 bubbles paul8827, 27 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Dont!!! Just Dont!”
 of 5 bubbles Deanna75, 2 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5