We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ritz for Backpackers

07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Ritz for Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 116: English reviews
Start your review of Ritz for Backpackers
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We arrived for 3 nights and Ritz told us they only had us for 2 nights and had given away our room. We had to walk to another place they owned, definitely lesser quality, dirty and loud. The manager was always too busy to deal with us and the promised refund of 1 night for their error was never credited...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosalyn B
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good Location, chill vibes and friendly staff. Like that the place is near most public transport and parks, the room I stayed in is clean and there are many food outlets nearby which make it pretty convenient. The staff here are super helpful, thanks again for helping me find my way around Melbourne! Would visit again if I drop by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TetLeon
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed during peak period over the F1 week. Easy access to public transport, food & events! Some quirky travelers but that adds to the experience. Friendly staff always ready to help with a smile. Especially the morning shift guy who went above & beyond to get me out of a pickle - missed my bus ride to the airport &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lilian C
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I' ve stay at the Ritz more than 2 weeks and has been awesome! The building and location are perfect, close to the beach, parks and great bars. The rooms are very nice n clean the staff is very friendly and the free dinner nights are the best! Can't wait to come back! Thanks to all for being such friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina S
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Male member of staff, Max, standing at my door in the morning counting, '3,2,1, I don't see you moving, 3,2,1, move.' This was because I wasn't out of the room at checkout time, unacceptably rude and intimidating. Other staff are nice. Limited wifi and very noisy due to hostel being right on the road. My room deposit was taken from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ballindine
Ritzbackpackers, Manager at Ritz for Backpackers, responded to this review

We are sorry you had a bad encounter with one of our staff but it's important that we all respect the rules and you are didn't want to help at any point by attending our house rules (2 hours late c/o is incomprehensible) . That's why your key deposit was taken away from you. Not aware of any locker deposit...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

a very quirky, homely hostel! the people working on reception were very friendly, up beat, helpful, warm and welcoming! Our room was spotless and comfortable! The smoking area is set out beautifully! A lovely place to chill out! Also pancakes for breakfast!!!!!! Had a great stay, thank you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eva C
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here a couple of times, both good no issues, always friendly staff swearing any problems you may have. Free internet is limited but you can pay for premium service 10 mins from beach and bars/restaurants

 Report
Helpful?
Thank darrentonks2008
England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this hostel for 10 days whilst in Melbourne. It was clean throughout our stay which is good when sharing a bathroom! The hostel itself is a bit run down (common area etc) but they offer lots of free food such as rice and pasta in the kitchen, as well as organising a free BBQ and pasta night,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MollyM1995
Heidelberg, Germany
Reviewed 6 February 2017

I loved it at the Ritz!! The stuff is super friendly, the beds are comfy and you have big rooms with a bathroom included. The social atmosphere was amazing! They offer every evening different specials as free pasta or free wine and cheese and so on :) and they have free rice and pasta all day! I would definitely recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chloe_rose07
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Lovely hostel with a great atmosphere and staff. Spent just one night there but I've really missed it after staying in other hostels here in Melbourne. Everything worked great and the bed was super comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VilleFinn

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
1.0 km away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
0.1 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
1.0 km away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Habitat HQ
Habitat HQ
#1 of 18 in St Kilda
609 reviews
0.7 km away
St. Kilda Beach House
St. Kilda Beach House
#2 of 18 in St Kilda
179 reviews
1.0 km away
BASE Backpackers St Kilda
BASE Backpackers St Kilda
#3 of 18 in St Kilda
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Additional Information about Ritz for Backpackers

Address: 169B Fitzroy St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Price Range: €19 - €47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Ritz for Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz For Backpackers Hotel St Kilda
Ritz St Kilda
St Kilda Ritz-Carlton
Ritz For Backpackers St Kilda, Greater Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ritz for Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Wifi is iffy and make sure you get the room you book for the nights that you book!”
rosalynb264, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Upper floors are probably a little quieter”
LouP456, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Worth it to spend extra money for less people in the room.”
911oliviad, 22 Feb 2016 | Read review
“try to ask for one not above the bar. ridiculously loud”
kellyorich, 17 Nov 2015 | Read review
“second floor is quieter”
paul8827, 27 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Priceline
* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Agoda.com
Hostelworld.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates