We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BASE Backpackers St Kilda

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BASE Backpackers St Kilda
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

367 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BASE Backpackers St Kilda
See the most recent reviews
Showing 333: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2015

Arrived and asked the guy at reception where the nearest place to get currency was. Got sent to the city and then found one just down the road. Although I knew it was a party hostel it was really noisy. I had a room at the front and every night people ended up out on the street, making a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank KimCrudgington
BASESTK, Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review

Hi Kim, I'm sad to hear your stay was not to your standard, here at Base we pride ourselves on providing a fun and safe environment for all our guests and when it comes to RSA and the sale of alcohol over our bar, we uphold a standard of utmost care and attention to all patrons. Unfortunately however, there are...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 10 April 2015

Stayed here for 2 nights and i must say, regretfully, I am not its "target audience". Let me explain - Base backpackers is catered to a seemingly "young" crowd who enjoy the lifestyle of drinking, dancing and basically partying the night away. With a really "hip & happening" atmosphere with loud music and random "announcements" of happy hour promo deals...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank jaemyc
BASESTK, Guest Relations Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review

G'day there jaemyc! We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. Tripadvisor is an incredibly useful tool for travelers and your input will help other travelers on deciding if they wish to stay here. Although we weren't suited to you it does seem like you enjoyed our location and our facilities. We apologise for the TV not...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 21 March 2015

I recently stayed at the Base for a weekender in Melbourne last minute. I am from Sydney, have traveled a bit and recently returned from living/working in a hostel in California. I was nicely surprised on arriving at the Base around midday Friday, was offered an early check in and shown up to the Womens only quarters. I discovered that...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Antoinette Z
BASESTK, Guest Relations Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review

Hi there Antoinette G! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback given and it seems like you had a pretty great stay with us which is exactly what we aim for! We hope the next time you're in Melbourne for a weekender you come and stay with us again :-) Best wishes...

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2015 via mobile

I really can't slate the hostel because that would be totally wrong and the place has plenty of positives. The place has a good feel about it, the bar on an evening is very loud and busy. I guess this depends if that's what you're into. Unfortunately I didn't want that as I had a couple of busy days seeing...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JackHardingUK
BASESTK, Guest Relations Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review

G'day JackHardingUK! We appreciate the time you took to leave us a review. Although it seems that we weren't exactly what you were looking for in a Hostel, you still appreciated our Kitchen Facilities and our $5 breakfast. We do charge for our internet however we have received comments that our premium internet is the best some people have ever...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 March 2015

The location is great really close to the beach and the shops, rooms are clean as are the bathrooms. But one bathroom between 8 people just does not work, they'd be better off having the big communal ones in the hall., as you are spconstanly waiting to use the bathroom. Its also a massive party hostel which is all well...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 08Kates
BASESTK, Guest Relations Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review

Hi there 08Kates! Thanks for leaving us a review. It's a real hit and miss with the bathrooms! Some guests appreciate the ensuite bathroom but it doesn't suit everyone which we understand. For the guests that find it inconvenient, sometimes being in a smaller dorm suits them more. Although we have something going on in the bar every night we...

Reviewed 1 March 2015 via mobile

Stayed at this hostel for 1 week in a 4 bed dorm room with my partner. Clean and beds were comfortable. They host nightly events and its a great way to meet others. In walking distance to the beach,shops and tram. Staff are super helpful and we even booked trips with them. Would recommend xbase and would stay here again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darcy G
BASESTK, Guest Relations Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review

Hi there Darcy G! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a banging review! We appreciate all feed back given and it sounds like you had a fantastic time with us which is exactly what we aim for! We'll hopefully see you again the next time you're in Melbourne! Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 13 February 2015

Stayed here a few times when I've been in st.Kilda. Think its a fantastic hostel with really friendly staff and attracts really amazing people staying. Deferentially a top party hostel and really good location for the beach and to get into the CBD aswell.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
BASESTK, Guest Relations Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review

G'day Andrew B! Cheers for leaving us such an amazing review! We're glad you had such an awesome time with us and we hope the next time you're in Melbourne you come and stay with us! Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

Reviewed 10 February 2015

Nice rooms, bathroom inside the room is great. More of a hostel for kids who just turned drinking age, being 23 it was definitely like being taken back in time. Amazing location. Very "clicky" groups, especially the people who work there. All in all a good stay for a hostel.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chelsea B
BASESTK, Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Melbourne, St Kilda. We appreciate you taking the time to compete the online survey. It sounds like you pretty much enjoyed your stay with us which is great to hear and what we aim for! We hope to again welcome you back to Base St Kilda or another Base property in...

Reviewed 4 February 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights on my first stint In Aus, was definitely the best place Iv Stayed, due to the people. Stayed in a mix 10 dorm. They always have things going on. Each room get there own bathroom. Rooms are a decent size. And clean. Only thing I would say is the Chinese cleaners come in really busy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carlyzia d
BASESTK, Guest Relations Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review

G'day Carlyzia d! Thanks for leaving us such a fantastic review! It sounds like you had an absolute blast with us which is what we aim for :-) We hope to see you again the next time you're in Melbourne. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

Reviewed 4 February 2015 via mobile

We booked this hostel expecting a nice, chilled, sociable and good value for money hostel. A really good point was that the all-girl rooms were in a separate "sanctuary" area and we received a nice towel, shampoo and conditioner and free champagne. However, the hostel was definitely centred towards people who just wanted to get drunk every night and party...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank kelli345
BASESTK, Guest Relations Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review

G'day kelli345 We appreciate the time you took to leave us a review. Although it doesn't seem that our Hostel was exactly what you were aiming for you still enjoyed our Female Only Sanctuary Rooms. You're correct! We definitely are centered towards party animals and have been voted for having the Best Backpacker Night in Victoria and Best Party Hostel....

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Kilda
Habitat HQ
#1 of 18 in St Kilda
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 126 in Melbourne
474 reviews
St. Kilda Beach House
#2 of 18 in St Kilda
179 reviews
Home Travellers Motel
#9 of 18 in St Kilda
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
BASE Backpackers St Kilda offers the best in high quality Budget St Kilda accommodation. With a range of small and large mix dorms, private Queen Rooms and the exclusive Girls only Sanctuary dorms, we have a room for all fun loving budget conscious travelers, we are the closest hostel in Melbourne to the iconic St Kilda Beach & have the PUMPING Red Eye Bar on site. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BASE Backpackers St Kilda

Address: 17 Carlisle St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Price Range: €21 - €172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — BASE Backpackers St Kilda 2*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your BASE Backpackers St Kilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Backpackers Hotel St Kilda
BASE Backpackers St Kilda Greater Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BASE Backpackers St Kilda staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from BASE Backpackers St Kilda staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay away from this horrible place”
 of 5 bubbles I161FQmarkc, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try the $0,50 chicken wings!”
 of 5 bubbles ricksX9049TO, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Private room on a higher floor”
 of 5 bubbles annarachelg2016, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you go to Bingo on Monday's!”
 of 5 bubbles casey_gurl, 4 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Get a soap dispenser into all the bathrooms”
 of 5 bubbles Nilpahc, 3 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5