We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Comfort Inn Bay City

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Comfort Inn Bay City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 52: English reviews
Ararat, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I booked and paid for a room at this motel for when my mother was booked into a nearby hospital for surgery. The surgery was cancelled at the last minute and I called as soon as I could to ask them if I could cancel or postpone and I would use the room when the surgery was rescheduled. I was... More 

Helpful?
Thank samandon1408
Pam W, Owner at Comfort Inn Bay City, responded to this review

Our cancellation policy is 72 hours. We were fully booked that night, your room was held if you had chosen to take it. You were told you had to go back through the site you had booked on to cancel but still no refund would have been given because of policies in place. We did not receive an email from... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

I didn't actually stay, but I rang on Saturday 22 October to see if they had vacancies, the lady that answered was abruptly hung up the first time I rang, didn't speak the second time, & on the third time she was rude abrupt and arrogant. Definitely not going stay there EVER!

Helpful?
1 Thank B.W. C
Pam W, Owner at Comfort Inn Bay City, responded to this review

I am not sure how you can post a review when you didn't stay at our property. We had a room available but you didn't want to pay the rate, and there are no motels in Leopold. We are in the centre of the city, 10 minute drive to Leopold. It is not my job to research and find other... More 

Travellers are raving about these Geelong hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

We made our booking through wotif, had no conformation from motel, card was charged before we even checked in! So much for being able to pay in cash! Was told my debit card was no good to hold against the room as bond (but was good enough to charge for the room!) and HAD to be a credit card or... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Alana D
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Motel in good location. Short walk to Westfield & not far from beach. BUT all this was spoilt when I was charged $5 because I didn't have a bankcard for surety. Debit card not accepted- beware of hidden charge not advertised!

Helpful?
Thank Abby C
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We had an enjoyable overnight stay here. The location was fantastic, a short walk to the waterfront or to Westfield. The room was spacious and well appointed. Nice quality linen and a comfortable bed. For a motel that has 18 rooms and was fully booked the night we were here it was surprisingly quiet. My only criticism would be there... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brenda S
Warrnambool, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Newly refurbished rooms are lovely, more of a hotel than a motel. Extremely close to CBD. Very clean, couldn't fault a thing. We checked in late and Pam was very accommodating and friendly. Will definitely be coming back. Thanks again

Helpful?
Thank Gabe_mae
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

Bay City comfort inn is my new go to when in Geelong. Beautifully renovated rooms, spotlessly clean and walking distance to downtown Geelong. Great cafes and pubs all around A real Surprise package for sure

Helpful?
Thank Yowz75
Pam W, Owner at Comfort Inn Bay City, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and i am so pleased you enjoyed our newly refurbished rooms and hope to see you again soon thanks Pam More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2016

The rooms have been renovated and the location is really good, however as some previous reviewers have mentioned, the lady at reception is very rude which ruined our experience and we wouldn't stay here again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle B
Pam W, Manager at Comfort Inn Bay City, responded to this review

Hi Michelle, we are unsure what the problem was for you to say the staff member was rude. Regards Pam Watson ( Owner) More 

Bargo, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

We rocked up at door looking for a room. Happily helped out given a very nice newly renovated room Bathroom new and clean excellent shower pressure Bed was comfortable Has Foxtel 👍 Would stay again and recommend I wish I remembered to take photos to share

Helpful?
Thank bizzialice
Stawell, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

Me and my mother came 2 and a half hours to spend a night at Geelongs Bay City, we booked online and they said on Wotif we could pay on arrival all we needed was a few bank details to make sure we turned up. Now we went in to the motel and they said that we had to put... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ToriN786
Pam W, Owner at Comfort Inn Bay City, responded to this review

I am having difficulty understanding your complaint. You turned up with absolutely no security available to us over the room, and your Debit card had insufficient funds for any transaction, which you, yourself acknowledged. If you destroy our room by smoking, damage, what ever, every motel requires some sort of security over the room. Your attitude towards our staff was... More 

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geelong hotels
1.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Admiralty Motor Inn
1.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Geelong Motor Inn And Serviced Apartments
1.9 km away
Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Mercure Geelong
Mercure Geelong
#7 of 24 in Geelong
1,194 reviews
3.0 km away
Econo Lodge Hacienda Motel Geelong
0.6 km away
Novotel Geelong
Novotel Geelong
#2 of 24 in Geelong
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Bay City

Address: 231 - 235 Malop St, Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Geelong
Price Range: €78 - €161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Comfort Inn Bay City 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Inn Bay City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Comfort Inn Bay City staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Comfort Inn Bay City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles samandon1408, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 10 to 18, are on the second floor, unless you have an issue with stairs i would recommend them.”
 of 5 bubbles Cholo_Juan, 21 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Top floor is better”
 of 5 bubbles Gleavesy1992, 23 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Be real about what you are getting for your buck. Most Motels in the price range are older and you don't get the easy access to Geelong”
 of 5 bubbles kessa30ish, 5 Apr 2014 | Read review
“Try for one with decent towels and no spiders,. Good luck with that!”
 of 5 bubbles Ippy47, 25 Nov 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay