We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Barclay On View

TripAdvisorUS$94*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$94*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Barclay On View
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

191 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 190: English reviews
Start your review of Barclay On View
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the 3rd Time we have stayed over Easter and it’s a perfect location right opposite Rosalind Park. Easy walking distance for the kids and we could see the fireworks from our room. The room was cleaned every day and we were very happy to stay there and have booked again for next year

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
Dean B, Owner at Barclay On View, responded to this review

Hi Julie, thanks so much for your lovely review. This is a great spot to enjoy all the Easter festivities from. I'll make sure I give the cleaners a pat on the back for you. Sounds like you had a fantastic weekend! Happy to hear it! We look forward to having you stay with us again next year.

Avalon Beach, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was visiting Bendigo to catch up with family over the easter weekend. I was able to make a booking at the Barclay and I was glad I did. Situated right in the middle of town with access to all that Bendigo had to offer for Easter. I checked in with ease, the staff (which I believe are the owners)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amaher85
Dean B, Owner at Barclay On View, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks so much for taking the time to leave us such a thoughtful review. We really appreciate it! We work very hard to make sure our guests enjoy their stay, so it makes us smile when we hear that they did. We hope you had a wonderful Easter with family, and we would be more than happy to...

Narellan, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Looks better when you see it on the internet. Very small rooms, cleaning of rooms was very poor until something was said. When paying over the phone I informed them that we would have a small van with us and would there be room to park it while we were there. I was informed that there would be no problem....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debreid1
Dean B, Owner at Barclay On View, responded to this review

Hi Deb, We're very sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your experience. I'm glad we were able to rectify the cleaning issue for you. Regarding parking - we have re-trained our staff as to the correct response when someone calls and asks about additional parking. The issue at check in was that there were 10 people from your group trying...

Nowra, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We only had one night at this motel and were disappointed, we felt that we could have done a lot better staying a little way out of the town centre. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. The room was the main disappointment, it was smaller than one would reasonably expect , rather tired in its appointments and loudly crying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This motel is situated near the centre of Bendigo, being within a five minute walk of Rosalind Park and provides a allocated parking. Some rooms have a very poor outlook, ours was on the first floor and overlooked trees.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kylie145
Yarrawonga, Australia
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

I work at a resort and have never been so annoyed with such service. Because I couldn't pre pay mths ago I got stung an extra $40 seriously what a joke. They would have been stuffed if I cancelled right there and then no cash. If it wasn't such a busy weekend for Bendigo I would have easily done that....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pushabarrabackwards
Dean B, Owner at Barclay On View, responded to this review

When you booked, you chose our discounted, prepaid, non-refundable rate. Which means you get a discount if you pay in advance, but there are no refunds for cancellations. Offering these kinds of rates is standard practice in the resort/hotel/motel industry. When we tried to charge your credit card, it declined. We then, as a courtesy, called you to discuss and...

Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2017

We had a mixed night's stay on Barclay on View where we enjoyed the spa and location but did not enjoy the breakfast. After leaving a description of the reasons we did not like the breakfast on the website we booked through I received a sarcastic property response denying that myself and my partner could not have liked their breakfast....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave A
Dean B, Owner at Barclay On View, responded to this review

Hi Dave, I'm sorry you felt the need to write another review on a different website, instead of contacting us to resolve the issue. As in your first review, you have exaggerated and not been completely factual here. I checked your booking and you actually only paid $20 for two cooked breakfasts with drinks, not $30, and a quick google...

Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

Clean and tidy , very helpful staff Quiet and cool which is important when 28 degrees Easy off street parking Comfortable beds Very close to theatre, museum, and Devine Italian Rest Borchelli Would definitely come again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Equestrian E
Dean B, Owner at Barclay On View, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you so much for your lovely review! Borchelli's is just one of the fantastic restaurants we have in View St, within easy walking distance! And I agree with you - it is delicious! Hope we see you again soon!

St Arnaud, Australia
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed overnight here with our 19 month old son. We arrived after hours, but I rang up beforehand to organise and the lady on the phone was very pleasant and helpful. They set up a portacot in our room and supplied plenty of linen for it (although it does cost $20 more for a portacot) The room was nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kpatch25
Dean B, Owner at Barclay On View, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. Late check ins are a great option for those arriving after hours. We're really glad you found it convenient. Hope we see you again soon!

Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

For a very compact motor inn hidden away off a busy street I can honestly say I never herd a noise which is excellent. Friendly staff on the reception. Small modern rooms with parking in front. A little tight for my four wheel drive but did fit! Great modern decor and funky room design. Enjoyed our stay and will be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jakeywesta
Dean B, Owner at Barclay On View, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. It's very much appreciated! We're completing room renovations on our Queen rooms soon, and think they're looking pretty good! Come back and visit us again!

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bendigo hotels
1.2 km away
Art Series - The Schaller Studio
0.6 km away
Hotel Shamrock
Hotel Shamrock
#9 of 25 in Bendigo
454 reviews
1.7 km away
Comfort Inn Julie-Anna
Comfort Inn Julie-Anna
#5 of 25 in Bendigo
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Crystal Inn
1.8 km away
Bendigo Lakeview Motor Inn
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Cathedral Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
It's all about LOCATION! Barclay on View is situated in beautiful, tree-lined View Street, in the heart of Bendigo's arts, theatre and cafe precinct, making it the perfect place to wine and dine, or simply relax and take advantage of our spa and sauna facilities. Our central location means you're only a short stroll from Queen Elizabeth Oval, The Capital Theatre, Bendigo Art Gallery, Hargreaves Mall, Bendigo Visitor Information Centre and everything else the CBD has to offer. Complimentary on-site parking and WiFi access come standard with every booking, and we also provide a guest laundry for your convenience. Our spacious courtyard area offers BBQ facilities and is the perfect place to sit back and enjoy a quiet, sunny afternoon. We offer continental or delicious cooked breakfasts every morning, with the option of in-room or dining room service. However, if you prefer to eat out, you have a great selection of cafes and restaurants only minutes away. Our friendly staff are more than happy to help you make the most of your stay. From suggestions on where to go and what to do, to making a restaurant reservation or booking a taxi, it's all part of the service. If you are travelling from Melbourne by car, turn left into View Street at Alexandra Fountain and we are located 650m on the left, opposite Queen Elizabeth Oval. If you are arriving by train, we are located 1.5km from the Bendigo Train Station. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barclay On View

Address: 181 View St, Bendigo, Greater Bendigo, Victoria 3550, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Bendigo > Bendigo
Price Range: €82 - €114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barclay On View 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barclay On View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bendigo
#9 Business Hotel in Bendigo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Barclay On View staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Queen Deluxe room - was clean and quiet. Bed was comfortable.”
111pamd, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Top floor nice view to the church spire Very quiet.”
penner2015, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
“If you have less mobility ask for ground floor. My husband, who walks with a stick had a little difficulty with the stairs.”
gismonda, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor needed for access to vehicle.”
195lynnep, 12 May 2016 | Read review
“Building works are in progress on CBD side - maybe ask for room on the other side. Noise wasn't really an issue for us when we stayed however.”
297janine, 10 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$94* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates