We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Sebel Launceston

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Sebel Launceston
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

826 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Sebel Launceston
See the most recent reviews
Showing 818: English reviews
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 27 December 2015

So lovely to have a suite so I could wash all my hiking gear whilst enjoying a delicious room - service menu dinner. The hotel is quiet with little passing traffic. The dining room is cheery and offers some privacy for those traveling alone. The Bircher muesli was the best I have ever tasted and the Ritual coffee is to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Moondai
Craig R, Owner at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review

I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for taking the time to post a review. I will pass on your comments to our F&B team and we look forward to welcoming you again in future. Kind regards, Susan Richman Owner The Sebel Launceston susan.richman@thesebellaunceston.com.au

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 27 December 2015 via mobile

We stayed here over Xmas and loved it. Our room was very spacious, clean and well appointed with a seating area in addition to the very comfortable bed. The aircon worked brilliantly; much needed as it was probably one of Launceston's hotter December days. The staff were exceptional, from Rose and Michelle on reception to Lorraine and Maree in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fen H
Craig R, Owner at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive comments about our hotel and particularly our team. I have passed on your feedback to Rose, Michelle, Lorraine and Maree and we are all really pleased you enjoyed staying with us over Christmas. We look forward to welcoming you again next time you are in Launceston. Kind regards, Craig Richman Owner The Sebel Launceston craig.richman@thesebellaunceston.com.au

Brisbane
Reviewed 23 December 2015

We were charged for parking, rollaway bed, and they also wanted the same adult price for breakfast $26 for a 9 year old. Rooms are spacious. Service at reception poor we asked for a quiet room and were assured of this and were given one above reception and the restaurant and next to the main road, probably the noisiest room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pilotcoupleBrisbane
Craig R, Owner at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review

I'm sorry you were disappointed with the breakfast charges and have just checked with our restaurant team to understand what occurred. The price for the buffet for a child is $10. I understand you ordered The Sebel Breakfast option for your child which includes full access to the breakfast buffet plus one adult hot item from the a la carte...

broome
Reviewed 23 December 2015

We arrived a day earlier than our booking and the courteous young woman at the front desk sorted it out without fuss. We stayed 2 nights and were impressed with the amenities and the helpful and friendly staff. It is also in a great location to explore Launceston.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sueanddavida
Craig R, Owner at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review

Dear Sue, Thanks for staying with us and glad you liked our location and the room amenities. We hope to see you again in future. Kind regards, Susan Richman Owner The Sebel Launceston susan.richman@thesebellaunceston.com.au

Reviewed 20 December 2015 via mobile

This place is conveniently located in the heart of Launceston. We really enjoyed staying here. The room was comfortable and the service was very good. Walking distance to local shops including Myer. We also found the bed to be comfortable. Apparently rooms on the road side can be disturbed by a clock and we didn't hear it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lizada2014
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 17 December 2015

This was a great place to end the bay of fires walk. Drop off at door and spacious suite with seperate longue and sleeping area.Room service could have been better but it was a sunday.Allowed me to wait in lobby as flight was delayed some problem however with the connecting shuttle bus. Central downtown location.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lucinda P
Gold Coast
Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

We stayed here in a two bedroom apartment for the weekend. Everything about this hotel was easy. Booking online, finding the hotel, checkin and check out and hotel parking were all refreshingly easy and all queries were met with a smile. Rooms are large- the two bedroom apartment we were in had two bedrooms, two bathrooms, large lounge room, kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NDS_GC
Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 14 December 2015

One night in a superior one bedroom for a work trip. These are very comfortable rooms for working in, they are spacious, with a large lounge/work area and a separate bedroom. Bathroom is also large, and includes a deep bath, with a separate toilet. Guest parking is just a few steps to the lobby and lifts, so very convenient if...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hobarttown
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 13 December 2015 via mobile

Stayed for one night with a group - booking was for seven rooms. The staff - particularly Kaisha - were incredibly helpful and friendly. Felt like a home away from home. The rooms are clean and very comfortable - quite large and had everything we needed. I would stay again if I were in Launceston. An easy walk to to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sally D
Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 3 December 2015

My friend and I were visiting for a business reason. The room was large and well maintained. The bathroom large with a full length mirror. The balcony looked over a leafy avenue, close to the CBD but with very little traffic noise. We enjoyed dinner before we went to our meeting. Breakfast of Eggs Florentine and coffee was great. The...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank BibiAmity

158 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (113)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.4 km away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.3 km away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
775 reviews
1.5 km away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.7 km away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
473 reviews
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Sebel Launceston hotel is an elegant, boutique style hotel set in a central CBD location, within walking distance to the Seaport precinct and major attractions such as Cataract Gorge. Combining style and convenience, the hotel comprises 51 self-contained guest rooms boasting a private balcony, separate bedroom with luxurious king size bed and spacious en-suite. Many also feature spa baths and kitchen and laundry facilities.Showcasing natural Tasmanian stone and timbers throughout the interior and locally commissioned art, The Sebel Launceston offers charming, contemporary accommodation and unrivaled service in one of Australia’s oldest and most picturesque cities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Sebel Launceston

Address: Cnr St John & William Streets, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Price Range: €122 - €279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sebel Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Launceston Hotel Launceston
The Sebel Hotel Launceston
Sebel Hotel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston Australia - Tasmania
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Launceston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
#7 Business Hotel in Launceston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Sebel Launceston staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Newcastle, Australia
Pleasanton, California
5 months ago
Melbourne, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Sebel Launceston staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room at the back to avoid the clock tower bell during the night.”
 of 5 bubbles moe45, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing West get great sunset views, even if they look over the rooftops.”
 of 5 bubbles GeoffreyMcGiraffe, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“See Review”
 of 5 bubbles 5-star-traveller77, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try for the second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles mickr2, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“2 bedroom is very nice.”
 of 5 bubbles F6394FWmarkt, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5