We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Commodore Regent

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Commodore Regent
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 179: English reviews
Wangaratta, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Can't recommend this place enough! Great location, excellent and extremely helpful staff. Rooms are spacious and clean. Location is very central and easy to get to. I'll be back! I recommend you book a table at the restaurant, fantastic food but it can get busy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ozgirl82
hobart
Reviewed 1 week ago

I only give this a 4 rating because of the steep site and stairs which was not an issue for me but could be for others - just ask for a ground floor on booking, however the pluses far outweigh this minus. This was a very surprising find in walking distance to all Launceston has to offer. Did book a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alikat19
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a superior twin and were quite pleased as the room we were allocated was a nice large room with a double and a single bed in.The rooms are well equipped with a toaster and kettle and tea and coffee making facilities,the bathroom was also nice with a very large shower cubicle.As we stayed for two nights the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scubacol11
Aubusson
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Clean room, although the toilet was a little smelly. Decent size of room and big, comfortable bed, But.......the desk light didn't work, because there was no bulb in it! The curtains didn't draw properly as there weren't enough hooks for them to hang correctly so someone, not a guest, had fastened the two top corners of one of the curtains...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LynnMHutch
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this review

Hi Lynn and thanks for your review The room you booked is one of our less expensive standard rooms and is due for a full renovation next year. We do upgrade our guests where-ever possible into the Premium Rooms however our occupancy may have prevented us doing that for you. If you are coming back to Launceston, give me a...

Lincoln UK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is very close to the centre of Launceston and overlooks the city park. It is built up in tiers above the main road, Brisbane Street and the drive is quite steep. We got checked in very quickly on arrival, the receptionist was very friendly and helpful. Our room right at the back of the property was on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gallivanter
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this review

Hello Gallivanter and thanks for your review, We are glad that you had a comfortable stay with us. It sounds as it you have booked one of our standard rooms - we will be completing the balance of our refurbishment this year and these last 9 rooms will be updated to match the great standard of our Premium rooms. Our...

Doha, Qatar
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sadly we were only there for 2 nights. Nice rooms, neat and tidy. You have to try out the restaurant. Outstanding quality, 5 star cooking. Friendly and helpful staff and a good location. We will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this review

Hi Tom and thanks for your review We are so lucky with our team to be able to showcase a great view, great Tasmanian food and wine and our course, our friendly staff. Look forward to your next stay! Simon Peavey Manager

Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Sad. Very very disappointing. Worst place we had ever stayed at. Looked so dirty. Not maintained at all. In the bathroom shower nob was broken and falling down plus so many bugs. Never going back. 😡😡😡

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lolita D
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this review

Hi Lolita From reading reviews here on TripAdvisor and other sites, you will notice how seriously and quickly we respond to all our feedback. No-one is more disappointed to hear, after you've left, that your stay has generated this response. You made no contact either whilst here or even since your stay so it's difficult to address general comments. You...

Julia Creek, Australia
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Motel was in a good position - rooms were clean and serviced daily. Laundry on site easy to use. Would recommend. Staff friendly and the restaurant served fantastic meals. Free wifi was easy to use too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dkshopgirl
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this review

Good morning dkshopgirl and thanks for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the comments about our great restaurant. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit! Hope you whole trip in Tasmania was safe and enjoyable. Many thanks Simon Peavey Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We hadn't stayed in a motel for years, but chose this one after shopping around online as it appeared to be good value for money. We were pleasantly surprised. Our room was large and accommodated ourselves and our daughter comfortably. Although a little tired in some respects, it was extremely well maintained and clean. Bathroom was more than adequate. Nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrooksieG
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this review

Hi BrooksieG Thanks for staying with us over the Christmas/New Year period and thanks for you comments - I shall pass on to the housekeepers the great feedback. I hope that you have had a great time in Tasmania and we look forward to welcoming you back in Launceston again. With thanks Simon Peavey Manager

Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

The best thing about this motel was a very convenient location. Its right opposite the city park and the hotel staff were friendly too. The room size is good . However there is no microwave or basic kitchen stuff like plates or spoons. Its a very old style room as well and not sure if the AC/ Heater was in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CA Neha B
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this review

Thanks CA Neha B for your review, I'm glad to hear you found our location and cleanliness to suit you - we offer several different types of rooms and it sounds like you must have booked one of our basic motel style rooms. We certainly have rooms with kitchens (and the plates, microwave etc) that you were lacking this time....

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.4 km away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.7 km away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.4 km away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#14 of 30 in Launceston
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
460 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Launceston
Hotel Launceston
#16 of 30 in Launceston
434 reviews
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Commodore Regent is perfectly located with fantastic views overlooking the City Park, and only a 3 minute walk to the CBD with great cafes, boutiques and shops. We are also within walking distance to many great Launceston attractions. Free internet access, off street car parking and daily newspaper. The motel also features Restaurant 13 which has sweeping views of the City Park and is open for Breakfast and Dinner 7 days. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Commodore Regent

Address: 13 Brisbane Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn )
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Price Range: €77 - €154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Commodore Regent 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Commodore Regent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Launceston
Regent Launceston
Launceston Regent
Launceston Comfort Inn
Commodore Regent Launceston, Australia - Tasmania
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Commodore Regent staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms in front row have lovely sky and park views but do have more traffic noise”
 of 5 bubbles alikat19, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The motel has room on 2 levels. Nice views on 2nd level but a bit of hike up the stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles 220tomm220, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Check the room first for cleanliness before you agree to take the room.”
 of 5 bubbles 531fayew, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had a second story room that overlooked a large air con unit, but could see the City Park tree tops.”
 of 5 bubbles 433russellm, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We were upstairs but it's not a big problem only about 10 steps to climb”
 of 5 bubbles swannest2016, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5