We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Beccles on Margaret B&B

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Toowoomba
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Beccles on Margaret B&B
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 123: English reviews
Start your review of Beccles on Margaret B&B
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After visiting Toowoomba and staying with Janette at Beccles we feel like it's our home away from home, we've been staying for 3yrs at least 3 times each year. Janette always makes us welcome provides the highest standard of cleanliness,decor and a breakfast seriously fit for Royalty. Thank you Janette Charlie and Maddie (adorable pooches)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patniki
Janette A, Owner at Beccles on Margaret B&B, responded to this review

Thank you both for your kind review, it is always a pleasure to see you both. Hopefully the weather will be kinder when you are here again, thank heavens it is cooling down. Look forward to having you stay again. Regards Janette

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Could not believe the welcome, felt like we were visiting a much loved aunty. The décor and attention to detail was amazing. Fruit from the garden and amazing home made fare made our stay an experience to remember. We came to Toowoomba for an annual automotive event, however now we will visit just to come to Beccles. Thank you Jeanette...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig D
Janette A, Owner at Beccles on Margaret B&B, responded to this review

Thank you both for your kind review, it was a pleasure to have you stay. I hope you were able to pick up some treasures, I will get out there one of these days. You never know what might be hiding admidst the bric and brac. Hope to see you both again. Regards Janette

Bairnsdale, Australia
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Simply stunning ... Everything, service , rooms , a big slice of heaven. You know when you walk into a place and you instantly feel comfortable ... And welcome...And at home.....This is it !!! A short stay for us but a place you plan to come back to just for the B&B. 😜

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ngaireray
Janette A, Owner at Beccles on Margaret B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your king review. I would love to have you both stay again in the future. All the best for your future travels, you are an amazing lady. I know the dogs would have been excited to see you arrive home. Regards Janette

Casino, Australia
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Jeanette's attention to detail in welcoming and providing for her guests was exceptional. Her home is your home for the duration of your stay. The included breakfast was outstanding and it was evident by the free flowing conversation around the breakfast table that her guests were reluctant to leave. Everyone was comfortable, engaged and relaxed. We will definitely be returning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicolledenelzen
Janette A, Owner at Beccles on Margaret B&B, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. I thoroughly enjoyed having you stay, I really do have the best job. I hope to see you up this way again. Regards Janette

Firefly, Australia
Reviewed 4 December 2016

Wow what a place! Jeanette was just the most kind host and her home is sensational. We were greeted with an ice cold beer on arrival and the most beautifully presented room. I was so surprised at the price which included a scrummy breakfast - some of the worst motels cost more than this! We were on a tight schedule...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pebbles0100
Janette A, Owner at Beccles on Margaret B&B, responded to this review

I have been thinking of you both with your new family member. I know you will be having lots of fun with him. It was a pleasure to have you both stay and I hope the trip home was uneventful even with all the stops on the way. I may see you up this way again so I hope you...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 27 November 2016

We were traveling through to Toowoomba to Brisbane and booked a room with Beccles based on Tripadvisor reviews... good move! We only stayed one night, however it was one of the most enjoyable places we stayed on our holiday. We had a beautiful and luxurious room, and were treated and fed like royalty (now what was the secret toasted granola...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
Janette A, Owner at Beccles on Margaret B&B, responded to this review

Wow, what a review. Thank you so much for your kind words. I thoroughly enjoyed having you stay and hope you will be in Toowoomba again in the near future. King regards Janette

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

My wife & I stayed at Beccles last weekend. We were greeted very warmly by Jeanette who provided us with a lovely afternoon tea. Jeanette's house is very comfortable, spotlessly clean & beautifully furnished. It's a home away from home. Next morning Jeanette made a delicious breakfast for us. Jeanette's warmth & hospitality is genuine & we look forward to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeterOfAscot
Janette A, Owner at Beccles on Margaret B&B, responded to this review

Thank you Peter and Narelle for staying at Beccles and for your kind review. I enjoy having some pleasant couples staying. I hope to see you both up this way again. King regards Janette

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 12 November 2016

Our family home in Toowoomba was recently sold so when I now visit family, I stay at Beccles. This place is the next best thing to home, the rooms are beautifully appointed and comfortable and so much nicer than staying in a Hotel. The breakfasts are fantastic...especially the granola! This is one of Toowoomba's best kept secrets and I highly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1Kerry2016
Janette A, Owner at Beccles on Margaret B&B, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to have you stay again Kerry, thank you for your kind review. I hope to see you on your next visit to Toowoomba. I hope Mum is doing OK. King regards Janette

Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2016

We were in Toowoomba for a wedding and we so very happy that we chose Beccles for our overnight stay. We only wished we could have stayed longer! This was an amazing experience. The room was very comfortable and the house a dream. We wished to get dressed prior to the wedding which was held early afternoon and this was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miles M
Janette A, Owner at Beccles on Margaret B&B, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. It was a pleasure to have you both stay. I hope to see you at Beccles again in the future. Regards Janette

Brisbane
Reviewed 1 November 2016

This is truly a great find in Toowoomba. Close to the main town, parks and gardens. We were made to feel most welcome and our rooms were like a luxury hotel. Janette has thought of everything. Sank into the most comfortable beds and enjoyed a selection of chocolates/tea/coffee to finish off the day. Breakfast is well catered for individual tastes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PamiBrisbane
Janette A, Owner at Beccles on Margaret B&B, responded to this review

Pam, it was lovely having you both stay, thank you for your kind review. I hope you are able to visit again in the near future. Regards Janette

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toowoomba hotels
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn Grammar View
Comfort Inn Grammar View
#9 of 43 in Toowoomba
165 reviews
1.9 km away
Burke and Wills Hotel
Burke and Wills Hotel
#7 of 43 in Toowoomba
255 reviews
4.0 km away
Quality Hotel Platinum International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Tuscany on Tor Motor Inn
2.6 km away
Vacy Hall Toowoomba's Grand Boutique Hotel
1.6 km away
Quest Toowoomba
Quest Toowoomba
#1 of 20 in Toowoomba
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
"From the host...""Luxury Accommodation at Altitude"Beccles on Margaret B&B is a fully and lovingly restored 1938 "Custom" Queensland Bungalow, located in Heritage Conservation Precinct at east end of Margaret Street, or Eat Street as it is affectionately referred to by us "locals" because of the many restaurants located in the street. Three minute walk to Private Schools and St Vincents Hospital. A leisurely 15 minute walk down Margaret Street will find you in the CBD; you may wish to take a short break along the way to enjoy a coffee in one of the heritage restaurants and /or browse through one of the many antique shops in our beautiful Garden City. Voted "Best in Golden West" by Sunday Mail - Escape, feature writer, Alison Cotes "52 Weekends Away". Rated 4.5 Stars by AAA Tourism. Peaceful, leafy setting near top of Great Dividing Range (700 metres ASL). The perfect romantic getaway or stopover for the business traveller. Off-street covered parking, sensational breakfast included in tariff, private guest entrance. Your home away from home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Beccles on Margaret B&B

Address: 25 Margaret Street | (Cnr. Connell Street), Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Toowoomba
Price Range: €120 - €152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Beccles on Margaret B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any room is good!”
 of 5 bubbles nicolledenelzen, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“One small negative, TV was tiny & very high on the wall but didn't detract from our stay :)”
 of 5 bubbles pebbles0100, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“For Brisbanites wanting to escape hot steamy weather this is a fabulous weekend destination.”
 of 5 bubbles klaserieBrisbane, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“They are all good!”
 of 5 bubbles simone1612016, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are delightful; one double room has an extended area. Single room and room with two singles equally lovely rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 981pippag123, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5