We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Quest Mackay

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Quest Mackay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Quest Mackay
See the most recent reviews
Showing 154: English reviews
Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Great accommodation in ideal location. Very clean apartment. Good air conditioning. Upgraded to better room as our original room wasn't ready. Close to shops and restaurants. Friendly and welcoming staff.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank darrinlesliew
Russell S, Manager at Quest Mackay, responded to this review

Dear darrinlesliew, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property online, we really appreciate the time taken to do this and to provide such great feedback for prospective guests is fantastic. I am glad the staff took the initiative and upgraded as your initial room was not quite ready. We look forward to welcoming you again...

Cairns Region, Australia
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Great friendly staff, helpful and happy. The one bedroom was perfect to suit my needs. Good to have appointments in the room with associates. Well set up for supplying your own dietary needs instead of dining out

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ruthm485
Russell S, Manager at Quest Mackay, responded to this review

Dear Ruth, Thanks so much for taking the time to provide your feedback we are so pleased to read how you enjoyed your stay and that the flexibility our Apartments provided made your meetings possible to use your own Apartment, which shows how large the Apartments are about double the size of normal hotel/motel rooms. One of our company pillars...

Lilydale
Reviewed 15 October 2016

One bedroom apartment was fantastic. Great to have a couch to relax on and a desk to get the work done. Initially disappointed that the restaurant was closed, however next door is a really good Thai restaurant with great food and service.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank G3529SAjefft
Russell S, Manager at Quest Mackay, responded to this review

Dear Jeff, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review we appreciate it when guests take the time to do this particularly when they have such a great experience. We are also disappointed about the restaurant onsite however we have 7 other charge-back restaurants all within 100 metre walk of the property for breakfast through to...

Brisbane Region, Australia
Reviewed 12 October 2016

We were in Mackay for a function at Artspace and Quest was perfectly located. Great apartment as we expect from Quest with everything needed for 4 day stay. Two excellent shopping centres within walking distance along with nice riverfront walks. Airport transfer was a welcome bonus and staff were really pleasant and helpful. Pool was lovely but surrounding area was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JennyOx3
Russell S, Manager at Quest Mackay, responded to this review

Dear Jenny, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review we appreciate it when guests take the time to do this particularly when they have such a great experience. We do have a great location and great staff that take the time to really understand and look after the guests and we are so pleased you...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Centrally located with clean large rooms at a good price. A bit disappointing that the restaurant was closed - but plenty of places to eat within walking distance. Plugs in vanities did not stay down which made it hard to shave.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A8122MHdaniell
Russell S, Manager at Quest Mackay, responded to this review

Dear Daniel, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review we appreciate it when guests take the time to do this particularly when they have such a great experience. We will look into the plug issue on your behalf it is most likely just a bit of an adjustment issue so it stays down as this...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 5 October 2016

I was travelling and running late, not only did I get a call to confirm my booking, but was greeted with a pleasant smile and very helpful attitude. Could not hope for a better service. I will certainly be staying there again

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank O4148NRjohnp
Russell S, Manager at Quest Mackay, responded to this review

Dear John, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review we appreciate it when guests take the time to do this particularly when they have such a great experience and our staff go over and above to ensure you enjoy your stay and we are so pleased you mentioned this. We look forward to welcoming you...

Moranbah, Australia
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Have stayed with Quest couple times now. Any issues that have arisen have been dealt with expediently and happily. Can certainly recommend Quest. I found all staff friendly and helpful. While we had no issues with internet, I believe all motel accomm should offer free wifi these days. It would be good to have the use of a trolley for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank robynderekm
Russell S, Manager at Quest Mackay, responded to this review

Dear Robyn, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review we appreciate it when guests take the time to do this particularly when they have such a great experience. We do have a great location and we are so pleased you mentioned this we do have a Free Wi-Fi option however it is limited as we...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Apartment style rooms with your own laundry and kitchenette. If you get a two bedroom apartment you get a pretty large living space, so it's good for families. They clean the rooms every day except Sunday. Facilities are good although the pool area is getting a bit run down the shade area isn't there anymore. The staff here are top...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Greg B
Russell S, Manager at Quest Mackay, responded to this review

Dear Greg, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review we appreciate it when guests take the time to do this particularly when they have such a great experience. We do have a great location and the staff are wonderful, we did have a Shade sail over the pool area but this was taken down as...

Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Visited again, and didn't think twice about booking here. Great place. The staff are lovely and the rooms ate fantastically well appointed. My only gripe is the quality of the mattress, it's not in the same league as the rest of the room, not to say it's bad, it's just not as good. It's position in the town is perfect,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joshua W
Russell S, Manager at Quest Mackay, responded to this review

Dear Josh, Thank you so much for being a loyal customer, you are the reason we get up everyday and want to come to work for people who really appreciate what we offer. We believe the experience, the Apartment and our staff are the best in Mackay and we take on board every guest's feedback and try to improve on...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Good place in Mackay. Central location in the CBD of Mackay. Reception staff were friendly, helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. The water pressure was brilliant. Pity there is no restaurant onsite for dinner or breakfast. Parking is secure.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FrequentTraveller189
Russell S, Manager at Quest Mackay, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your feedback we appreciate you taking the time to write a review and being so positive about your experience, we do try hard to look after all guests and are happy we have delivered for you. In relation to the restaurants we have 10 restaurants on our doorstop and we are introducing a continental breakfast option...

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackay hotels
0.3 km away
Riviera Mackay
Riviera Mackay
#2 of 34 in Mackay
69 reviews
0.2 km away
Mackay Grande Suites
Mackay Grande Suites
#12 of 34 in Mackay
179 reviews
0.3 km away
Oaks Rivermarque
Oaks Rivermarque
#7 of 34 in Mackay
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Ibis Mackay
Ibis Mackay
#3 of 34 in Mackay
150 reviews
5.4 km away
Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina
0.6 km away
Quest Mackay on Gordon
Quest Mackay on Gordon
#1 of 25 in Mackay
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Quest Mackay is an all Apartment Hotel featuring 96 Studio, One and Two Bedroom Apartments that can be used for short or long term accommodation. It is brand new only opening in Sep 2009 centrally located right in the heart of the tropical city of Mackay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Quest Mackay

Address: 38 Macalister St, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Price Range: €87 - €121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Mackay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Quest Mackay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Quest Mackay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room on the third floor or above on the river side of the hotel, level 5 is best for views.”
 of 5 bubbles gregbI4490HZ, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Apartment rooms are worth the upgrade if you are here for more than one night”
 of 5 bubbles SpenceAlmighty, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms have a balcony for a bit of extra space”
 of 5 bubbles PJay2412, 9 Apr 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles Brisflip, 24 Jan 2016 | Read review
“An apartment at the end, over the carpark, has a window in the kitchen which we both liked.”
 of 5 bubbles shoffmann45, 11 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay