We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Normandie Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Normandie Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 89: English reviews
Start your review of Normandie Motel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Wow I can't believe some people actually think this place is horrible.i think it's pretty cool.yes it's old but it has a certain charm and the decor fits the character of the building.i didn't find it dirty or musty at all and I stay in a lot of 5 star properties all around the world often.this place of course is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. Glad you like here, We do our best. Always welcome. Kind regards Beydon

Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked in here for the weekend as the website looked warm and cozy and the price seemed right. When we arrived the carpark was full of weeds, there was a dirty lounge in a tiny foyer and a poorly dressed attendant behind a dingy counter. We persevered and got our room key then had to walk up a set...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darrin W
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. You arrived well before check-in time. Our Housekeepers had just finished cleaning your room, and were still in the process of cleaning the rest of the building and other rooms . All the doors were open are you sure you went to the right room? The reason I ask is that...

Melbourne
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were in town for a function at the Novotel which was full on this Saturday night so chose this motel as it was an easy walk to the Novotel. We were very disappointed to find is was just an old rundown motel. Our 1st floor "double room" should have been a single. Terribly cramped, musty and poorly maintained. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vicnzsa
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. The motel was build in 1946. So you are right it is an old building. The electronic keyless entry to your room is new the Bed and Base are new, the side tables are new. New shower glass doors Sorry about the smoke detector someone has taken it out thanks for...

Reviewed 8 January 2017

The rooms in these motel are all very unique, albeit rather small. The motel itself is rather quaint. The rooms were clean, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. As a family of four adults travelling on holiday, it was a bit cramped, but was certainly not a bad spot to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. Yes the Building is not like any other. It is a small boutique motel , and it is what it is. Built in 1946 it would stand out as being different, it is located close to transport, close to the City and not far from the beach. So it is not...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 17 November 2016

I was born not far from the hotel but moved away while little. I have been staying here on and off over many many years. Yes its old and not what most expect but I love it. Its close to everything, beds are comfy, lots of nice places to eat close by...cheap and expensive, staff are always nice but best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roseannafromoz
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. Yes she is an old lady. But at 70 years old she is still standing. I am glad that that she is a favourite. There are a lot of people that resonate with this building. It has meaning to a lot of people, and a lot of people rely their memories...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

We booked a queen-sized bed room. The room was a bit "musty", but opening the window fixed that. The bed though was very comfortable. Our stay was for only one night. We considered it good value for the price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. Glad you were comfortable here. Kind Regards Beydon

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

"Dated" isn't always bad. In this instance, a place built in the 1940s that is still around today is definitely going to bring a feel of history with it, especially in a shiny new city like Wollongong. Yes, there are cracks on the ceilings and the walls are very thin, pipes rattle when adjoining rooms have showers, but I still...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. Renovation is an ongoing issue in an old building, it is what it is and takes time. We did install an Industrial standard new WiFi system, which was guaranteed by Telstra to cover the whole building. Sometimes it drops out. If you mentioned it we hopefully could have rectified. Perhaps when...

Matara, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Located very close to the beach and run by very friendly family. Hotel need renovation and rooms are very very small. Stayed for two nights and book through one of the famous booking site which was the cheapest option available after Google around and found out hotel is charging the commission directly from customers for using web booking from third...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thilanbuwaneka
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. The rooms are being renovated an ongoing issue ,looking after a 70 year old building. The rooms are different sizes and configurations, some are larger than others. Your comments are ambiguous At one point you say "Avoid if Possible " then you recommend to book directly. I do not know if...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 20 July 2016

about the only good thing about this joint was that it had easy parking out the front the room was small but i guess it did the job although i've paid a lot less for a lot nicer we had a beautiful view of the dumpsters out the back the bathroom was akin to a prison and there was heaps...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kizza2016
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. The rooms are small in comparison to the larger 4.5 star accommodation in the area. Our rooms are different sizes and configurations . You had a Double bed room, which is smaller than the Queen rooms. We do have a high standard of cleanliness, sorry if we missed something. I will...

Sydney
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Clean, comfortable budget accommodation with really friendly, easygoing owners/staff. We only need something simple for one night, and Normandie definitely did the job. We'd love to stay here again next time we're in Wollongong.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank E K
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, happy that we were what you needed. Always welcome next time you are in Wollongong. Kind regards Beydon

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wollongong
0.3 km away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
3.0 km away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#4 of 15 in Wollongong
256 reviews
1.7 km away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#3 of 15 in Wollongong
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
1.1 km away
Marketview
Marketview
#7 of 15 in Wollongong
191 reviews
4.8 km away
Sovereign Inn Wollongong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family owned and operated, offering competitive and convenient accommodation with conference facilities, cozy restaurant and bar, just a 5 min walk to North Beach, bars and restaurants. Easy access to City Centre and Wollongong University, makes The Normandie an ideal location for the business traveler, holiday maker or sporting enthusiast. Private en-suites, TV, Tea & Coffee making facilities with reverse cycle air-conditioning. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Normandie Motel

Address: 30 Bourke St, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Price Range: €94 - €136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Normandie Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Normandie Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Normandie Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want a good room, book at another motel”
 of 5 bubbles , 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Find another place to stay”
 of 5 bubbles vicnzsa, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I like the rooms at the front - traffic dosnt bother me. some guests are inconsiderate, but any issues let management know.”
 of 5 bubbles Roseannafromoz, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Not sure there are any. Some will get road noise, others get smell from kitchen”
 of 5 bubbles mcaussieuk, 9 May 2016 | Read review
“Make sure to look at the room before paying as you won't get your money back”
 of 5 bubbles emilyw487, 3 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5