We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens

Expedia.comUS$133*
View Deal
12/06/2017 13/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$156*
US$133*
US$156*
US$133*
US$156*
US$133*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

860 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 855: English reviews
Start your review of Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
 Click to rate
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We loved coming back to the library after a night out for tea. Sitting back, relaxing in front of the glorious fireplace listening to an aray of record choices that we could play on the record player at the bar. Josh always looked after us and made sure we had what we needed. Our room was clean, the buffet breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annmarietaylor67
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Many thanks to everyone at the Mercure for making our stay so memorable and enjoyable. Meals in the restaurant were outstanding, and quite good value. We'd highly recommend the Mercure to anyone. Special thanks to Josh in the bar, who went above and beyond to make us feel like special customers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paul_mcmlix
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 3 nights with 2 girlfriends, room was spacious enough for all 3 of us, thou my bed did have a plastic/rubber topper. Dined in the Hotel Elements Restaurant on our 1st night and thoroughly enjoyed the French experience. HV Gardens and plenty of Vineyards all within easy distance of the Resort

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cyndell S
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed here with 6 girlfriends and shared a twin room with one of them. It had two double beds and an ensuite bathroom. The room was spacious and the bathroom plenty big enough. However the room was in need of a good clean. There were dead bugs and quite a few cobwebs on the ceiling and in the corners....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KarenP057
Gosford, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My wife and I spent a couple of days at the Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens. The staff were professional, polite and very helpful. Our room (a Deluxe Spa room) was clean and quite and well furnished. We dined at the Hotel's Elements Restaurant on our first night, and were very impressed with the French inspired cuisine. Not a large menu,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
Upper Coomera, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely gardens, friendly helpful staff. Clean spacious rooms pool, spa and sauna, tennis court on site. The only issue was the set menu for dinner and no alternative, however plenty of options close by, having said that the dinner was delicious and well worth the reasonable cost. $69 for a 2 course, $89 for 3 course (off the top of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 449kylenet
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank debbiei78
Sutton Forest, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel was nice. Room was spacious and had plenty of chairs to sit down, aside from the bed. Convenient desk to work from if traveling for business. Room was dark with little light. Good for sleeping, not great for reading. Overall the hotel is old and is due for a freshen up however this should not detract from booking your...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ben F
MRHVG, Manager at Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this review

Hello, We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. From our staff to our beautiful food and great surroundings our beautiful country hotel is a must stay. We are in the middle of a soft refurbushment on rooms and lighting we hope if you return in the future so you can enjoy the new features.

Waitara, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Terrible! This place was probably great 20 years ago but hasn't been maintained since! Seriously! The decor is old but the paint is cracked and the grout in the shower looks like it hasn't been scrubbed in 10 years! It is also really noisy (adjoining rooms and some other mechanical device). While its location was great for us, the state...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DHargreave
MRHVG, Front Office Manager at Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this review

Hello, We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay I have spoken to my staff members asking if anyone was aware of this and it seems you did not mention that you were un happy or had a cleaning issue we would have recitified any issues you had straight away if we had been aware do not...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fantastic location. Good room, friendly staff and extensive well cared for grounds. Wineries, shopping village, gardens and a number of restaurants all within walking distance of the hotel. Restaurant at the hotel situated with a lovely outlook and great cuisine. The bar area has a homely, welcoming atmosphere leading to a well stocked library with comfortable inviting chairs to while...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carole Christin... T
MRHVG, Manager at Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you very much we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back at Mercure in the near future.

187 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (154)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
12/06/2017 13/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
4.0 km away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
4.6 km away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
9.2 km away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#9 of 15 in Pokolbin
242 reviews
4.4 km away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
6.3 km away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#8 of 15 in Pokolbin
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens

Address: Cnr Broke & McDonalds Roads, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Price Range: €94 - €420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens Hotel Pokolbin
Mercure Hotel Pokolbin
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#3 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
9 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“garden rooms are nice”
449kylenet, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor, patio with garden view.”
739benf, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“Book elsewhere... You'll be happier!”
DHargreave, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“We liked block 9”
Lynette0310, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on top or ground floor further north of reception offer best views of pool and spectacular and manicured gardens.”
926larrys, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$133* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$133
TravelocityUS$133
CancelonUS$156
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates