We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hunter Valley Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hunter Valley Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

665 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hunter Valley Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 657: English reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Booked a hunter room which allows 3 people to stay, with 3 beds. Invited a friend (3 of us in total). When we got there apparently we got an "upgrade" instead of 3 beds, there was 1 queen bed. Then they charged us extra 50 dollars to bring a rollaway bed. Even thou we meant to have 3 beds in...

Thank Liosandra456
philiphele, General Manager at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review

A little unfair as you booked for 2 guests only. We upgraded you to a KING bedded room, rather than the Family room that has a queen bed and 2 singles. When you arrived, you only then advised it was now 3 adults. As we were fully booked, we were unable to let you have the Hunter Room, so a...

Reviewed 15 January 2017

This place is a really nice stay and the food at the Matilda Bay Brewhouse that is onsite is to die for so good and really well-priced. Well worth the stay went horse back riding here and was such a lovely track and affordable only $60 for an hour. They give you so much information on what is around the...

Thank Nataly R
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 15 January 2017

After our original trip was made impossible due to the fires in Karuah(Nov16)The Managers gratefully gave us a credit to use as soon as we were able. When we arrived we were made feel very welcome by Reception,our room was very clean and had a wonderful view of the grape vines just outside our back door. We had an amazing...

Thank dionnewalker4
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 14 January 2017

Resort location very picturesque and rooms fully equipped and comfortable. Close to the Winery and Brewery/Restaurant. Friendly helpful staff. Wine tasting experience very educational and a lot of fun.

Thank sharilyns2017
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 11 January 2017

My sister and I stayed here overnight. The staff were so lovely in the hotel as well as restaurant. They offered many activities within the resort like bike riding, horse riding, segway, wine tours etc as well as recommending places closeby for us to enjoy. Our room was spacious and glass door led to a nice vineyard area. We had...

Thank jennolas
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

This resort is beautiful not over the top expensive the staff are very friendly and helpful the rooms are quite roomy and clean there's a beautiful swimming pool and a Nice winery on site plus cafe and Segway tours and electrical bike hire.. well worth the stay

Thank unclechownza
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Couldn't be happier with my stay at Hvr. I really feel like I was taken care of as though the employees really cared about my enjoyment . Thankyou so much for making my stay ! I had a few troubles with the other winery's so it was good that this place really turned the day around and made the weekend...

Thank Flinders S
Brisbane Region, Australia
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

We were passing through so literally just stopped over. Room was spacious, bed was reasonably comfortable, bathroom pretty good however in general I would not call this a 'resort'. We didn't use the pool however it look ok and there were plenty of people in it! One turn off was the long black hair found both on the pillow and...

Thank Philbjojo
Alton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Expected better but disappointed especially since I was looking forward to staying here. The room was tired, wardrobe door not opening, furniture tops worn out, big strip across the ceiling, cupboards equally tatty. We had a meal in the restaurant and were disappointed both with value and the quality. Overall I wouldn't recommend staying here.

5Thank bluecardholder
philiphele, General Manager at Hunter Valley Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mr Kentell - Your valuable feedback to me at the time when you were here was constructive, and made in a good faith gentlemanly manner. To show my appreciation, I was pleased to offer free breakfasts and include our 2 hour wine school valued at over $150. As discussed, we do not promote ourselves anywhere as a 5 star...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 29 December 2016

We travelled by coach to the hunter valley gardens where we were driven around the huge area by a small train given a talk and explanation as we chugged along. We returned to our motel to freshen up and returned in the evening for a delicious Xmas dinner. Then we walked around the gardens which were lit up with a...

Thank shirley m

213 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (186)
Room/Suite (38)
Bathroom (12)
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Family/Play Areas (2)
Dining (9)
View from Room (14)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Videos (1)
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (27)
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Room/Suite (4)
Dining (8)
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
10.0 km away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
6.2 km away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
3.5 km away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
7.9 km away
The Convent Hunter Valley Resort
6.1 km away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Everything you are looking for in the Hunter - all at the one resort...* Onsite daily vineyard tours at 9am* Hunter Wine Theatre daily at 11am and 2pm* Horse & carriage tour* Horse riding* Bluetongue Brewery Cafe * Hunter Valley Wine School * Fantastic food from our San Martino Restaurant * Board games, pool table, 3km walking/jogging track * Heavenly Hunter Massage Centre * Pool, tennis, heated spa, mountain bikes * Wonderful rooms featuring timber cathedral ceilings * Situated within our own 40 year old vineyards * Owned and operated by the Hele family * And within minutes of the resort... 3 championship golf courses including Cypress Lakes and The Vintage, The Hunter Valley Gardens, cafes, restaurants, hot air ballooning, cheese factories, a chocolate factory, antique stores, a whole shopping village, 3 pampering / massage businesses and over 140 wineries to visit! Or if you prefer, just sit back, relax and finish that book you have been promising to do... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hunter Valley Resort

Address: corner Hermitage Road & Mistletoe Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Price Range: €90 - €212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunter Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hunter Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Resort Pokolbin
Hunter Hotel Pokolbin
Hunter Valley Resort Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pokolbin
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#4 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#6 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hunter Valley Resort staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Sydney, Australia
7 months ago
Sydney, Australia

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hunter Valley Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms seemed similar - ours was classed as a cottage”
 of 5 bubbles Susan872, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Perfect Vineyard cottages, be sure to attend the Wine Theater, stay a few days & take in ALL the activities offered.”
 of 5 bubbles , 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“no good rooms”
 of 5 bubbles MVI888, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“From what I could see, all rooms and cabins had a view. The best way to find the right room is to call the resort. Very helpful.”
 of 5 bubbles AlineKou, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Great accommodation and near everything.”
 of 5 bubbles DebbyIreson, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5