We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

983 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 977: English reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2015 via mobile

The resort is so beautiful. Location is the best but the most important is the service in the hotel. They are very helpful and professional. I have a bit trouble with my travel agent for the booking, which may take slightly longer time to process my check in. The receptionist, Yvette, was very patient and full of care in our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jayden C
Phil S, Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jayden C Thanks very much for your review. We do pride ourselves in providing the highest level of customer service, and I am very happy to see your positive comments on the service at the resort. Thank you for noting Yvette in your review, I will ensure to pass on your feed back to Yvette personally. We do hope...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 19 August 2015

As this is my first trip advisor review I will try to not get carried away! However, what a fantastic weekend Cypress Lakes provided for 5 friends and myself up from Sydney in the 3 bedroom villa. Best place to stay if you want to be near the well known wineries. The resort itself is lovely including the rooms and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Amanda S
Phil S, Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this review

Dear Amanda S Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am glad you had a fantastic weekend at Cypress Lakes in our three bedroom villa. The main pool was being resurfaced during your stay, and I do apologise if you had intended to use the pool (even though it was freezing!). We did time the pool...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 16 August 2015

Several cars have been broken into, including our friend's. We had approached reception and all we got, sorry it is not our responsibility and shoved us some crappy piece of paper with rules and regulations. 5 Start Resort Staff just told us to bugger off. A lot of valuables have been stolen and they could care less. I have never...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank AlexPrakhiy
Phil S, Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this review

Dear AlexPrakhiy Thank you for your review. We do apologise for the unfortunate incident involving your friend’s car. The ‘crappy piece of paper’ was actually the registration card that you signed on arrival which does explain that the resort is not liable for the belongings you wish to bring on site. We do pride ourselves on our high level of...

Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

A number of cars were broken into on the last night of our $2500 stay at the resort with a group of friends. Very expensive equipment and property stolen. When we came to report the incident to reception, lazy, unhelpful and dumb reception staff stuck a disclaimer in our faces making sure we knew that they will not take any...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Grechka75
Phil S, Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this review

Dear Grechka75 Thank you for your review. Whilst we do regret and apologise that your car was broken into during your stay, it is unacceptable to call our staff lazy, unhelpful or dumb. They did not stick a disclaimer in ‘your face’ however they were merely to advise you that the resort is not liable for your belongings, especially if...

Castle Cove, Australia
Reviewed 14 August 2015 via mobile

The accommodation works well for girls weekend away or for a family. Cabins are well laid out with everything needed for a very comfortable stay. U.S. In a central location for the wineries and hunter gardens. Resort also has pool and tennis courts. Golden door spa next door at Elysia.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lisa P
Phil S, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this review

Hello Lisa P, We seem to attract a few girls weekends away. I think it must have something to do with the ample space to relax and the Golden Door Elysia day spa onsite. We look forward to seeing you for the next girls weekend.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2015 via mobile

(I think this was number 707, which is privately owned and not part of the resort a such). Location - we came here for a wedding nearby. In summer it'd be even better but in winter it was still fantastic. Wineries everywhere! House - I had seen a few photos but I was more than impressed on arrival. It was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nosduhnivek
Phil S, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this review

Hello nosduhnivek, I am glad you enjoyed your stay. If you were impressed with the private villa you should stay as part of the resort next time and take full advantage of the facilities that we have on offer. Hope to see you next time you are in the Hunter Valley

Reviewed 13 August 2015 via mobile

So I gave this 4 stars as an average. Why? Well if you play golf and love wine you can't go wrong. Great locale, accommodation was great, comfortable, good parking, pool looked great and easy enough to find. The staff though seemed to be the weak link. Wouldn't go out of their way even when we had 200 delegates and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank McWhirtz
Phil S, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this review

Hello McWhirtz, Thank you for the even review. I am glad you enjoyed our facilities and the location. I am sorry to hear that our staff were not as accommodating as you would have liked. I have passed your comments on and we hope to see you stay with us away from a conference to enjoy the rest that the...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 11 August 2015 via mobile

My partner and I stayed in a townhouse room at the venue with 2 bedroom. The townhouse was very well equipped, very roomy, nice location on the golf course. The restaurant at the hotel serves really delicious food and it's reasonably priced. Highly recommend, will definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nadija A
Phil S, General Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this review

Hello Nadija A, It is great to hear that you and your partner enjoyed our 2 bedroom villa. The villas are a great size to relax and unwind overlooking the golf course. I have passed on your feedback about the restaurant and we look forward to seeing you next time.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 10 August 2015

Wonderful stay in a three bedroom villa, clean, spacious, toasty warm fireplace (-.06C at dawn). The resort was peaceful, easy to walk or drive around and the staff helpful. Thank you Cameron from reception for fixing everything we stuffed up!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna P
Phil S, Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this review

Dear Anna P Thanks for posting your review. I am happy to read your positive comments, the fire place does come in very handy during Winter. Thank you for the kind comments on the staff and especially Cameron, I will ensure to pass this feedback on. We hope to see you again soon.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 9 August 2015

The girl at check-in didn't give the friendliest of greetings, but gave clear directions on how to find our room. Our room was clean, comfortable and warm. No problems throughout our stay and the check-out girl was helpful enough. We went for a walk around a bit and it's a lovely place to be - nice and quiet and surrounded...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RachTraveller2014
Phil S, Manager at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this review

Dear RachelTraveller2014 Thanks for your review. I am concerned on your comments being greeted upon arrival, it is important to have all guests feel welcomed the moment they step onto the property. I am happy to read that you found your room clean, comfortable and warm, and there were no problems encountered during your stay. We do hope you will...

313 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (283)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (112)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
3.0 km away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
4.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
1.2 km away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
823 reviews
1.7 km away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
231 reviews
5.7 km away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the Hunter Valley's picturesque hinterland surroundings, Cypress Lakes Resort by Oaks Hotels & Resorts promises a tranquil and indulgent escape, ideal for a leisurely holiday with family and friends, golfing break, memorable wedding, or unique conferencing experience. Coupling luxury, self-contained villa accommodation in one, two and three bedroom configurations with thoughtful in-room appointments and elegant furnishings, each apartment features a modern kitchen, dryer, spacious living and dining areas and private balcony overlooking the resort's verdant bushland and 18-hole championship golf course. The resort also features a selection of superior onsite leisure facilities set against an exquisite backdrop - ensuring guests can enjoy more active pursuits or simply relax in serene surroundings. Enjoy a game of tennis or golf, dine at the onsite Bodega restaurant and bar, unwind in the swimming pool and spa, work out in the fully-equipped gymnasium or Bike Hire is also available for purchase. Cypress Lakes Resort is also just a stones throw from the indulgent Golden Door Day Spa, where guests can choose from an extensive menu of pampering treatments. For all types of occasions and both short and longer stays, Cypress Lakes Resort by Oaks Hotels & Resorts is the Hunter Valleys premier resort destination. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort

Address: 15 Thompsons Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia (Formerly Cypress Lakes Resort)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Price Range: €138 - €329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Lakes Hotel Pokolbin
Cypress Lakes Pokolbin
Cypress Lake Resort
Cypress Lakes Resort
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#7 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#11 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a villa close to the reception otherwise can be a hike, we were in 522”
 of 5 bubbles MaisyB, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room near to resort and pool.”
 of 5 bubbles SydneyLeprechaun, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Any of the villa are great”
 of 5 bubbles sachinkumar1, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“if you have a walking problem this is not your hotels it is built on a hill.”
 of 5 bubbles likeitlumpit, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Only a small fridge and limited kitchen facilities in standard villas. We brought an esky. Try Nana Kerr's Kitchen for a scrumptious brekky ”
 of 5 bubbles 689leannes, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5